We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lodge is also a great, cheaper option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Ballyseede Castle
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Cork
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The Lodge is also a great, cheaper option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The castle was booked out but they had a room in their newly opened gate lodge. This is a new building (but very sympathetic to the feel of the estate) located just inside the main gate on the left. It is a 2-3 minute pleasant, well lit stroll up the main drive to the castle. The pros are that the rooms are a bit cheaper, they are only a few months old so everything is sparkling clean and that you're a bit removed from the castle which makes it quieter I'd imagine (especially if there's a wedding on). The cons are that you can't get breakfast in bed, have to walk the few minutes back and forth to the castle for breakfast, dinner etc and you're not staying in a magificent castle! That said, if we were going back I'd stay in the lodge in a heartbeat as I feel the pros outweigh the cons.

Our room was the Aherne room (first on the left as you go in the entrance to the lodge). We later found out that it is a replica of the bridal suite in the castle. It comes with a huge four poster bed (and a second bed in a separate part of the room - in case you have a fight), a beautiful, roll-top, claw foot bath in the middle of the living area and a good sized bathroom with a large walk in shower. I don't know what the other rooms in the lodge are like but if they even come close to this room, they'll be impressive.

Aside from the accommodation, the rest of the castle (complete with dogs) is beautifully decorated - it manages to get a balance between maintaining the traditional charm within verging into the twee. It pleases tourists without alienating Irish visitors unlike some other castles in Ireland. The bar does great value meals for a good price if the 5 course set menu in the dining room isn't for you and breakfast is predictably excellent (including grilled kippers!).

All in all, a great place to stay with the lodge providing a great value alternative to the castle rooms. I'll certainly be staying again when I'm next in Tralee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments on our newly opened Lodge. You have summarised it very well, and yes all the rooms in The Lodge are equally well appointed as we wanted to go more than what people may expect. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you to Ballyseede Castle in the future. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    125
    37
    11
    15
See reviews for
153
260
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It's beautiful on the outside. We walked in to our room to find the floor bowed so much I was terrified to walk on it. There were dead bugs and huge spiders all over the inside of the castle. They were very unwelcoming. We told them about the spiders with bodies the size of ping pong balls and they were annoyed. There were huge cracks in the walls and ceilings. Holes in the walls. They know people will come cuz it's a "castle" so they don't seem to care what it looks like once they get there. We were afraid to sleep or sit anywhere. It was a terrible night. The dogs were fun though. The food was ok. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. This from many has been the first disappointing review for us and we are sorry for this. As a family run Castle hotel we do as you can see from other reviews try and offer a unique stay for those who want a castle experience. Since 2010, 2011, 2012 and again this year we have been finalists in the Gold Medal Awards as the best country house and the best customer experience. We continue to achieve a high standard and we are sorry that you did not experience this on your visit. The Dogs are very talked about and we are glad you enjoyed your food. We have recently been awarded 2 AA Rosettes. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope you will give us another chance and experience the real Ballyseede Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Ballyseede for one night between stays in Dingle and Galway. To get to the castle you drive through a charmless town, down a small lane and emerge onto a green lawn surrounded by forrest.

The castle is low and moss covered, and has an eerie haunted feel that makes it seem more authentic. Inside is warm and charming with a restaurant and bar. We ordered dinner and drinks from the bar and ate in the adjoining sitting room. It was super comfortable and relaxing.

Our room was beautiful with a canopy four poster bed and nice linens and pillows. The room also had an enormous soaking tub.

Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay and I wish we'd booked another night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ballyseede Castle is unique in the it is the only Castle Hotel in Kerry and on a wooded grounds of thirty acres. The charm that we speak of, you certainly experienced and thank you for your comments. Maybe you will get another chance to experience and stay again with us in the future. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying one night at the Ballyseede Castle. Our room was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and lots of power in the shower!
We really liked the atmosphere..especially the dogs "Higgens and Einstein" as we are big animal lovers!
Don't hesitate to stay at this charming Castle!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It is always great for us to hear that people have had a wonderful stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and found it restful and refreshing. The dogs are a great asset to the Castle and are positively commented on every review.

We were finalists in the Gold Medal Awards as best country house for 2013. We are very pleased with this and look forward to welcoming guests in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited Ballyseede Castle for a family wedding. Everything was really nice. We had a great day at the wedding. The room where the reception was held is beautiful. Food was very good, and breakfast the following morning was excellent. The bedrooms, whilst big and obviously in a style in keeping with the castle theme, were slightly dated. Bulbs were missing and there was a musty smell.
Also there are dogs roaming freely inside the hotel. They are absolutely beautiful tame dogs one of which is an Irish wolfhound but this isn't everyone's cup of tea. Personally I didn't mind as long as they are not in food areas. If you like old style with lots of interesting artefacts then this is the place to stay. Not for those who like modern, minimalistic style.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to us as a wedding guest. We pride ourselves in give a very unique experience to all who visit us and thank you for your positive comments. We try where possible to keep the authentic feel to the castle, given that it was built in 1721. What some may see as dated we would rather see it as old world charm. As you can see from other reviews the dogs, donkeys & horses are central to the unique experience of Ballyseede Castle. I agree with you that if you are looking for modern and minimal it is not Ballyseede Castle. We do old world, antiques and history in bucketfuls. If this is your thing Ballyseede Castle is a must.
Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderlust64
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My sister and I decided to splurge and stayed in one of the smaller rooms at Ballyseede Castle for two nights. It was definitely worth it, the castle was beautiful! Our room was small (we wanted to splurge but not break the bank) but elegantly furnished, with huge windows looking out to a beautiful view. The included breakfast each morning was the best we had in all of our stays in Ireland, and the head waiter at breakfast was amazing! She asked us each day where we were headed and gave us advice on sights and places to eat. There are two cute dogs that roam the main floor of the castle (one of whom is an Irish Wolfhound!), however neither bothered my allergies, even though I have asthma and a severe allergy to dogs. There's a beautiful sitting room with a piano and a chessboard and a huge fireplace. At first it felt very much like Downton Abbey and I was a little scared to sit on the furniture, but at night the guests (or "residents" as they call you) settle in and drink wine and hot chocolate and lounge around the fire. It was really a delightful experience and I will definitely go again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A great place to stay, as most are also saying wished we had stayed longer too.

The staff are fantastic, food amazing and the bar :D

The room was brilliant.

The castle is supposed to be haunted, but we did not see or hear any ghost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Ballyseede Castle 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.