We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algret House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Algret House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   80. Countess Grove | off Countess Rd., Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Best B&B during our stay! Mintues to center of Kilarney, immaculate rooms, plenty of heat and hot water, good size rooms, menu items and buffet items for an excellent breakfast with homemade scones...delicious!.
Our host, Greta, was delightful! Arranged for a door pickup for a tour of the Ring of Kerry..no hassle! You will not be disappointed. We would stay again should our travels bring us to Kilarney.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
69
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

Greta is very nice and welcoming. We were early, but our room was still ready. The breakfast is the perfect amount of food. The location is excellent, as just about anything you need is within walking distance. Excellent experience!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and to be honest are unsure how it got such a good TA rating. Our room was VERY small and the whole property smelt very strongly of fresh paint. The heating is not turned on until late in the afternoon. We understood that the paint and the heating we a result of being in Ireland during the low tourist season. Nonetheless, this detracted from our stay slightly. Breakfast was average.

Short walk to town and the B & B is located in a nice residential area. Free off-street parking available at the front of the building.

The host Greta was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Have now stayed at this B&B twice and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. The rooms are of a good size & light & airy. Shower was great with plenty of pressure (not always the case we found in Ireland). Breakfast was freshly cooked to order & delicious. Parking & free wifi available and location is good, only 10 minutes flat walk to town centre. Staff are very welcoming & attentive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in September whilst travelling around the west of ireland and chose well. Greta the hostess is very accomodating and makes a real effort to make you welcome, the cooked breakfast and scones are are great start to the day and the room was perfect.

The place is just a 10min walk from the town where there is loads of places to drink and eat and drink some more! Overall i would say if you can stay here do it, i will if i am back visiting the area, might even find an excuse very soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This B&B was one of our favorites during our trip through Ireland. Greta, the landlady, was so friendly and helpful. Our room was tidy with free wifi and the power shower (it was really one) was the biggest of all B&Bs we visited. The street where Algret House is located is very quiet and there is only a ten minutes walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We enjoyed staying at the Algret House very much. Greta is a wonderful hostess...so pleasant, helpful and fun. Her scones at breakfast are a nice plus. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is good, about 10-15 minutes to the center of town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Algret House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algret House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 80. Countess Grove | off Countess Rd., Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algret House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm,friendly family run B&B in a quiet area yet only a 5 - minute walk from Killarney Town. All rooms are en-suite with Satellite TV, tea/ coffee facilities hairdryers and free Wifi internet access. We serve a varied breakfast menu with our delicious home baked scones. Private off- street parking is available at front of house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Algret House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algret House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.