We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not visit malton again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Malton Hotel to your Saves list
The Malton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“would not visit malton again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel for our 25th anniversary as we got good reports about it,unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay.We were upgraded to junior suite as it was our anniversary,room was in need of update,curtain holdback falling off the wall,tv small and old, just wondering where they spent 3million! We looked forward to our evening meal,but we think the chef must have had a fight with the salt ,the whole meal was bad,we were offered 2 glasses of champagne in the bar which we refused,but when we went back to our room found a bottle of champagne from management,was a nice touch but did'nt make up for ruining our anniversary,must say we enjoyed breakfast.There are so many hotels in Killarney we were unfortunate to pick this one for our 25th.
N and P Dunlea
Cork.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    231
    78
    37
    13
See reviews for
266
413
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Just back from our break in the Malton, a greatly anticipated break, read the brilliant reviews on this site. Fabulous reception and the most beautiful reading and dining rooms. But my God the room we got!!! The room itself was small and had the old aluminium windows with the wind swirling, old furniture / tea making etc. The bathroom was the worst we've seen in any hotel. First off, it was freezing, so cold that you couldn't take a bath. Very dated tiles and suite, and small. But worst of all lukewarm water in the shower. Really expected better. We had treatment in the beauty rooms, they were ok, but no relaxation rooms so it limits the experience.
Ate in the bar, but a somewhat underwhelming experience for the price we paid. Nice breakfast, good selection of buffet and menu.
At checkout mentioned to the girl aboyut the room standard, ask for a better room next time says she, those rooms are cold!! (rm 160 by the way)
Our advice. there are fabulous new hotels in Killarney where the room standard isn't such a lotto........

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart,Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights while traveling through Ireland. We feel in love with this hotel. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful. We would stay here again if we get back to Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

We were here for a friends wedding which was fantastic!

Rooms were luxurious and comfy! Food was fab!

Leisure facilities were very good but are due an upgrade as they dont keep up with the rest of the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Stayed here while it was still part of the CIE owned Great Southern chain, and having stayed in many of them over the years, was in for a nasty surprise. I shared a twin room with a friend and as it was quite expensive were not pleased to find sewage floating up into the sink from a sewage pipe somewhere. We complained to reception and they "sent somebody" to "clean it" but they only succeeded in making it worse. They did not move us to another room or make any offer to make good how this really spoilt our stay. I would never go there again and encourage anybody I knew to steer well clear of this place. I would expect more hygiene at a budget hotel than the filth and lousy service we got here.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2009
Dear Iff12,

I have just read your comments posted on Trip advisor, may I firstly apologise for any distress caused during your stay in October 2006 at the then Great Southern Hotel.

October 2006 was a particularly difficult time as the Hotel which had just been sold by Aer Rianta to a group of local business people. You will note the new company name “The Malton”, which has no affiliation with the old company Great Southern Hotels.

Since the new company took over almost two and a half years ago there has been considerable change, we have spent over €3 million on refurbishing the Hotel.
Maybe you should visit again? and see first hand what has been completed in the intervening period since your last stay, we have had fantastic feedback from our guests.

Regards,

Michele King
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We have just returned from a two day break at the Malton, we are a family of 2 plus 3 children. We got two interconnecting rooms which were of a good size. I felt the hotel was very child friendly, it had a good library with childrens books, met a very nice receptionst called Mary, who told us about a childrens room downstairs with all types of board games etc..

Restaurant food was excellent, again a great childrens menu (no fish fingers or nugets) thankfully. Breakfast served in the garden room very good and alot to choose from, buffet or menu.

Leisure centre staff were excellent and accommodating.

Rooms etc., very clean. Lovely log fires at night, plus I did like all the fresh flowers arranged around the hotel.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

stayed in the malton as a wkend away with my bfriend, the hotel is v old style, the rooms were not really that nice as the furniture was old etc but if u like that kind of thing its nice, the staff are v friendly and accomodating and will do everything to ensurea happy stay, i was however a bit disapointed when we were having our meal as we waited almost an hour for it, it was a lovely meal though. anyways hope this helps

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens and also provides complimentary guest parking. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.