We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a bite to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Laurels Pub

The Laurels Pub
Main Street, Killarney, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 145 restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
East Islip, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for a bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were guided here thinking there was traditional irish music... a sing along type venue. However, that is no longer the case. Now it is simply a pub/restaurant. Nice atmosphere. Good staff. Decent prices. I would recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    131
    98
    13
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food Didn't Sit Well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Not much went well with our visit to Laurels. My wife and I ordered the chicken wing special for two; what came from the kitchen was so unappetizing, neither my wife nor I could eat it. To make it worse (or better, depending on your view), there were only a handful of the unappetizing wings as the kitchen thought it was an order for one. But my wife and I were actually lucky because most of our other dining companions reported that there meals did not stay with them long.

Although the manager was very nice about the chicken wing fiasco (they were not even going to charge for the soup I had in its place), I cannot recommend this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a Guinness, ended up staying for a chowder. Glad we did. Delicious food, especially the Guinness and treacle soda bread. Great, friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice pub, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good food, pints and atmosphere. Lot's of locals around the bar. Make it a stop for sure. Close to everything in town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Once was enough to go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Ordered chicken goujons with chips and colesaw as was written on the menu wat arrived was chips tiny salad no colesaw and goujons that werent homemade but sumthing ud find n tesco freezer section...how hard wud it be to get a chicken fillet cut it into strips and crumb it...just lazyiness really wont b in a hurry to go back

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laurels Pub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Laurels Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laurels Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.