We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic stay for a family holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tralee Bay Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tralee Bay Holiday Village
Save
You added Tralee Bay Holiday Village to your Saves list
Aughcasla, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantasic stay for a family holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife , myself and two boys (8 and 4) stayed here for for a week at the begining of July 2013. This place is the friendliest and most welcoming that we have ever stayed in in this country. The owner Barrie is a true gentleman and even provided a lovely welcome hamper with some very practical supplies. The houses are FULLY equipped and my wife was particularly pleased to have a washing machine and full sized clothes line to dry all the washing!! 3 HUGE bedrooms (2 ensuite) so plenty of room for a family of up to 7, no problem. The restauran/bar (The seven hogs) that is attached to the complex was great and the food was reasonably priced. There is a magician that goes around the tables performing for the kids which was really great.

The local area is fantastic for an outdoor family holiday, the Maherees strand is only a 10min walk from the complex but the beach is a little stoney, I would suggest driving 2 miles towards Camp as the beaches are much better for a swim. It's all really just part of one massive long stretch of beach and you could walk all the way along if you prefer.

A little further up the road is Castlegregory with more beautiful beaches and plenty of surfing activities for older kids and adults. We spent a lovely day up at Glentenassig forest which was amazing with really great walks around the lakes and forests, not suitable for buggies if you have smaller kids but as long as they can walk themselves you'll have a geat time.

I could go on and on. Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We will be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From start to finish, Tralee Bay and the Seven Hogs is without question the best place to stay when holidaying in the general Dingle area. The houses are fully equipped and comfortable with very good rates. The food in the bar is fantastic. The Ribs, Chicken Burger and Chef special burger are my personal recommendations.
Like all outdoor holidays, weather plays a big part in any stay but we have just returned from a 2 week stay in desperate weather yet we still thoroughly enjoyed it.
Barrie the owner really looks after his customers, and we had a welcome pack plus fuel for the fire on our arrival.
I really cant say enough about the place as a whole. From the cottages, to the pub/restaurant, Tralee Bay/Seven Hogs has it all.

Absolutely ideal for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 wk in Sept 2012 & booked again for 1 wk in June 2013. Perfect location for young family with loads of things to do in the area. Pub & restaurant on your door step serving great food. Practically had a whole beach to ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It was a great week we stayed the first week of June this year and we had fab weather. We loved the location , shop and pub on our doorstep,the beach just a five minute drive because I have three kids under three , but it's within walking distance a short stroll. A very cheap holiday as no torment from amusements or shops that kids want ,want ,want.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived there with a large group form the BMW motorcycle clun (Irish Section) for the Thatch Rally. The accomodation was clean, warm and well appointed.
We were all made very welcome and the restaurant (Seven Hogs) made us feel at home.
The roast baby pork ribs are to die for!

Whilst there we were pointed towards the lake in the hills above the venue (about 3 or 4 miles) the views there and the board wark round the lake should not be missed.

Looking forward to visiting again/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wanted to get away from it all. Although only 2 people had a lovely three bed holiday cottage complete with wood burning stove.Like home from home it was so well equipped, spotlessly clean and lots of brochures etc around giving details of the surrounding area. Barrie the manager was super, nothing was too much trouble and supplied maps and information of various places to visit which would be of interest. There was a bar restaurant located beside the cottages and the food and staff were excellent. Definitely worth a visit and could actually be used a family get together if a number of the cottages were rented at the same time. Short walk to a beautiful beach which was very quiet at the time of year we visited

Room Tip: as this was self catering, any of the cottages would be ideal. both upstairs bedroom were en suite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Dropped in with my family, (Mother, Sister and her Husband, and all the kids. Service was tremendous, and the food was excellent. No problem finding something for the kids to eat. The place has a great view and a tremendous view over the bay, {which was a bit obscured by the rain that day)

An unexpected bonus was the the magician, Magic Delboy.

He kept the kids busy while we relaxed and enjoyed the peace and quiet... at the end, he visited our table and performed an amazing trick for my Mum, whose birthday we were celebrating.

There's plenty to do in the area, and made a trip to the lakes in the nearby woods.

My brother stayed over for a few days, and said the accommodation was exactly what he wanted. Very comfortable, and friendly.
We'll certainly be back for more! Thank you Tim and Sarah, and the others who made the afternoon so relaxed.

Maureen Crouch

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tralee Bay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tralee Bay Holiday Village

Address: Aughcasla, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tralee Bay Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.