We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ballyseede Castle Hotel for one night after seeing Dingle, before heading on to Galway. Signage directing you to the hotel from the highway was very good. The castle itself is very nice.

We had the Keane Room on the 3rd floor. Being a castle, they did not have an elevator, but a porter took a luggage up to our room and the stairs were not a problem for us at all.

Wifi was free in the lobby. And while they said that wifi was only available in the lobby and common areas, we were able to catch it fine in our room -- we had a better connection there than in some hotels that charged for wifi. Of course, your mileage may vary.

Breakfast in the Stone Room was excellent, and the grounds were well kept up. We enjoyed exploring them.

You are also only a few minutes' drive away from a shopping center in Tralee that has a supermarket, in the event that you need to pick up food, drink, or other supplies.

We would definitely stay here again if we were to return to County Kerry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    113
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
135
232
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Unfortunately for us the service we booked for our B&B's nightly stays could not get us into a real castle while visiting Ireland. Based on what we saw on the internet, we booked Ballyseede. Located on the east side of Tralee, appears they are most well known for wedding bookings, so we later learned. According to the doorman/bellhop/registration agent; their main claim to fame at this time is their super sized banquet room that can hold 250 wedding guests who like to party all night long and into early am next day (must be an Irish thing). This same courteous gentleman also doubled as a odging tour director, as he took us and the group of hotel stayers on a late night tour through the dining hall, supplied us with 100 yr history of the castle's dismay and change of ownership, plus pointed out the window the Queen of England wanted replaced during her visit so it wouldn't compete with # of glass panes back in her palace (or something to that nature). Not necessary, was the end of the tour scare factor where photo's were passed around, supposedly sharing pictures of ghosts seen inside the hotel and at the pets graveyard you pass by when you enter the driveway. This alone kept me awake most of the night unable to sleep. We couldn't get near or into the bar room, that seems to be a frequently gathering water hole point for hotel guests to sit by the fireplace and drink. Best we could do was sit in one of the two large sitting rooms and order a Irish coffee. Don't get me wrong, the extensive antiques, mirrors, music stands, crystal and silver furnishing, along with two knights in silver armor, are impressive and lend quite nicely to the atmosphere. Breakfast was nicely done, but then again, all over Ireland they do breakfast up right. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard, and am so glad I tipped a bellman to bring up our luggage because there's no elevator. There's some small ponies fenced in a lot next door, so you can visit with them. The patio with chair setting and a gazebo for weddings is not as elegant as some places here in the US, but maybe by Irish standards they meet high expectations. A real castle like those elsewhere in Ireland, not so much. Real stone walls - yes;, two lion stanchions guarding the front door- yes; a reading room library - no, a golf course - no; extensive wooded or laked grounds - no. Worth the price for the attempting to get the feel of a real castle estate - close enough, just not the real thing though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor to avoid having three sets of staircases to drag luggage up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a very good experience at our recent stay (July 2013) at Ballyseede Castle. I would describe the castle as VERY COMFORTABLE. The castle had a lived in feel and all the areas were very accessible to myself and my family. They have a great bar and the food (including desserts) were above average to great in my opinion. My 9 year old daughter also enjoyed the resident dogs (Einstein and Mr Higgins - both very friendly). This was a great location to travel to the Dingle Peninsula. We spent half a day there. I would recommend getting Rick Steve's book and using his self guided tour for the Dingle Peninsula. Lots of interesting facts including an old church and burial site with the best crosses I've seen thus far.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rodgers room. It was great for a family of four (two full size beds and a very lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were here on a week night, so it was pretty quiet, and that was EXACTLY what we wanted. Any time you finish a long drive at a castle, that points to a good night. Everyone from the receptionist to the bartender to the waiters at dinner was very friendly and helpful. The castle dogs are great personalities and great fun to play with. I would stay here again for the luxurious robes alone.

We had dinner (delicious) and breakfast (delicious) at the castle. Joe, the breakfast waiter, was super helpful and patient and helped us plan our drive for that day.

Wifi was available in the public areas only, but my husband and I brought our devices to the lounge, where we were the only ones that late at night. It was almost like it was our own castle and we were doing what we would do in our own living room! We only stayed one night, but this castle is in such a good, central location if we come back to Ireland we might consider staying here multiple nights and taking day trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I loved this cute little castle hotel. You walk into a welcoming reception area with free tea, coffee and water in a room to the left. We were able to Facetime back home with our son with the public WiFi. The castle had many old/antique/fitting peices that really made this castle what it is. It was quiet a beautiful. We finished Ring of Kerry, checked in and then to the short drive to go through the Dingle Peninsula. Beautiful area. Very quiet as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Ballyseed is a wonderful castle hotel! Beautiful grounds for a quick walk. Staff was very friendly and always willing to help. The room was modern with an old world feel. We still have to find the Irish wolf hounds on the grounds! We have found the tracks!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My brother had his wedding reception here and from the minute we drive up it was magical. The decoration was warm and festive and the personal welcome (even from the dogs!) was great. The food was excellent and more original than some of the standard wedding fare you find.
The staff were friendly and accommodating. Would love to go back for a weekend.

My room was huge and comfortable, if I was to make any comment it would be that the bathrooms could do with a little refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.