We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keys to the Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Keys to the Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay at Ballyseede Castle was treat. You are welcomed by Mr. Higgins, an Irish wolfhound and his bar pal Einstein who collects stones. Yes, stones! The grounds and rooms are well kept, and the place exudes its roots! The night we stayed there was an outdoor performance of Sense and Sensibility. It welcomed the locals and guests of the hotel were invited to attend. The bar is excellent, the food served there was ample and tasty. We did not dine in the formal dining room, but enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    112
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
135
232
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ballyseede Castle is beautiful! Our room has the most gorgeous view of the grounds! But the thing I liked most was the staff!

What a nice group of people! They were pleasant, helpful, and funny!

My favorite memory was ordering a bottle of Italian wine at dinner. The waiter asked me if I wanted the number four. When he brought the bottle to the table, he'd scratched #4 on the bottle! My sister and I laughed and laughed!

Ballyseede is a lovely castle made lovelier by its wonderful staff!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 2 days in july 13 and felt like royal living as if we were queen and king . Amazing room , peddy canty . Nice and helpful staff , but beware of dogs if you are scared ....... Breakfast is little limited..... For vegetarian ..... Overall a great place to be.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a beautiful castle/private estate that has been converted into a small hotel on well-kept grounds. It is elegantly furnished, with several "parlours" where you can sit with friends and feel like you're sitting in someone's home and not a hotel. A small dog lays by the turf fire in the entry hall, and an Irish wolfhound "puppy" follows guests around and sits beside them eyeing their food longingly. He needn't have bothered. The food on my Sunday afternoon visit was dismal and overpriced. We had been told that the hotel served good food, but that was not the case. Perhaps the regular chef was ill? I had the seafood chowder, which I have sampled all over Ireland, and which was the worst (and most expensive at 8.50 euros) on this trip. It was yellow, lukewarm, and full of artificial crab legs and some off-tasting mussels. The "old" taste of the mussels was the dominant flavor in this chowder, which was obviously not freshly made. Three of us had the chowder, and all of us were disappointed. The goat cheese salad was overdressed with a heavy and tasteless mayonaise-based dressing. It had some walnuts and grapes in it and was topped with a piece of deep-fried goat cheese (7.50 euros). This might be a nice place to stay, but it is not a nice place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Made for an interesting stay as part of my trip to Ireland. There was a heat wave and the castle, no surprise, is not airconditioned. Try to avoid the "basement" lower level. Tim, the bartender, porter, waiter, guide, was wonderful and very hard working. Ate in restaurant, food is OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD,USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a really nice place, and of course the atmosphere was very interesting! The decor of the castle has been, as much as possible, retained to resemble the way the castle looked before modern times. The service was varying - front desk and reception weren't as responsive as we'd have expected, however the bartenders were absolutely wonderful! We spent our engagement night here, and the bartenders took time to explain how the Ballyseede does weddings. They, along with the locals, were really amiable.

Our room was fairly spacious, good plumbing (which is always a plus for North American travelers), however mind the step from the tub! Breakfast was provided as buffet-menu combination that was good. The grounds were stunning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a great castle experience. We stayed one night in a standard room on the lower level. The room was spacious and clean and the bed very comfy. The castle is styled in a traditional manner and the grounds look immaculate. There's even some miniature horses and donkeys in the adjoining paddock out the front. We ate at the Castle ordering dinner from the bar area and eating in one of the sitting rooms overlooking the rear of the grounds. The food was lovely and the atmosphere great. The breakfast is plentiful and the service is terrific to say the least. We had a really enjoyable stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.