We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a great weekend in the quality Killarney. Stayed in a family suite, found it very clean. Food was good and staff very friendly. Couldn't fault it. Girls n playroom were excellent with our son, he really enjoyed it. Lovely playground for young children and good children's menu. Ignore the bad reviews, it's a great family friendly hotel! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    115
    82
    48
    37
See reviews for
221
49
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have to say i really wasn't expecting much but was plesently superised.
Reception was very busy on arrival and had to wait about 15 mins before i could check-in, not a major problem.
Bar/Lobby was very busy all day friday food served here was excellent and special kids menu available with healthy options on it.
Staff were friendly and helpfull at all time we had contact with them.
i would highly recommend this hotel during july & August as they have a kids club suitable from 3 upwards. I cant say highly enough how the kids are actered for there is always something for them to do and parents can join in most of the activities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here from the 21st of august for 2 nights , before we even arrived in the hotel they rang us and told us that the room we had booked was not avaliable and would we mind if we were given 2 seperate rooms this was not a problem. But when we entered d second room it stank of smoke and i could smell peope off the pillows which is so not acceptable when we complained we were changed immediately and the other room wasnt smelly, It is ridiclious the way it is set out and you could do with a bike to get from the car park to the lifts let alone the rooms!!! Our overall our thought on thehotel was it is badly layed out and stinks of smoke and is very stuffy and we will not be back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just back from this hotel spent 3 nights there reception on arrival was busy only 1 person on duty she gave me directions to my room which i could have done with a sat nav to find ,rooms were clean very stuffy and warm asked for a fan ,never got it , doors were hanging off in kitchen, staff were not a bit friendly ,layout is bad i had to pass the gym to go to leisure center to book in back to gym which took 15 minutes my workout was done could,nt open the door i could,nt see the numbers on the lock , children's facilities were good day one breakfast was only ok ,big improvement on the second day , overall i wont go back there and would,nt recommend it even to walk the corridors was humid overhaul badly needed here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend booked a room here on Tuesday 7th August for the following Saturday 11th of August. We got a phonecall at 3pm on the saturday to say they had overbooked and replaced us in a hotel ''just down the road'' and proceeded to tell us to ''just turn right at the main roundabout as you come into Killarney centre''. We done this and spent an hour and a half trying to find this hotel in the centre as we were told until we gave up and went back to the Quality Hotel whereby we saw a flashing sign outside saying ''Rooms Available''. We went in to the hotel where the girl on the desk told us the sign was broken and had no idea they were overbooked but told us the hotel they booked us into was just 2 minutes down the road and to ''turn right as you leave here and on the first roundabout you meet turn right, oh wait no left' Again we done this only to find it was the third roundabout she was on about and was miles out from the town centre, we actually passed a 'goodbye from kerry county council sign'!! I wrote them an email stright away stating what terrible quality service they had given us and said I wanted a reply from a senior manager..... I got no reply, for a hotel named Quality Hotel they are the furthest thing from it we have ever come across, they didn't even dignify us with a response. We have travelled around to many different hotels and never received anything close to this terrible service I would recommend no one stay here and we wil certainly passing the word on and telling friends and relatives to never use their service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here from 16th-19th August and definatly wont be back. I stayed with my mum and 2 children who are 16 and 11. We had originally booked a superior family room which turned out to be right at the back of the hotel which was to for far my mum. We requested a room change closer to facilities which was promptly given to us without any hassle. This room was on the ground floor which was a main throughfare for all guests so we were awake with kids banging on the door till all hours and again from 7 in the morning with the same thing. The room itself was tiny and in my opinion shoul only house 2 maybe 3 people at a push, The beds were awful it was like sleeping on a board and i have thrown better pillows in the bin than the ones we were given in the hotel. They were pure flat and badly stained and the beds are badly dressed. Every aspect of the room was just shabby with a musty/urine smeel when the windows were closed. On the up side the facilities are excellent for children with entertainment most of the day. The pool area is excellent with steam room, Jacuzzi and sauna. This area was spotless and well maintained. Food is excellent and staff are amazing really cant do enough for you and very friendly. Breakfast is really busy at weekends so be prepared to Que for a while. When I comlplained to the duty manager I was told that because I had changed rooms I had been changed to a standard family room as they had no superior rooms close to reception But I was not offered reimbursement for reduction in quality of room. In fairness the other room wasn'nt much better. Its a shame about the rooms because other than that it would be a really great hotel for Families.

Room Tip: stay away unless its refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

we stayed in the quality hotel killarney, the entertainment for the children was wonderful but the accomodation was another matter! we stayed in a family suite which stunk of cigarette smoke and the room was very grubby! the area around the kitchenette was extremely dirty and the whole room was in need of a lick of paint! when we complained they sent the housekeeping up with an air freshner which certainly didnt do the trick! all the rooms r non smoking so if people were smoking in the rooms how come the smoke alarms didnt go off???

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Killarney

Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Killarney offers a variety of Killarney accommodation options to suit guests looking for a leisure or activity break in Killarney, Kerry or the South West of Ireland. Our bedrooms are both well equipped and spacious with a light and uncluttered design. Hotel Killarney's family-friendly suites are spacious and comfortable – perfect for a family of two adults and up to three children sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.