We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you want to be in city centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scotts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Scotts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 40 hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good if you want to be in city centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nice hotel, great location if you want to be in the city centre. Clean and quite. Service is average, hall is nice and breakfast is not bad. They have a bar in a small lane and sometimes they play live music. We didn't hear anything because our room was on the other side, however I would make sure to ask for a quiet room cause I guess it may be a problem. Overall, not too bad if you like modern hotels in city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that is not over their bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    139
    67
    33
    22
See reviews for
51
197
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

You know when you read the "location can't be beat" that it's a mixed bag. Sure, it's close to the shops and pubs downtown but it's close to the night time noise as well. We stayed for 2 nights during a car rally weekend. Which meant the town was over run with young, 20-something boys (and screeching girlfriends) and their souped up cars dragging up and down the streets and drinking in the street until the wee hours. Not the Killarney I remember.

The hotel is located in a wide alley with a pub near the entrance. Be warned that the pub has outdoor seating and the two nights we stayed had a rock band of live music playing until 11:45. Room 207 looks over the lobby roof and alley. Choose a room away from the alley for a quieter night. We changed rooms for the second night without a problem...I suspect most guests moved for the same reason.

The buffet breakfast was a large selection of muffins, breads, cereals and juices for $6E ($E12 for menu). Hotel staff was efficient and accommodating, but lacking any charm or warmth.

In the end, go to Killarney to see the countryside and take in the amazing landscapes -- the diversity between lakes and mountains will astound you. But to stay in Killarney, choose a good old-fashioned grand dame hotel that makes you feel special. Not sure Scotts Hotel cared I was staying there at all.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the alley for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here on the may bank holiday weekend arrived about 12.30 got checked in straight away to room 209 which was on 2nd floor facing the street the room was big & kind of empty it was spotless clean wasnt really that impressed with it as i dont like bedrooms that face onto streets & by 12 o clock that night i knew why the noise from the street was terrible all night & we also had to listen to the roars of traffic up & down all night so at 9 next morning went to reception asking to be moved to a quite room and the sorted it straight away the next room was way nicer & so quiet didnt hear a thing all night .the staff are very nice & helped every way the could i wouldnt let the first night put me off so i would go back again but would not take a room facing the street.

Room Tip: just dont take rooms street facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I posted this email 2 days after staying in this hotel and did not receive any response!!!!!!! Suziedowling@hotmail.com
To whom it my concern ,
My name is Suzie Dowling ,
I stayed at your hotel over two nights ,
I arrived 2nd April in the evening , and spoke with the man that was front of house that evening , on arrival I found him only average in dealing with as he was quite unpleasant and rude !
At no stage was I offered help with my bags up to my room ,and when the question I had for him was ,where would breakfast be served? he answered as if this question annoyed him and without lifting his head pointed in some direction behind me as if I should of known ? ?
Also I had to ask the direction to the lift ,as he never gave me any information !
Arriving in my room I found it very cold ,and on entering the bathroom ,there were what looked like urine splashes just on the toilet floor !
Lying in bed that night I couldn't sleep due to the boys playing football in the carpark that my room faced onto and decided to stop at 11pm ,
Also I had to remove the card from the power box in the wall during the night as the telly makes a horrible buzzing noise while on standby !
My second evening turned out to be just as bad , discovering I have bites on my leg which I presume is only from your bedsheets . (picture attached )
I would of made your staff aware of my concerns on checking out ,if only they would of asked if my stay was pleasant or at least comfortable. No one bothered to ask!
I work for a large company that prides it's self on customer service which I feel   Disappointed to say I recieved none while staying in your hotel .
I'd appreciate if someone responed to me on this !
Regards
Suzie Dowling

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

As mentioned in a previous review, the Scotts Hotel seems to have an identity crisis. Posh upscale hotel or a Holiday Inn? My guess is that perhaps the lobby/pub/restaurant area was recently remodeled, but the upper floors of accommodations have not yet been tended to. That said, the rooms are decent and clean but not overly luxurious.

This is the second hotel that I stayed at in Ireland and both hotels did not have clocks in the room, which I found curious. Also, there are no ice machines for hotel guests. If you're thinking about buying a six pack of drinks and bringing it back to your room, plan on drinking it warm.

Parking is free, underground and plentiful with easy access to the front door of the hotel by way of a lift. It is a little tough to find on the first go round.

Breakfast in the downstairs dining room is terrible, and the selection is quite small. On the upside, there are plenty of great places to eat just steps away.

My big gripe about this hotel is the wi-fi service. Yes, it's free and it's high speed, but it's available only in the lobby. Which means after a long day of touring about the city sights, if you want to relax in your room and email your friends or upload photos to share with friends back home, you're out of luck. You've got to trudge downstairs with all your equipment and do it there. That's a big inconvenience and a big loss of stars for my review.

The big pros about this hotel is its location. It's right downtown and when you walk out the front door you're smack dab in the middle of it all. Great shopping. Great food. Great pubs. Great sites to see. Very convenient.

The lobby staff were quite welcoming, very friendly and helpful with tips on what to see and how to get there. They provided us with very nice maps and explanations on how to get our bearings.

If not for the wi-fi service, I would've given this hotel a four star rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Last minute booking big mistake room 116 to be avoided worn bedding torn carpet old dirty looking room smelt of smoke really noisey .the staff were very nice

Room Tip: If you are offered 116 refuse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here last weekend with my partner. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, room was gorgeous and very central location with free parking. Didn't get to go around Killarney much as it was raining but will definately return and stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotts Hotel Killarney combines luxury, contemporary, and service in the heart of Killarney. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, exclusive new Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.