We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of the Gap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gap of Dunloe

Gap of Dunloe
off the R562 road to Killorglin | Killarney National Park, Killarney, Ireland
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 63 attractions in Killarney
Type: Valleys
Attraction Details
St. Peters
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Tour of the Gap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed riding in a horse drawn trap with our knowledgeable and funny driver, Tim. Beautiful scenery and lots of laughs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    132
    32
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No better walk on a sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Whether you decide to walk it or cycle it is still one of the most amazing scenic routes you could take. It took us two hours to walk the gap , take the photo’s and back to Kate Kearney’s for well deserved pint. Its what sunny days are made for

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I decided to forego the trap and pony and just walk it as we are avid hikers. The day was a little misty to start but cleared up. The views are amazing on this walk. We packed a lunch and took our time exploring.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stopped by the gap not knowing what to expect and it was so amazing! The roads are very narrow through most of the drive to the valley on the other side but if you have nerves of steel and having your driving skills put to the test do this drive!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a terrific Ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Narrow, windy and twisty, this was a wonderful road to ride. It challenged my skills and I felt wonderful after having ridden it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gap of Dunloe also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Gap of Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gap of Dunloe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gap of Dunloe to your Saves list