We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triona is wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossarney Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rossarney Town House
St. Margaret's Rd, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Triona is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I agree with what Patrick said. It was very much like being in your own home. From the moment we arrived until we left, Triona and William treated us like honored guests, family friends from America. We needed to contact a family member in Creegh and she helped us (My son took down the wrong number). She took time after a hard day to help us get in touch with them and then told us how to get where we needed to go. This after telling us about Muckross House and giving us advice about a tour of the Ring of Kerry and where to sit. I went to sit in the living room to watch TV, and she brought in candies. I felt so welcome I really hated to leave, in fact every B & B we stayed at from that point on was measured by Rossarney House and Triona. Thank you again Triona. PS Do listen to Triona about the Fish and Chips place, it was great.

Room Tip: They are all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Triona and William Neilan are the consumate hosts. Our outstanding breakfasts were served in a lovely room and every aspect of our stay was designed to make us feel at home. But it was this charming couples' personal touch that made our stay a memorable one. Thanks in part to the Neilans, my first trip to Ireland is not likely to be my last. Take Traina's advice and sit behind the driver on the Ring of Kerry Tour, and if she takes a liking to you she might even send you off with a bit of lunch . . . Thank you, Triona and William.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Room was beautiful and clean. Great food! excellent information on where to go and what to do. Couldn't be happier! The owner goes out of her way to help you find whatever you need. Easy walk to town. Many great food choices and attractions. My sister I felt at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hostess at Rossarney House (Traina) was delightful and the most helpful of all the B&Bs we stayed at. This was one of our favorite parts of the country and she was able to help us figure out how to do all the things we wanted, and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and activities. The place is very conveniently located, and very comfortable. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Of all the B & B's we have stayed at this has to be the best place we stayed. There is nothing like having a caring host and hostess. Lovely home and our room was great. Very clean and breakfast was great ... They are in walking distance of Town Centre. We felt at home and very comfortable. When we left, we knew that we would be back. It was the way they made us feel. Not just paying guests in their home, but we would be coming back to see friends.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rossarney House is about a ten minute walk from the quaint main street of Killarney, and is just a footpath away from bike trails in a big park that connects the major sites for the area - lakes, castle, golf, ruins, mountains, everything you came here for.

Triona and Willie have been in the B&B business for years, and clearly enjoy it and meeting people. Their funny and generous personalities are what makes this stop memorable. The house is spotlessly clean, dated like you'd expect in a couple with grown children. We had a cheery enthusiastic greeting from Triona, who mother-henned us in our daily trip planning. It could be too much for anyone who likes to just go their own way without interference, and it can be hard to get a word in during the travel advice, but all in all we and other guests just chuckled, because she is so sincere and good-intentioned about wanting the best for you. It was almost too much. One of the guests did something other than her suggested itinerary, and we all decided we dare not tell her or we'd be in trouble! We gladly took in the benefits of her extensive knowledge of the area. She's truly like a travel guide - tell her what you want, and she instantly produces an itinerary for you along with important details like "ignore the no cars sign - it's legal to go there." When we returned in the evening, she was glad to hear how it went, so she could incorporate that knowledge for her next guests. The window sill is full of cards and letters from past visitors thanking them for the stay. You get the feeling that you're friends - they both make a point to call every guest by name to keep them all straight.

I'm a tough grader on the 5-star scale, and I had trouble deciding if this was 4 or 5. I save 5s for something extraordinary. I enjoyed the warm genuine hospitality here, good beds, breakfast, location. A shared TV in the living room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattersheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoy Killarney, the national park, all the great nature, the coast line and all this but what really makes our trip so special and so relaxing while exploring new things is Rossarney House. Triona and Willie are perfect hosts, so welcoming, friendly, helpful - they go out of their way to make your stay the perfect stay.The house itself has a nice and welcoming atmosphere. Rooms are perfectly clean and nicely decorated, the lounge is very cosy, you can have free tea, coffee, biscuits and TV if you like or just relax with a good book. Breakfast is outstanding, everything is prepared freshly and you have a big variety to choose from. Triona and Willie are such nice people, they can give good recommendations for places to see, they help you to arrange for the necessary, and do everything to make sure you enjoy your stay. This is a great house to relax and feel almost like home. When we come to Killarney next time for sure we will stay at no other place and I am sure you will love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rossarney Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossarney Town House

Address: St. Margaret's Rd, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a relaxing stay at this cosy Bed and Breakfast with Triona and William. It's an 8 minute walk to town with central access to various points in Kerry. It's a quiet house with only 4 rooms and a lounge to relax with a book or just enjoy a chat. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available in the dining room where you can help yourself and make yourself at home. We like to keep it simple and peaceful at Rossarney House so if you enjoy sight seeing and relaxing in the evening this is the house for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossarney Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rossarney Town House to your Saves list