We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad breakfasts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Malton Hotel to your Saves list
The Malton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“bad breakfasts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My ovfood overall opion of Killarney was that it was the biggest toourist trap in Ireland. The Ring of Kerry was nice but not outstanding. All tourists come to Killarney and so the hotels are very pricey. This was the most reasonable of the 4 stars which is why we stayed here. The public rooms are beautiful and the hotel has a very nice pool and spa. The rooms are good sized and modern. However the breakfasts were terrible We had the worst food of our entire trip.The food was of poor quality unlike everywhere else that we stayed. This was what ruined the hotel for us. It was overpriced like everything else in Killarney.Stay here if you want a 4 star that is less expensive than its rivals which are all on the same street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Executive Chef at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Dr. Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay in Killarney. I was disappointed to read your comments on Killarney town and the famous Ring of Kerry, as both are well reputed as integral parts of an Irish holiday experience, of which we are very proud of.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the majority of the hotel’s facilities but disappointed that you did not enjoy our breakfast; I am unsure if you also had dinner in the restaurant or food in the bar during your stay. I would like to assure you that my ethos is to provide a very high standard of food in all our menus, we only use quality ingredients, incorporating fresh local produce, to ensure we deliver an excellent food experience with variety and at competitive prices. We have recently become members of Good Food Ireland which is a prestigious food organisation that only selects members who meet their high criteria to ensure consumers receive a great food experience while on vacation.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again at The Malton to enjoy a much better food experience.

Regards,
John O’Leary
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    230
    77
    36
    12
See reviews for
259
406
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had an amazing visit to Killarney. The hotel staff was excellent. My sister is a seasons tickets holder for the Dallas Mavericks. The hotel kept the bar open for us all night while we watched the final game.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Director of Sales at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Walshsa,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your hotel experience during your recent stay at The Malton, Chef is delighted that you enjoyed our food experience so much. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Michele King
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stayed in The malton for 4 nights just recently . We had a junior suite which was really gorgeous with separate dressing room & very large bathroom , it was beautiful . The food was the best quality hotel food I have had probably ever and the staff were so wonderful to us too . It is the perfect location to see Kerry and is right next to the railway station and main toen centre . We will definitely be back again soon .

Room Tip: Junior suite was much nicer than the standard room and really comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

There was a group of 18 of us staying for a hen party and the malton were fantastic at arranging everything for us. We stayed in the self catering apartments at the back which were very luxurious with So much space. It was perfect for a party.all the staff were so obliging with anything we required, always plenty smiles and very helpful with emails and prompt replies.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Aoife,

It was lovely to have you, your sister (the bride to be), your Mum and your friends staying with us in the Self Catering Apartments. It was a pleasure helping you organise your weekend in Killarney and hopefully making it as special as possible especially for your sister. We wish your sister the best of luck with the wedding and look forward to seeing you soon again. Thank you for your kind remarks.

Kind regards,

Eimear Scannell
Self Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kildare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in the 3 bed apartments for a week in June, fantastic apartments with the added benefit of The Malton Hotel. With 2 young children we found these apartments to be perfect, with lots of room and so close to Killarney town. It was very clean, bright and user friendly and we will definately be back for our next holiday in Ireland. The top floor sitting room and balcony was stunning and the kids really loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

Coming to the end of our one week stay in hotel's apartments. The apartment is 2 minutes walk from hotel, spotlessly clean and very well decorated with tvs in all bedrooms, power showers, well equiped kitchen. The hotel is wonderful, with welcoming ambiance and has spacious lounges, library, 2 restaurants and inviting bar with top quality good value bar food. Well deserves 4 star status and is better than many other 4 star hotels we have stayed in in Ireland.
Compares well with 5 star hotels we have stayed in in Kerry and Cork, the only difference being the pool area is not quite as luxurious. Wonderful stay - we plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel is wonderful!! its classy! its old world charm. the rooms are great, the food is wonderful, the staff are lovely!! You are treated so well as soon as you walk in. It is an oasis of calm. Music in the bar is good and the bar is fabulous. The Spa and Gym are lovely and the staff here are really helpful. Loved every minute of it!! A great treat!!!!! Right beside the Train and Bus Station as well as an outlet shopping cntre. Very short walk to the centre of town and close to the cinema and the fabulous Park!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: East Avenue Rd. | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens and also provides complimentary guest parking. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.