We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
Hotel Killarney
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I loved staying here. The Staff were so friendly. The food was great. The leisure center was excellent, there was lots of activities going on for the kids. The rooms were very clean and the location was very near to killarney centre. Good value for money. Good all round hotel.

Room Tip: Family rooms (2adults and 2 kids) were a bit small. Some rooms have self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    115
    82
    48
    37
See reviews for
221
49
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for wknd with husband and 2 kids.we were checked into this awful room at first and were disgusted,it was a double room.with 2 single beds thrown in,dirty walls,horrid bathroom and curtains had holes.we had booked a family suite and this was def not one.we were then moved to a real family suite which was beautiful.4 beds, 2 tvs and lovely kitchen.this was on 2nd floor where everything seemed nicer and cleaner,first floor had dirty walls and that horrid room,service in restutaunt was fab and food only Devine.the kids club,what can i say.my kids had a great time and staff are great.also very friendly guy on entrance to club vitae.pool small enough but kids had fun,sauna and steam room tiny,but does the job.loved it here def will be back.but all corridors could do with lick of paint.stay away from room 1074.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed in the Quality Killarney for 4 nights, the past weekend, there were 6 of us in total 3 adults, 3 kids. We got a room in the 2nd floor and I counted the walking steps, it took 260 steps to get to our room, very long walk from reception, so be prepared. But it was a really quiet part of the hotel, not much noise at all. Rooms were very spacious, I needed an extra camp bed and reception sent one up to us straight away.
We had a family suite, which had two rooms. A bathroom/shower, double bed, single bed, TV & DVD, and in the other room there was a double bed, camp bed, couch & chair, coffee table, dining table & chairs and little kitchenette. We ate in the restaurant one night and in the lounge another night, food was good both nights. Breakfast was good but lack of fruit and yogurts. Staff in the lobby and the restaurant were so good, friendly and efficient. The slushies for the kids come in plastic holders, make sure to hold onto them as a refill is only €2.
Kids activity all day long, when we checked in I was given a time table of all the activities, I was well impressed. There is a big sports hall, above that there is a games room with a rodeo bull, air hockey table pool table and machine games. There was also a supervised kiddies play room with a film on every night. There was a disco also in the sports hall for the kiddies at a small cost. The swimming pool was nice but showers needs updating. There was always loads of balls, floats and arm bands for the kids to use in the pool if they wanted. Also one day an inflatable slide is put into the pool. Pool staff are very nice.
Make sure to arrive early for breakfast as there can be a queue there around 10am.
There is music every night either in the lobby or bar, also some kids shows for example an animal show and a puppet show. Outside there is a cabin sweet shop open at the back of the hotel in the evening for a few hours. Worth the stay, and will definitely stay again, very much a family orientated hotel.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for a fan, because rooms are warm and the window don't open that wide for safet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights. It was ok nothing fancy. We ate in the restaurant but it wasnt worth the money, it was a buffet style breakfast but the standard wasnt great. Very large qs for breakfast every morning. the room was clean. we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at a family suite here. My family and I enjoyed the stay as we made the most of it. Our daughter is 2 and we have a 4 month old boy. The family suite was on the ground floor and it was clean and in good condition. With bottles and a steriliser we had to have a suite with the use of a fridge and sink. It worked out well as it was out first trip away, the 4 of us.
The rooms worked out well also as we had a separate living room from the main bedroom where we had out bed and 2 travel cots. Parents should be aware with babies that they really need to bring their own travel cot mattresses as the travel cots do not have mattresses supplied, I think this is the case at all hotels. Luckily we brought 2 of our own mattresses with us.

Breakfast was good, probably not enough fruit and no yogurts. We don't eat fry ups which was the main breakfast option, we did order whole meal toast each morning and poached eggs and they kindly gave them to us. Staff at breakfast were super and deserve a mention. We found them super efficient, professional, friendly and helpful.

We didn't use the pool and were disappointed when we were told the indoor play area was for over 3s only. Our 2 years old wanted to use it, it's our supervision of course. My husband used the gym a few times and was happy with it.

Be ware of the very very long corridors, they are daunting! If you have a baby or toddler make sure to bring buggies as you will need them for getting around the hotel. Even going from your bedroom to breakfast! We were on the ground floor and it was a very long walk to breakfast each morning.

We got a good nights sleep as we were well away from the main hub of the hotel which had nightly music. I would really only recommend this hotel to families who want to use a family suite. I think people staying here who don't have young kids with them will think the place is crazy and is like a crèche!

The hotel could do with a major refurbishment in general but I don't think that will happen. The staff try to maintain it as good as they can and the accommodation staff seemed very good. The check in receptionists could try to be a bit more welcoming. I think we met one of the only grumpy staff member when we were checking in! I don't think she even said hello, not to mind welcome or enjoy your stay!! It's very important when she was the 1st person we spoke to when we arrived. Other reception staff afterwards seemed much more pleasant and helpful.

The hotel should be used as a base only and it will work out well, especially the family suites if you have young children. Overall we had a lovely break and while it wasn't as clean etc as our own home for us it was a break and we enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, room number over 1000.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

stayed here for 1 night midweek the 1st week in august, the girl in reception was lovely and very helpful, loads of great activities for children, my 3 year old loved the crazy golf. food was fantastic and so was entertainment at night, room was bit outdated and i couldnt mamage to open the window as it was a slide across oned, but everyrthing else made up for it, i will definately be returning and for a longer stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a family suite which was great, plenty of room for three teenagers who used one room and we had the privacy of the ajoining room, with TV's and DVD players in both rooms it was easy to keep them entertained. we has a family suite which was at the end of a long hall way but was very quiet as no one passing. We also had the freedom to come and go - with small dining area we were able to bring in food from well stocked local shop ( across road) or take aways - kitchen area sink, microwave, toaster and kettle with small fridge The suite was very clean and new towels /tea towels furnished each day. Breakfast was served from 8.00 to 10.30 each morning with a large line forming each morning about 10.00, but the dining room staff especially Lisa dealt with this very efficently each morning. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was plentiful and hot. The downside - no internet access in our suite - had to resort to Hotspots on our phones also like a creche in the bar at night ! ended up in our room with a bottle of vino from Supervalu across the road - cheaper and a lot quiter but overall I would stay here again

Room Tip: quite a large hotel ask for a room near the reception miles of corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Killarney

Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Killarney offers a variety of Killarney accommodation options to suit guests looking for a leisure or activity break in Killarney, Kerry or the South West of Ireland. Our bedrooms are both well equipped and spacious with a light and uncluttered design. Hotel Killarney's family-friendly suites are spacious and comfortable – perfect for a family of two adults and up to three children sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.