We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasing stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Malton Hotel to your Saves list
The Malton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most pleasing stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent 5 days in June 2013, we stayed when the weather was at time very good & everything was at it's.
The staff in the hotel where very helpful and made our stay as if one was at home from home!
Food was plentiful and had a great variety of choice both in Bar & Dinning Room, the wine list was endless and I believe most people would fined wines to their liking at a price.
Location was very central to Killarney Town and next door to the Train Station, good car parking at hotel.
Require information on trips or things to do you came to the right place, as all your needs will be well taken care of by the very courteous concierge as nothing was to much for her Gracie's attention.
Finally the good wine I kept till last , the accommodation was everything that one would expect of a hotel of this standard, great sleep , breakfast in bed , and all at a good price.
I would recommend this hotel only to my friends to keep it to ourselves!
Killarney has a lot to offer for visitors but this hotel was the icing on the cake
A couple spending their Golden Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: Let the hotel staff know what you require & I always found they come up trumps' Garden view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear James, Many thanks for your great review and so glad you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us and that you would recommend us to your friends. We take great pride in our team here at The Malton and delighted you had the true Malton experience. Our guest services manager Mary Mac was most likely the concierge you refer to in your review and nothing is too much for Mary when it comes to our customers. I'm glad you found our wine list extensive and hope you also found time to experience our Killarney Wine Rooms which offers our customers a wine cellar with a difference as its inter active and allows customers to sample top quality wines in beautiful Victorian surroundings. Again sincere thank you and belated golden wedding anniversary congratulations. Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    231
    78
    37
    12
See reviews for
266
411
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Malton from the 11th to the 18th of August, 2013. The hotel is a lovely old railroad hotel. Step out of the train station and you are at the back door of the hotel! We had a group of 67 American golfers and had a great stay. The food was excellent, as were the accommodations. What sets this hotel apart from the others is excellent customer service. Mary Mac sees to it that everyone has what they need. My husband had a disastrous experience with his rental golf clubs and one of the bartenders (Declan) insisted on loaning him his clubs. How's that for customer service! On a rainy day Mary Mac arranged for the chef to give some of the golf widows a cooking lesson in the kitchen.If we were to go to Killarney again, I wouldn't consider another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Katy, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and so glad you enjoyed your week long stay with us and your cookery lesson with our sous chef Noel. Mary Mac always puts our customers first and thank you for taking the time to mention both her and Declan in your review. I'm delighted to hear that you would stay with us again if you should return to Killarney and we all look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went here for a birthday dinner recently. Seated by a bay window in the Victorian dining room. Had a wonderful meal, the service was good, and the setting and ambience were perfect for a romantic evening out. The sofas in the lobby are comfortable and perfect for relaxing in having a pre or post meal drink. Really lovely evening!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for your review and for choosing The Malton to celebrate your birthday. The award winning Garden Room restaurant is quite stunning and we hope to welcome you back again sometime in the near future. Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just back from another excellent stay at the Malton with my family of 5, pure relaxation, excellent food, service etc. Room beautiful kids loved their adjoining room, nothing too much trouble for service staff. Kids Club was brilliant & activities, especially the supervised swimming Life Guard was brilliant he had a lovely way with kids. We will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. Our staff are our greatest asset and I'm so glad you had the true Malton experience during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

this has been my third stay at this wonderful and my second since it transitioned from a great southern hotel. The room was fabulous, cosy, bright and very spacious with a wonderful bathroom with shower and bath. The breakfast was was outstanding, there is nothing you could not get on the buffet and made to order hot breakfasts of waffles, pancakes, full irish, poached eggs and the buffet offered fruit salads, flavoured honeys, yogurts, breads of all sorts freshly made, juices, cereals and the list goes on, all of which were served by extremely friendly and helpful staff. The dinners again were top rate, with i am relieved to stay generous portions of vegetables and potatoes and welcome to ask for more. Selection of gorgeous fish, chicken, lamb, wonderful steaks and of course all the best selections of starters (fishcakes, terrine, halibut, salad, duck, very popular chowder) and desserts (chocolate tart, meringue, ice-cream, ...) While we had no small children with us, they were so well catered for at breakfast and dinner. Could not rate the experience highly enough, and will certainly be returning for another visit to this lovely hotel and lovely part of the world

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, sincere thank you for this lovely review of The Malton and for your repeat custom on your third visit to us. Delighted you enjoyed our food in our award winning Garden Room restaurant and that you will also return to us again in the future. The hotel will celebrate its 160 year anniversary next year so do keep in touch via our website and facebook page for our latest special offers. Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from The Malton after a 5 night stay. It was certainly a memorable experience from the room, through to the food and the use of the pool. The magnificent grounds are a bonus in a town centre location. I have to say that the staff were very attentive and very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a great holiday. The only slight criticism is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms,a fan was provided but air conditioning would have been the cherry on the cake.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and there was little or no noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. I'm so glad you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us and thank you sincerely for your custom. The Malton hotel is a large Victorian style hotel and unfortunately our bedrooms do not have air conditioning(160 years old next year). The building carries a preservation order which makes it extremely difficult and very expensive even if we could get permission for AC. Hope to welcome you back in the future and do keep an eye on our website and facebook page for special offers. Best Regards, Paul O’Sullivan, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here in January in interconnecting rooms. The rooms are dated but fine.Food excellent here, lovely breakfast, lunches and dinner. All the restaurant staff were very friendly and made extra efforts with my kids, bringing lots of crayons, pencils etc. Pool is fine, steps up from changing rooms not that practical for little kids though. There is a small playground for kids outside which is nice. This hotel is right next to the train station and bang in the centre of town so very handy for popping out for bits and pieces. There is also a lovely park across the road which is great for letting the kids run around in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are delighted that your overall stay was a good experience for you and your family. We take great pride in the food we serve and glad you enjoyed it. Due to the age of the hotel and size (171 bedrooms) we have a large variety of bedrooms from your traditional Victorian style to a more contemporary style of today. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and happy to report many are now complete. I hope that we will welcome you and your family back in the future and I am available at the following email address if you'd like to contact me directly.
Regards,
Paul O’Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens and also provides complimentary guest parking. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.