We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE AND UNPROFESSIONAL CARETAKERS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Killarney Village

Save Saved
You added Old Killarney Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Killarney Village
Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“RUDE AND UNPROFESSIONAL CARETAKERS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The couple who run this place are the most rude people I have ever come across. When we booked two 3 bedroom houses they could not have been nicer, but when we arrived they were not helpful at all.
Anything we asked for was a massive problem, like extra towels, which you have to pay extra for, seems to me like they are very lazy people and just dont want to be bothered.
There are dogs barking outside your window very early every morning.
The pillows are like sleeping on a pancake!
Duvet covers were moth eaten.
The matresses are filthy..I'm glad I didnt notice until the last day of our stay.
Your not allowed to sit at your picnic table witch is right ouside your back door and have a few drinks after 10pm. We were told very rudely to drink inside the house, we were not at all noisey as we had 5 young kids which were sleeping and if we were loud we would have woken them.
On our last night we were very rudely reminded of the check out time.
Its an awful shame because it could be a very nice place if it were run by nice people.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed with family during Irish open(golf). was sufficient bedrooms and bathrooms but BEDLINEN,DUVETS,PILLOWS in need of replacing.They were clean but very worn, could see the stripped mattress through sheet! Only one very flat pilloow per person , I used a folded towel to add comfort. Duvets in our cottage very thin and not very warm. Not enough hot water for all eight to shower daily- last few had very tepid showers. A very big living room that would have held another sofa as only comfortable seating for 5, other 3 sitting on wooden kitchen chairs or on stairs like Kermit the frog! Chipped side plates and bowls should be replaced.Our cottage was very clean and on both occasions when we met Aggie she was very pleasant and helpful. It would be useful to have a file of local information available in each cottage, as no internet available to check anything ,resulting in a visit to the tourist office and gathering lots of brouchures which I left behind for next family. A lso alot of incorrect information on websites(westcoastholidays,bookingcom and goireland) regarding satellite tv,dvd player,wifi etc being available in each cottage. We did not have any of these extras even though we paid 799Euros plus electricity costs.If the owners took some time to fix these plus painted the exterior of all the cottages they would be beautiful.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

please do not even think of booking these houses. they are soooo over priced. they may have been nice a couple of years ago, but now they are grubby and dirty. the caretaker is also very rude. we booked a three bedroom house and she insisted that we were in a two bed room, this ment that i had to cancel my parents visiting. we paid for a three bedroom,she blamed the booking agent saying you better read the terms and conditions, and dismissed me from her door as she was not WORKING... AWFUL EXPERIENCE.i contacting them and they agreed that we paid for the bigger house, at this stage she wouldnt answer their call, so we were left in the two bed dirty house, for the week.
on a different note the house keeping is really bad, no bin collection,no clean towels. it was just awful. i would urge anyone that is considering killarney to please look into the hotel apartments. these houses could be fantastic if managed better. dont expect any help from caretaker, she will tell you that she only works from 4-7 and provides you with no local information. nothing good about this development., barking dogs, rubbish at the back of the house for want of collecting..you name it.playground was dangerous and unkept.pub staff were nice, but even it was grubby.i am genuine in saying this, i am generally an easy going person, but this place ruined the holiday.also €5 per day for electricity not mentioned...another joke. much much nicer places in killarney so keep looking, dont settle for this. i have photos of dirty unkept rooms to follow

Room Tip: dont go!! if you do bring your own towels, a print out of itinery, and a bin man!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We recently stayed for a week at Old Killarney Village during a family vacation to Ireland. We liked it very much. It was exactly as advertised. Marie and her husband are full time managers of the Village and are available to welcome you and help settle in. The cottage was spotlessly clean and all appliances (dishwasher, washer/dryer) were in perfect working order The kitchen was fully stocked with coffee maker etc. It was about a 5 minute drive into downtown Killarney and was quite and comfortable. Heating was available if needed. Hairdryers available upon request. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Booked Christmas get together in Old Killarney Village,
Stunning area and a very short walk to town centre.
We were thrilled ith the Cottage, so cute, warm and plenty of room for our group of 8.
met with Managers who were very nice with tips and information for places to eat and socialise.
Rooms were big and facilities in the house were excellent.
Area surrounding the cottages is quiet and lovely on-sit Pub to visit.
All in all I would recommend it to my firends and go back again .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilashostel, Owner at Old Killarney Village, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Hello.

Thank you so much for the glowing review you made of Old Killarney Village.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again some time in the future!

I just have one query: Whilst you gave us an excellent rating for individula categories, you only gave us 1 out 5 overall :)

If this was not your intention, would you possibly try to amend this as it makes it look as if you hated your stay with us!

Thank you again for the positive comments!

Liam Maher (propriietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed here on a trip around Ireland, as well as other self-catering cottages on route. I have to say that it was daunting trying to organise a group road trip around Ireland but Marie Mannix in the booking office made it ever so easy with her efficiency at the other end of the line and extra speedy email replys. I have never felt so welcome by someone I haven't even met.

When we all arrived at Old Killarney Village the Reception Area was closed but the key was left in our cottage for us. It was a bit disappointing not to meet someone on Saturday but I understand that the Reception is only open for two hours at the weekend. It didn't bother us at all as we were very happy with our cottage and could not have asked for a nicer stay. The cottage was spacious and very clean, the bar on the grounds was very nice and the locals were all very friendly along with the bar staff. Hello Pat.....

I must admit with the great service we had when booking the cottage, it is a pity that this does not follow through to the checking in service but we all have to make cut backs in these terrible economic times.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague, netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a fantastic surprise we had when we arrived to our cottage. It was alsolutely gorgous and the owners couldn't be nicer.We rented for 3 nights, and would of loved to stay longer.It was a cottage for 8 and there was plenty of room and rooms. The kitchen was great, nicely decorated and very functional, lots of dishes, pots, casserole dishes, it had three bathrooms that were nicely decorated and very clean. There was a picnic table out back and a beautiful black labrador to greet us each morning, he was the perfect host without being intrusive. We arrived late and the owner assured it was no problem and would leave key in open cabin and to settle in morning. There was a welcome book that gave you instructions on how to use all the appliances and also a brief directory of the area. There was also a segment on the attractions in the area, but no instructions on how to leave the cottage when departing. I have rented quite a few appartments now and there is usually a list of things to do before checking out or there is to be charges incured. Well when I inquired, the owner informed me I was on holiday too and to leave it for their cleaning staff. I was impressed and grateful as the last accomodation had left me with a filthy oven. There is a pub/restaurant a block away and play structure in that area too. It is a lttle out of the town of Killarney but it was very quiet and tranquil. Only thing a bit negative was our GPS had a little trouble bringing us to the door as there is no fixed address, but to be fair the confirmation sheet there was an exact longitude and latitude position. Was the best accomodation for our stay in Ireland

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Killarney Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Killarney Village

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Specialty lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Killarney Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Killarney Village Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Killarney Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.