We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gracious and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“gracious and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked into Ballyseede Castle Hotel for just one night in November of 2013, during the off season. It is a comfortable hotel with gracious proportions in both the public areas as well as the guest bedrooms. Country walks rewarded us with vistas of the hotel from the woods and neighboring fields. The people at Ballyseede welcomed us warmly; they attended to our needs, offering midafternoon tea and snacks. We enjoyed the five course meal in the dining room, which was very tasty and well-presented.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room overlooking the front lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    125
    36
    11
    15
See reviews for
152
252
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the moment we walked in the castle door to the moment we left , we have never been made so welcome , what a place, the family owners , staff and fantastic food . The bedrooms are Huge with 4 poster beds it's like going back in time . I cannot recommend this place enough .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was a guest at a wedding twice in this hotel... loved it on both occasions. Staff were v.pleasant & attentive & location it is a piece of heaven. As you drive in you take a moment & think WOW.... Venue itself may need a bit of updating.. but to be honest, you dont even really notice it eventually... Food was yummy.. drink a little bit pricey.. but overall I have to say I would recommend the place...

Room Tip: Didnt get to stay this time... as they have only limited amount & hotel was booked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was a guest at a wedding in Ballyseede two weeks ago. It was excellent. The staff were not only attentive to the wedding party but to their guests as well - which isn't always the case in other hotels. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The venue itself is BEAUTIFUL and has an incredibly professional but relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in the lodge house and not in the main castle. It is literally a 5min walk from the castle - a lovely way to start the day with a short walk to get breakfast in the main castle. Our room was quiet, spacious and beautiful. Beds so comfortable, I think I went into a mini coma! The breakfast was delicious and again the staff were very accommodating with requests. I thought it was great value for money also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is lovely to hear from wedding guest who have stayed. I'm delighted you enjoyed The Lodge, the new build on the avenue as you approach the castle. We love weddings and are proving a very popular choice in Kerry. As Kerry's only Castle Hotel it is growing in popularity and thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our 2nd place we stayed after Galway. Upon driving in you are greeted with 3 donkeys, a few miniature ponies & an amazing castle. We did not get to meet Mr Higgins but did meet & pet Einstein. It was nice to give him a few pets & not miss my own pup. The bar was great & then there was dinner! It was 5 courses of magical mouthwatering food. We all said it was a top 10 meal. If you plan to stay there, plan to dine there! I believe it was $50/euros a person which is a steal. They even made my 5th course into an Irish coffee w an upcharge of course but was still Worth it. The rooms were amazing & the shower delightful. Everyone who works there is awesome. You can even buy the water jug as a souvenir.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and personal comments. You have achieved to capture the essence of Ballyseede Castle. We love for people to enjoy their experience and this is reflected in what you said. Thank you again and call to us again. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were booked on a trip to stay at 4 castle hotels. Of all four castle hotels we stayed at in Ireland, Ballyseede looked and felt like the only real castle -- all the rooms are actually in the castle, not in some addition or annex attached to the castle.

We arrived a few minutes after 9 PM. The proprietor was tending bar and greeted us with warmth and graciousness. He asked if we had eaten because the Castle's dining room had just closed and the chef was about to go home for the day. We told him we had not, but not to worry, we'd just drive into town and eat. He replied that the dining places in town closed at 9 PM also, and offered to get us some dinner while we got our bags to our rooms.

Of the many interests of the castle are the castle dogs. We never got to meet the Irish Wolfhound, Mr. Higgins, but Einstein, the "stone" dog was in the pub entertaining guests. He is a somewhat famous dog because he is obsessed with stones. People throw marble size stones across the room and he chases after them, retrieves them and puts them in front of him where he can stare intently at them until someone throws them again.

Our breakfast here was the best of all the hotels. It was a made-to-order menu breakfast combined with various assortments of pastries, juices and fresh fruit from a buffet.

Our room was a little bizarre; we were on the cellar floor all the way in the far corner. While the room itself was huge, the room's appointments weren't as nice as the public spaces of the castle. However, it was clean and comfortable. Rumors are that the castle is haunted, which adds to the lure of it being a real castle. I would return again simply because it really felt like we had visited a castle -- something I cannot say for the other three "castles" our travel agent booked us at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels, not in the cellar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and your positive feedback. We do what we can for guests arriving to us and particularly if you arrive late in the evening, you are tired and need food and rest. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Staying in Paddy's way in the lower level is a fun castle experience and all floors have all room types. Thank you for your feedback. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ballyseede is an elegant and simultaneously cozy castle. It is indeed, a grand castle with elegant rooms beautifully furnished. It has an attractive and lively bar, elegant dining rooms, and beautiful sitting rooms. Our room was quite grand and comfortable. The castle is surrounded with beautiful gardens. What made our stay especially comfortable was the warmth of the staff who tried to please and assist in every way. The sitting rooms provided privacy and simultaneously facilitated conversation with other guests if one chose to be social. Two dogs, Mr. Higgins and Einstein, were delightful and added a bit of homeyness to this grand hotel castle. The food was ample and quite good. We were delighted with our stay at Ballyseede which provided a lovely combination of grandeur and warmth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and you summarised Ballyseede Castle and what we do very well. We are delighted you had a good time and glad you took the time to share your comments with others. Our goal is to offer a unique castle experience to those who visit us. The may come here as strangers but we hope they leave as friends. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.