We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Castle   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Ballyseede Castle it was a lovely experience from start to finish. Beautifully restored and decorated throughout. The grounds and surrounding areas were stunning. Our room was spacious and clean and we slept well. Food and service were good and made to feel welcome by freindly and attentive staff. There was a wedding taking place over our stay which didn't impact on us at all. Visited an italian restaurant (Bella Bia) in nearby town one evening that was also excellent. Would definitley visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comment. This is what we are about, a unique experience, good food, good accommodation, good staff and a lot of rest and relaxation. We are glad you got that in abundance and thank you for staying with us. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    102
    30
    9
    14
See reviews for
121
220
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with extended family members, and it was the perfect place to relax, catch up, and get to better know some of the newer family members. All adults with varying interests, there was plenty to do during the days with a hike or run in nearby Ballyseedy Woods, walking the grounds of the castle, visiting some of the nearby towns, or quiet reading at the castle. The hospitality of the staff was superb. For those wanting more action like that found in Dublin's Temple Bar area, this isn't going to be your place. For those wanting excellent accommodations, great food, warm bar atmosphere with great service, this is where you want to visit. Rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We plan to return on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your email. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you have summarised it very well. we pride ourselves in offer a unique experience to all and foremost of this is our staff. They are keenly aware of then needs of guests and do what they can to be sure that all guests enjoy their stay. We recently won an award for Best Customer Service 2013 in the National Hospitality Awards and this is down to our excellent staff. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to Ballyseede Castle in the future. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The outside is stunning. Then they take you to your basement room. The bed was so uncomfortable we thought about sleeping on the floor. The art on the walls in our room was so creepy we took it down and hid it in the closet. My husband had the rack of lamb for dinner and got a huge chunk of fat, no rack and a little bit of meat. The bartender charged me 14 euros for a white Russian (which is about $20). The eggs at breakfast tasted like they had been made the week before and I couldn't even eat them. We would never stay here again. There was a much older crowd there and it was clear that's what they cater to. The dogs were absolutely adorable though and the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. You stayed in Paddy's Way where all the rooms are beautifully appointed, we are sorry it did not meet your expectations and would have hope that you would have brought this to our attention and we could have offered you a different room. A white Russian is €12 in the hotel and on checking is about normal in the area. Our breakfasts are cooked to order. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but I'm more disappointed that you didn't draw this to our attention while you were with us and we would have been in a position to change your opinion. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent two nights here and had wished for more. The rooms, grounds, and public areas are all very well maintained. Staff is very pleasant and accommodating. The food and service was great. You could spend a great deal of time exploring the grounds and nearby village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Er are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and over the past ten years of owning Ballyseede Castle we continue to bring this beauty back to what it should be. It is a labour of love and those who stay here become part of that history. Thank you. Marnie & Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh/Durham/Cary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife had always wanted to stay in a castle in Ireland. However, most of them are very, very expensive. I found Ballyseede Castle, and am glad I did. As we pulled onto the grounds, my wife said "It's a real castle!!" It may not be as grand and opulent as other castles, but it met our needs for a castle experience. We loved our room. It was huge, with a great, claw foot tub on a raised floor level. The bathroom was also huge, and the room has robes, and other nice extras for us. The service was amazing. When we were downstairs, I asked if they could send some ice up to our room. Two minutes later, when I checked to see if they would be able to do it, they told me there already was some waiting for us outside of our room. The seafood chowder I had in the pub was the best I have ever had.

If you want a castle experience without breaking the bank, Ballyseede is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and you have explained our ethos very well. We try and offer a unique castle experience at affordable prices. We do so as a young family rearing children but with a wealth of experience over generations in hospitality. we are professional without being stuffy and we are glad you experienced this. Our food is well regarded and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we will be able to welcome you here again in the future. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a highlight of our trip! It's quite an experience staying in such an old castle! It had character for being so old, of course, but it was very clean. Just wandering through the castle was fun, the many rooms are beautifully decorated, it is very Downton Abbey but better, it's Irish! Besides the lovely rooms, the staff were friendly and helpful. The nice lady at breakfast even offered to take our photo for us. I usually do not eat in hotels but I did and the food was terrific! I'm glad I did! The grounds and surrounding area are wonderful to walk. They even have resident dogs that were delightful! The entire time there was an unforgettable experience! I only wish they had more information on the history of this wonderful place, there was only a one page history. I would have enjoyed more information, perhaps a video in the room. It was a fascinating place that I'd like to know more about!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we love it being compared to Downton Abbey, but better. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and you have painted a beautiful picture. Our staff will be delighted with your comments. We did provide one detailed page of history, and Tim takes people on tours of the castle in the evening time. However we take your comments and will try and improve the information on the castle for our guests. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The castle was booked out but they had a room in their newly opened gate lodge. This is a new building (but very sympathetic to the feel of the estate) located just inside the main gate on the left. It is a 2-3 minute pleasant, well lit stroll up the main drive to the castle. The pros are that the rooms are a bit cheaper, they are only a few months old so everything is sparkling clean and that you're a bit removed from the castle which makes it quieter I'd imagine (especially if there's a wedding on). The cons are that you can't get breakfast in bed, have to walk the few minutes back and forth to the castle for breakfast, dinner etc and you're not staying in a magificent castle! That said, if we were going back I'd stay in the lodge in a heartbeat as I feel the pros outweigh the cons.

Our room was the Aherne room (first on the left as you go in the entrance to the lodge). We later found out that it is a replica of the bridal suite in the castle. It comes with a huge four poster bed (and a second bed in a separate part of the room - in case you have a fight), a beautiful, roll-top, claw foot bath in the middle of the living area and a good sized bathroom with a large walk in shower. I don't know what the other rooms in the lodge are like but if they even come close to this room, they'll be impressive.

Aside from the accommodation, the rest of the castle (complete with dogs) is beautifully decorated - it manages to get a balance between maintaining the traditional charm within verging into the twee. It pleases tourists without alienating Irish visitors unlike some other castles in Ireland. The bar does great value meals for a good price if the 5 course set menu in the dining room isn't for you and breakfast is predictably excellent (including grilled kippers!).

All in all, a great place to stay with the lodge providing a great value alternative to the castle rooms. I'll certainly be staying again when I'm next in Tralee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments on our newly opened Lodge. You have summarised it very well, and yes all the rooms in The Lodge are equally well appointed as we wanted to go more than what people may expect. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you to Ballyseede Castle in the future. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee
Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty lodging in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.