We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a larger group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardree House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ardree House to your Saves list
Ardree House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Muckross Rd., Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“For a larger group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This B&B was able to house our group of 13, which made it very nice. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, but it did feel more like a hotel than a B&B. Food was very good. 10-15 walk to most of the pubs and shopping. Rooms were clean and updated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    35
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
55
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed with three friends at beginning of June. Location perfect. Minutes walk to town. parking available. Friendly helpful staff. Good choice for breakfast. Had to try the oatmeal with Bailey's. First time for everyone! Bedroom was comfortable. Would recommend. We will return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a wonderful find! Only about 15 years old, everything here is modern, clean, and up-to-date. Both public areas and private rooms are quite spacious. I had concerns about the location after finding it on the map, but it’s only a 5-minute walk into the downtown area town. Lots of people are walking this route. Our room was perfectly clean, including a desk/closet in an alcove, and a modestly sized perfectly clean bathroom. Shower water pressure is questionable. Large tub. WiFi is strong throughout the building. Teakettle is down in the common area, where I would have preferred in the room. I didn’t see A/C or fans (Americans tend to like moving air). No refrigerator in room—but fine for me. I didn’t see a clock either, but maybe that’s a European thing. Breakfast is excellent with made to order substantial meals. This B&B is truly a wonderful find and I highly recommend visiting here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night in this lovely Bed & Breakfast in May 2010 - beautiful property in a picturesque town in one of my favourite places in the world.
Along with my sister, we travelled across Ireland on the "voucher program" with Royal Irish Tours and did not book in advance.
Upon choosing Ardree House as our Killarney home for the night, our friendly host John King was very gracious and inviting, making us feel right at home.
Our room was spacious clean and comfortable and the entire property was beautiful and we made a friend (Suzanne Dowd).
Breakfast was delicious - sad we only stayed for one night.
Would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

After being lost and traveling in the rain all day, we were glad to find this place only to be greeted rudely on our check-in. Room was ok but the bathroom sink stopper was stuck and when we addressed it, the woman that checked us in acted inconvenienced. It was also difficult to find someone to give us water to drink that night. We almost walked out of this B&B that same night and we were booked here for 2 nights!
Parking is limited and very small.

The owner was pleasant and helpful the next day but our experience with their employee the night before really soured our opinion of this guest house.

Room Tip: We will never stay in this B&B again. There is no reason for discourtesy to guests and our exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

On arrival greeting was a warm welcome. Room was spacious, clean & tidy, bathroom likewise.
Rooms not sound proofed, thankfully everyone settled down for a good nights sleep at a reasonable time. Free car parking is available on the premises which is ideal, as the centre is a short walk away. A choice of breakfast was available which we found adequate. Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of eating places in the town. Bars with traditional music. Overall a very lively place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Greeted seemingly warmly by a lady up front.

* will charge you an extra 10 euro for breakfast on top of the room rate.
* the bed feels like a box spring (see picture)
* the shower head barely works (see pictures)
* the breakfast menu is meager (see picture)
* they appear to ration out breakfast food (see picture)
* the tea/coffee room is a bit of a joke (see picture)
* if you are a vegetarian they will try to charge you 10 euro for oatmeal (see picture) (Tesco, the local grocery store is awesome and you can purchase great local irish foods for low cost!)
* the wifi is unreliable and when I informed the staff member, she blamed me.
* the curtains are shear so the street lights and sun will wake you at 5am. (see picture)
* the walls are not sound proof
* the hospitality is lacking overall
* they refuse to accept credit cards from what I understand but they do NOT put this online up front! (see picture)
* the rooms are not temperature controlled but they promised they would be. (see picture)
* there was mold on the ceiling of the bathroom and in the bathroom (see pictures)
* no room phone in sight
* no wash rags and stingy with towels (see picture)
* no toiletries provided except soap which is bolted onto the bathroom wall (see pictures)
* lots of rules
* tv (see picture) has just a few stations
* very greedy, rude, not hospitable and not a friendly bed and breakfast at all.

Don't believe me?
Check out my pictures.
These are the pictures that they do NOT want you to see and that they won't display online.

Sincerely,
The traveler with standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardree House

Address: Muckross Rd., Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardree House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardree House is a family run, newly refurbished B&B located just 2 minutes walk from Killarney town centre. All our spacious rooms are ensuite and include TV, hairdryer and trouser press. Complimentary WIFI is available and we also provide a PC in our lounge. Private off-road parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ardree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.