We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Laurels Pub

The Laurels Pub
Main Street, Killarney, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My favorite thing about this place was, well actually, the people that worked there. Very friendly, chatty and a particularly outgoing bartender that knows how to work the room. I hope if you visit these folks are working that day! :)

We actually went there twice in one day.... once for drinks in the afternoon and later for dinner. Not sure what I was thinking when ordering fajitas for dinner (being from Texas had certain expectations!) but they were pretty good. The others in our party definitely enjoyed their meals of seafood and traditional pub fare.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    118
    18
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food great atsmosphere, great craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A visit to Killarney would not be complete without going to the Laurels, the food is gorgeous and reasonable, the staff are lovely, the atmosphere is great everyone is so friendly and helpful. The food is excellent whether you opt to eat in the bar or the restaurant, it is the same quality in either.
Definitely make it your mission to visit here next time your in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Good pint, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a quality pub in the centre of Killarney. Horse racing and football on the screens (not loud), a good selection of beers and ciders plus excellent food. The food isn't cheap but the portions are huge and the quality is consistently high.

This is a very friendly place that I'd happily recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAPLES
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was the only restaurant in Killarney that we ate at more than once. The food was excellent, the staff friendly, the service great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Traditional Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This pub was recommended to us by our hotel, and we couldn't have been happier with the food! We tried local favorites like the bacon and cabbage and potato cakes, both of which were much more more intriguing than they sound. The service was good and fast. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next day for lunch on our way home (we wanted something we knew would be good). I wasn't as impressed with the lunch menu, but we still enjoyed our meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laurels Pub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Laurels Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laurels Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.