We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so far, we are lovin' it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Malton Hotel to your Saves list
The Malton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“so far, we are lovin' it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

currently my wife and i are staying at the malton hotel for a 2-night holiday and we are loving it. we initially got the a standard room, but was really disappointed with it. it was not the 4-star room we were hoping for. so, we opted to upgrade our room. and Amish, at reception, promptly offered us an upgrade to a junior suite for a good offer. this suite is definitely a must-try.

so far, we have tried the leisure center and everything's great. looking forward for tomorrow's breakfast and the 4-course dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    231
    77
    37
    12
See reviews for
261
408
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just left The Malton after a business trip, dragged ourselves away from the very comfortable sofas beside the fire in the beautifully Christmas decorated bar and strolled to the train. Great food in the bar both nights and the best Irish breakfast ever looking out over the mountains. Leisure centre clean, good pool and steam room. Friendly staff who sorted out all our needs. Urgently looking for more business reasons to return!

Room Tip: Train leaves you steps away from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have just arrived home from Killarney having (reluctantly) left the Malton hotel after a family wedding on Friday. Everything from the elegant Christmas decorations to the friendly service of those on reception was amazing. That was only the beginning with regards to the wedding the bride and groom were treated so well as were all of us as guests, the food quality and service at the meal was second to none and anything that we needed with regards to parking needs, assistance with baggage etc was handled quickly and efficiently. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and so had much dealing with all staff throughout the days and nights, the staff were the most efficient, friendly, helpful and nice bunch of people that made us feel so welcome and comfortable that I feel it could not be left unsaid. To all at the Malton hotel I would like to commend you and say well done and to anybody looking for a getaway in the heart of Killarney town with representatives of what the real Irish welcome is.........them head for the Malton. Thank you all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here before but this time was not impressed, the girls at reception were great out room was nice but the bed was twin beds stuck together and very uncomfortable my husbands back wz sore, we went for breakfadt next morning and after spoke to girl at reception she wz helpful and said she would move us so went up to our room to pack and to find they were already on our room and we had no privacy. The receptionist was through to her word we were moved to room. This morning went for breakfast and there wz a foreign girl in breakfast room she got breakfast order wrong TWICE which wz really annoying and then would not even bring us toast!! We left after breakfast not sure if i would return wz so disappointed

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltonManagement, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and I am disappointed that your recent stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. I am delighted that the ladies were able to reorganise your bedroom and I have spoken to the Accommodation Manager about the uncormfortable bed your husband experienced. I have equally spoken to the Restaurant Manager about the poor experience you recieved in the breakfast room.
Certainly all of the issues can all be solved very quickly and we have recieved a large amount of positive comments regarding breakfast and all our staff in the hotel this year.
On behalf of the Malton we would like to apologise for your dissapointment and I would be confident that these concerns are a one off and I would hope that when returning to Killarney in the future that you would consider the Malton.
Please contact me directly as I would be delighted to discuss the issues over the phone or in person.
Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business trip. Great rooms very spacious and beautifully decorated. Ordered room service the first night which was good and had bar food the second night. Fantastic barman very friendly and the food excellent! Breakfast had an absolute superb selection and beautifully presented!
Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice hotel n lobby, bar, restaurant however very disappointing rooms. Poor decor, only thing nice were soaps in bathroom, really in need of revamp. Was really looking forward to staying but rooms in quality inn would have been nicer! Booked here as a night way and paid extra than other hotels in Killarney. Sorry to say I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October while travelling around the south west and I was blown away by everything about it, my dad had booked it so I had no idea what to expect. Beautiful old building which has been exceptionally well refurbished inside.

I've travelled a lot over the years and stayed in some lovely hotels but overall this was one of the nicest and most memorable ever. I found the interior design impeccable down to the smallest detail, including the fact that no matter where you sit in the expansive lobby, someone comes over immediately to ask if you want tea or coffee. The little nooks and crannies throughout are furnished for taking a seat and relaxing - in fact everywhere you go there are armchairs and sofas.

Our rooms were much larger than we'd expected, not sure if they were the classic doubles or deluxe, possibly the latter. We found the service excellent in general, I thought the small gym was ideally equipped and perfectly functional, and food in the restaurant was outstanding.

No gripes worth mentioning or that detracted from the experience. As a family we've decided to make this a destination for shared weekends away and we're about to book a weekend as a gift for our parents' wedding anniversary.

Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the back garden which also gave us a very dramatic view of the sunset and cloud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens and also provides complimentary guest parking. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.