We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very grubby, over priced and rude caretaker” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Killarney Village

Save Saved
You added Old Killarney Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Killarney Village
Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
louth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very grubby, over priced and rude caretaker”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

please do not even think of booking these houses. they are soooo over priced. they may have been nice a couple of years ago, but now they are grubby and dirty. the caretaker is also very rude. we booked a three bedroom house and she insisted that we were in a two bed room, this ment that i had to cancel my parents visiting. we paid for a three bedroom,she blamed the booking agent saying you better read the terms and conditions, and dismissed me from her door as she was not WORKING... AWFUL EXPERIENCE.i contacting them and they agreed that we paid for the bigger house, at this stage she wouldnt answer their call, so we were left in the two bed dirty house, for the week.
on a different note the house keeping is really bad, no bin collection,no clean towels. it was just awful. i would urge anyone that is considering killarney to please look into the hotel apartments. these houses could be fantastic if managed better. dont expect any help from caretaker, she will tell you that she only works from 4-7 and provides you with no local information. nothing good about this development., barking dogs, rubbish at the back of the house for want of collecting..you name it.playground was dangerous and unkept.pub staff were nice, but even it was grubby.i am genuine in saying this, i am generally an easy going person, but this place ruined the holiday.also €5 per day for electricity not mentioned...another joke. much much nicer places in killarney so keep looking, dont settle for this. i have photos of dirty unkept rooms to follow

Room Tip: dont go!! if you do bring your own towels, a print out of itinery, and a bin man!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We recently stayed for a week at Old Killarney Village during a family vacation to Ireland. We liked it very much. It was exactly as advertised. Marie and her husband are full time managers of the Village and are available to welcome you and help settle in. The cottage was spotlessly clean and all appliances (dishwasher, washer/dryer) were in perfect working order The kitchen was fully stocked with coffee maker etc. It was about a 5 minute drive into downtown Killarney and was quite and comfortable. Heating was available if needed. Hairdryers available upon request. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Booked Christmas get together in Old Killarney Village,
Stunning area and a very short walk to town centre.
We were thrilled ith the Cottage, so cute, warm and plenty of room for our group of 8.
met with Managers who were very nice with tips and information for places to eat and socialise.
Rooms were big and facilities in the house were excellent.
Area surrounding the cottages is quiet and lovely on-sit Pub to visit.
All in all I would recommend it to my firends and go back again .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilashostel, Owner at Old Killarney Village, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Hello.

Thank you so much for the glowing review you made of Old Killarney Village.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again some time in the future!

I just have one query: Whilst you gave us an excellent rating for individula categories, you only gave us 1 out 5 overall :)

If this was not your intention, would you possibly try to amend this as it makes it look as if you hated your stay with us!

Thank you again for the positive comments!

Liam Maher (propriietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed here on a trip around Ireland, as well as other self-catering cottages on route. I have to say that it was daunting trying to organise a group road trip around Ireland but Marie Mannix in the booking office made it ever so easy with her efficiency at the other end of the line and extra speedy email replys. I have never felt so welcome by someone I haven't even met.

When we all arrived at Old Killarney Village the Reception Area was closed but the key was left in our cottage for us. It was a bit disappointing not to meet someone on Saturday but I understand that the Reception is only open for two hours at the weekend. It didn't bother us at all as we were very happy with our cottage and could not have asked for a nicer stay. The cottage was spacious and very clean, the bar on the grounds was very nice and the locals were all very friendly along with the bar staff. Hello Pat.....

I must admit with the great service we had when booking the cottage, it is a pity that this does not follow through to the checking in service but we all have to make cut backs in these terrible economic times.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague, netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a fantastic surprise we had when we arrived to our cottage. It was alsolutely gorgous and the owners couldn't be nicer.We rented for 3 nights, and would of loved to stay longer.It was a cottage for 8 and there was plenty of room and rooms. The kitchen was great, nicely decorated and very functional, lots of dishes, pots, casserole dishes, it had three bathrooms that were nicely decorated and very clean. There was a picnic table out back and a beautiful black labrador to greet us each morning, he was the perfect host without being intrusive. We arrived late and the owner assured it was no problem and would leave key in open cabin and to settle in morning. There was a welcome book that gave you instructions on how to use all the appliances and also a brief directory of the area. There was also a segment on the attractions in the area, but no instructions on how to leave the cottage when departing. I have rented quite a few appartments now and there is usually a list of things to do before checking out or there is to be charges incured. Well when I inquired, the owner informed me I was on holiday too and to leave it for their cleaning staff. I was impressed and grateful as the last accomodation had left me with a filthy oven. There is a pub/restaurant a block away and play structure in that area too. It is a lttle out of the town of Killarney but it was very quiet and tranquil. Only thing a bit negative was our GPS had a little trouble bringing us to the door as there is no fixed address, but to be fair the confirmation sheet there was an exact longitude and latitude position. Was the best accomodation for our stay in Ireland

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I had a free week here after listening to a timeshare presentation. I was told I'd have a 2 bedroom- 2 bath. Instead it was 3 bedroom, 3 bath, with a loft with 2 additional beds, more than enough to accommodate our party of 5. The living room with fireplace was wonderful on the cool nights, once we figured out how to use the stove/oven, we cooked in all of our breakfasts and most dinners. The washer/dryer combo was great as well, put a load of wash in the morning and when we came back it was pretty much dry. We had a nice picnic table outside where we'd sit and have our coffee. There is a Tesco not far away to get all your supplies, as there are only basics in the cottage, but this is what self-catering is, so no surprise there. We used this as our homebase for the week and did trips to Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Killarney area, Kinsale, Cork.

Also, the pub right around the corner is wonderful. We had great experiences with them, food was good, people were nice. Its a locals place, but they were ever so friendly. Definitely a good way to end the night and just walk around the corner home.

I hired James at Killarney Taxi and Tours to drive us around all week, so we did not have to rent and drive a car. He was fantastic!!! He would pick us up every morning, drive us whereever we wanted and drop us back each afternoon. The trip was 100% perfect and I would recommend hiring James if you are uncomfortable about driving, plus you get to see all the sights as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We arrived at the start of check-in on Saturday, and a unit key was in the unit, as promised. However, there there was no one at reception until Monday and tourist information was closed until Monday as well.
Our unit was dusty, had laundry in the washer/dryer, had a non-working TV set.
It was necessary to drive everywhere, so if one were uncomfortable driving on the other side of the street with narrow lanes, this would be a problem.

Killarney and the surrounding area of country Kerry is beautiful, however, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Killarney Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Killarney Village

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Specialty lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Killarney Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Killarney Village Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Killarney Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.