We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross Drive House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muckross Drive House B&B
Save
You added Muckross Drive House B&B to your Saves list
6 Muckross Drive, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great spot, great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We cycled into the Muckross on the last day of our cycle trip through Kerry; they have a nice shed in the back for bikes. It is a short two block walk into the centre of Killarney. The breakfast room is nicely set for tea during the day, and we had a nice visit with a local elderly dog while relaxing in it during the evening :). Or room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was stupendous, as our hosts offered up some pancakes to break up our long string of Irish breakfasts of the past week. Wonderful spot, and wonderful hosts, great for the budget, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
macclesfield, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

I found this guesthouse from the internet, but booked directly.
Bridie was very pleasant upon our arrival after our climb up Carrantuohill. The rooms were very spacious, very clean and all with en suite. Each of our rooms had a double and a single bed, and the breakfast was very nice.
The location was about 5 minutes walk from the delightful town of Killaney, which is very nice indeed.
Overall, a very nice base to explore the spectacular surrounding area. Great.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose,Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

Had large bedroom that was very clean. The bed even had a seperate sheet between the comforter and the mattress sheet.Less than 10 minutes walk to town.Very quiet location but hard to find .
Bridie very helpful, fixed us pancakes for breakfast and spent time helping us plan our tour of Dingle and Muckcross house. Spent 2 nights at this B&B
The picture posted doesn't do justice, its nicer than the picture looks.

  • Liked — inn keeper
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

Clean and comfortable property, in a quiet alcove off the busy streets of Killarney. Stayed here a night on a driving tour around Ireland. Ample parking.

Decor rather busy to my taste, but that's not the reason one books into a B&B! We had the first floor room which had a lovely view of the hills in the distance.

Good base to do the very scenic Ring of Kerry drive tour. And just a short walk away from numerous Irish pubs, many with live music. Really enjoyed the town and the stay here.

The proprietress was very friendly and helpful. As this was nearly a week into the tour, we didn't really fancy more bacon/sausage and eggs, and she very kindly obliged with alternatives - we asked for porridge, but I think you could probably ask for something else. Worth a stay.

  • Liked — Close to town, yet in a quiet neighbourhood
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muckross Drive House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Drive House B&B

Address: 6 Muckross Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muckross Drive House is perfectly located for Killarney town, just 3 minute’s walk from the centre. The house also enjoys peace and quiet as it is situated in a cul-de-sac off the Muckross Rd, so a peaceful night is assured. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross Drive House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.