We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth going !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spa at Aghadoe Heights

The Spa at Aghadoe Heights
Lakes of Killarney, Killarney 6507, Ireland
353 64 31766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 65 Activities in Killarney
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth going !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel is fantastic. We went for only 2 days with my husband, but enjoyed so much!!

Excellent:
1) room - was done with taste and luxury. We had lake view room with huge windows looking on lake and mountains is an unforgettable experience.
- great service in the room, beautiful bathroom with bath and shower seperately, heated (doesnt steem (!))
2) hospitality - we went to a reception to ask for attractions around the area and the staff was friendly and helpful, they gave us
3) Breakfast - freshly squeezed juices, different types cheese, chocolate honey etc. Menu for choice, and service to the table. And all with the view of lake& mountains through huge windows.
4) Ladies restroom in a hotel - little touches like little towels instead of hand dryer, lysterine and litte cups, hair spray, deodrant...
5) In the evening we could rent a dvd player and film. Nice touch again.

To be changed:
1) dress code - smart casual. No t-shirt allowed. We only knew about it when we got keys to the room. Totaly unprepaired, we felt like scums a bit.
2) Prices in the bar. Cup of tea for 2person- 10 euro???? Thats a joke... or maybe the tea is made of gold???
2a - no kettle and tea/coffee in the room :-/
3) Duvet. It wasn't a duvet even but a blanket wraped in sheets wich unwraps and you find out covered only with a sheet at night..Annoying.

We had terrible weather and everything was fogged up. Ring of Kerry impossible to admire, we didnt have that much to do. But inspite of that we enjoyed our stay and really luxurious and beautiful Aghadoe Hights.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Truly Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a truly magnificent time at the Spa. Staff were so professional and charming. From start to finish it was wonderful. So relaxing and peaceful. Great way to spend a heavenly break away from the busy world! First class

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible spa day :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Myself and boyfriend went for Spa day over weekend and what an experience :). From start to finish we were given 5 star treatment. We were warmly greeted on arrival and given a gorgeous berry smoothie whilst we filled out our consultation forms. Our package inlcluded aromatherapy treatments, Aveda facial and massage, light refreshments and Afternoon Tea in The Heights Lounge.

My therapist was very nice and I had a relaxing facial and massage. Afterwards we were given herbal tea and fruit kebabs and relaxed on the loungers whilst listening to calming music on our ipods. Afternoon Tea was delicious and the views were spectacular of the Lakes and the Old ruins of Aghadoe church and graveyard. We had a fantastic day and will definitely return :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Spa Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The spa offers real peace and tranquillity! The staff are total pros and took care of us with much aplomb.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thermal Suite and Rebalancing Package!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My intuition was that The Spa at Aghadoe Heights would provide me with much needed R&R on two afternoons during my stay in Killarney. Both the spa facilities, particularly the wonderful thermal suite, and Rita Bonn, Therapist of the Year in Ireland, far exceeded my expectations. You can feel the positive energy in her hands as Rita revitalizes tense muscles, and her demeanor is professional and friendly, eager to afford you the most positive experience which she can provide during your luxurious stay.

You are provided a warm welcome as you transition to the spa's quiet reception enclave. The locker room is efficiently designed to provide a locker, shower and changing area, complete with Aveda amenities and hair styling accoutrements to use after your treatment.

The thermal suite is composed of three separate heat rooms and cold shower combinations, with selections of aroma therapy in some of the shower areas. A pitcher of water with fruit enables you to rehydrate in between each segment. If you forget your bathing suit, you can utilize a huge towel, although the suite is technically coed. At the conclusion of your experience, there are unique chaises on which to soak in the Killarney Lake countryside alongside a water fountain. All in all a great way to transition to the spa ambiance before you are called for your individual treatment.

The rebalancing package continued with the precious stone room meditation, wher your relaxation is at times guided by imagery over the sound system. The next phase is conducted in a treatment room with your spa therapist, with a hot stone massage and reflexology, which treat tight muscles and your internal organs respectively. Rita customizes these treatments for you, and I really enjoyed our conversation, which demonstrated Rita's sincere interest in holistic ways and commitment to utilizing her tremendous gifts to improve her clients' well being. A gem of a therapist!

The relaxation room included music selections with earbuds, along with a selection of teas and fruit kebabs. I didn't want to leave, as it was truly such a wonderful haven. I returned the next afternoon for a pedicure, which included another relaxation room experience. A selection of OPI polishes, coupled with a reclining spa bed soaking tub, provided a most relaxing pedicure by Brid, a very skilled nail artisan.

No matter where you are staying in Killarney, be certain to make an appointment at the spa! It's truly world class.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spa at Aghadoe Heights also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Spa at Aghadoe Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spa at Aghadoe Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.