We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benners Hotel

Benners Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Benners Hotel to your Saves list
Benners Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The hotel appeared modern and fresh from the outside, difficult to find but maybe that was just the fact that most of the town is a one way system, inside in the lobby the decor is modern yet dark. The receptionist that we encountered on check in was absolutely lovely, that waas the last we saw of her for the weekend. The rooms are aged and dull, the shower weak. The breakfast was ok, burnt toast and general carelessness in the service, and a smile would not have gone astray, i even experienced the manager giving out to one of her staff a couple of times in ear shot of the breakfasting guests. I was disappointed with this hotel, it could do with an injection of coulour and a few smiles. Location is absolutely excellent. Also we were unable to park in the hotel car pak, as paying guests, as the adjoining nightclub was on both nights

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
18
32
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Checked into this hotel on Thurs 3rd June for 1 night while on business in the area. The decor in the entire hotel was stylish and cool and the bedrooms very comfortable and extremely clean. Danielle the receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. Stayed in room 206 at the front of the hotel facing the street. I thought I may have encountered a certain amount of noise but to my surprise, no noise or disturbances. The bar itself seemed a little dark and the music may have been a little loud but the barman was again very friendly and chatty. Definitely 10 out of 10 and will return again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

In Tralee for one night only so chose this hotel for location. Receptionist very nice on check in and out but room had not been cleaned properly. Was not vacuumed and windowsill had layer of dust. No sugar provided with tea/cofee making facility. TV had no remote and didn't work properly anyway. On waking realised there was a condom covering the smoke detector which is not the staffs fault but would be noticed if rooms were being cleaned properly. Location is fantastic, really close to everything and the parking wasn't a problem for us as we checked in after 6 so didn't have to pay for public parking

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed here last Saturday Night with 2 mates, it was a last minute kinda thing so rang around a few places and got a good rate at Benner's. Hotel was very easy to find, the guy working in the bar checked us in and he was very friendly! Had such a laugh with him! Our room was lovely with everything we needed!. We went straight back down to the bar (as you do) for a few drinks. Bar was very trendy with great musicm, again, we had the crack with the barman! He gave us complimentary passes to the NightCLub at the side of the hotel. Overall for 3 young girls that wanted to go on a pub crawl around the town, we didn't move from the hotel only for a bag of chips at the end of the night lol. Staff here are brill, late bar is brill, nightclub brill, HOTEL IS BRILL!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curraheenkatie9
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

stayed in benners for 2 nites there were 3 couples of us together, it was amazing from yhe minute we walked through the door fabulous rooms,delicious food ,central location, we couldnt praise the staff enough, the nicest hotel i have stayed for years, the breakfast was wow it really was a full irish,which you rarely get anymore,there was no pressure to leave the restaurant, the early bird menu was delicious, the only complaint i had was that we had to leave well done to staff and management

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Spend two nights in the Benner hotel, very central and near to everything. There is no carpark as advertised you have to park in the public carpark next door which is 1.20 Euro per hour and it is very annoying going back to the car every few hours to change the ticket. There is no charge for overnight parking. The bar and the nightclub are very good there was live music on the both nights we were there for 10 Euro cover charge which was very reasonable. Now the downside we ordered food from the earlybird menu on the first evening which was 15 Euro for starter/main course or main course/dessert. The main meals looked like they were reheated a few times and tasted as bad as they looked. The breakfast on both mornings was lukewarm and the waitress admitted that the food was precooked bar the eggs and zapped in a microwave Lovely!! But what topped it all was we decided that we definately would not eat there on the second evening but my husband was feeling a bit peckish and ordered a toasted sandwich which was made with processed sliced cheese and costed 5.95 Euros. The rooms are old fashioned but clean and comfortable. Overall its not a bad hotel but they definately left themselves down with the food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Upon our arrival, our hotel room had a towel behind the bathroom door and an empty soda bottle behind the television (yuk). If we weren't so exhausted, we would have complained. Went to sleep and left in the morning. The church around from this hotel was beautiful and worth checking out.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benners Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benners Hotel is a historic three star hotel located in the heart of Tralee town. Our central location and secure private parking make it an ideal place to stay when visiting this vibrant Kerry town. Bedrooms are spacious and comfortable with WIFI access. Breakfast is served till 10pm each day and bar food from 6pm until 9pm.Saturday Nights we have Benners Nightclub which is an exciting , vibrant club in the centre of Tralee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benners Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benners Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.