We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B was much better than a lot of the hotels that we stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applecroft House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applecroft House
Save
You added Applecroft House to your Saves list
Woodlawn Rd, Killarney 32782, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
1 review
“This B&B was much better than a lot of the hotels that we stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

My husband and I were traveling with CIE tours in Ireland and we were lucky to be part of the small group that was chosen to stay at Applecroft House for 2 nights. First of all, it was tucked away from the main road. The scenery was fabulous with it's wooded area that secluded us from the busy main road. They had two horses, a donkey, a pig, chickens, and two adorable and friendly small dogs. They had several rooms, each of which had it's own key to get into. Our room was fairly spacious with a private bathroom which had a shower. Kathy, our host, was wonderful. She was very nice and is an amazing cook. She gave us a list of things we could choose for breakfast and all of the eggs came from her chickens. She also made us an assortment of things for supper one of the nights. I honestly think that the meals we had at Applecroft House were the best meals that we had in all of Ireland. The location was great too. It was within walking distance from downtown Killarny, if you wanted to have a night on the town. All in all, the atmosphere was great and the hospitality was unbeatable! Will definately stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Kathy was great, the food was hot and well prepared, and her home is very clean. I wish I could have met her pet pig but it was raining and the pig was smart! He didn't want to come out in the rain. It was quite cold in the rooms but when we asked Kathy to turn up the heat, she did. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Kathy was very friendly and hospitable! She asked such things upon our arrival such as were we alergic to anything or if we needed anything special. This was not done in any other inns we stayed at. The food was delicious and there was a variety of breakfast choices. The inn was beautifully decorated, the beds comfortable, and very quiet. My husband and I were traveling with our young adult son and daughter who wanted to "enjoy" the nighlife and she had great suggestions where to go and the taxis would know where to bring them back. They had a great time and so did we.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, Va.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Absolutely wonderful assistance from the daughters on all of our needs. They not only assisted with recommendations on local pubs and restaurants but drew us a map to help our navigation. Also, because we planned to leave earlier than their usual breakfast times, they provided us with a variety of simple breakfast items (scones, fruit, yogurt, bread, cereal). Very friendly, clean and accomodating. We will surely return to this B&B. The Bickers and O'Learys of Charlottesville, Virginia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed at several hotels and other B&B's. Applecroft was the very finest of all facilities that we stayed at.

Kathy, the hostess, was especially nice. The food was outstanding. Much more than a typical Irish Breakfast. Lots of choices. We also had dinner while we stayed with her and it was very, very nice.

We highly recommend this facility if you are visiting the Killarney, Ireland area.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

My adult daughter and I were part of a CIE Welcome tour in June 2009 and were assigned to stay at the Applecroft Bed & Breakfast. The accommodations were beyond our expectations. The home and surrounding yard were beautiful, the home's furnishings exceptionally clean and comfortable, the dining room extremely inviting and the food exceptional. The owner made us feel very welcome, she was very attentive and accommodating . This was our first ever stay at a B&B and it will be an experience that will be hard to beat anywhere. Hats off to this establishment!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Kathy and Emma were great hostesses and excellent cooks. Our visit included a welcome snack, two breakfasts and one dinner. The food was as good as a gourmet restaurant. The suites were spacious, clean, and comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applecroft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecroft House

Address: Woodlawn Rd, Killarney 32782, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applecroft House bed & breakfast! Our family run business is situated 15mins walk from Killarney town centre, at the top of a laneway off Woodlawn Road, so our guests can enjoy some well deserved peace and quiet. The house is surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and our field to the back is home to the horses and free range chickens. We are very proud of our fresh eggs and homebaking so expect a yummy breakfast! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applecroft House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.