We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance to town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathmore House

Rathmore House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rathmore House
Save
You added Rathmore House to your Saves list
Rock Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“walking distance to town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Mary and Pat were great and so was their home. Pat gave us great directions to places to eat and the Dingle Peninsula. Our daughters had their own room and felt very safe. We spent two nights here and would loved to have stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mills River, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

This is a great destination, next to a national park with great scenery and outdoor activities. A fun little city with lots of pubs with traditional music, plus clubs with other music. For health food folks, there's a little juice bar tucked into an alley that was great. Some shops stay open late. Take a tour of Muckross House. We stayed at Rathmore House B&B - it was a very convenient walk of a couple blocks into the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

Prior to my trip to Ireland I booked a room at the Rathmore House. I saw the ad on the internet and thought it looked like a nice place to stay. We arrived at the Rathmore House and I was in shock. The Ad didn't even come close to showing the beauty of this B & B. The view was beyond description. The hosts were wonderful as were the rooms.The rooms were very large and extremely clean. We only stayed one day but be made the most of it. We stayed and enjoyed the view until the last minute before check out. If I had known how lovely this home was I would have booked several more days. This B &B was truly a highlight of our trip. If you are lucky enough to get a reservation at this beautiful home ask for one of room in the front looking out at the bay.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

Thanks to "Lonely Planet" travel guide we found this gem of a B&B when we entered Killarney on 7th June 2006. Arriving at Rathmore House, we soon found out that the "Lonely Planet" report kept its promise: we enjoyed a very friendly welcome by a nice, helpful and real Irish couple: Pat & Mary! Their rooms, double and single, are very comfortable, outstandingly clean and very spacious. Each room is decorated individually and very beautiful - a very warm and cosy atmosphere indeed! We also loved the little "tearoom" next to the hall - a good place for socialising and making plans for the next day! Right after dropping our luggage we were provided by Pat with a detailed insight in Killarney´s town life and attractions around. Each morning our Irish hosts served a delicious and rich breakfast, each time according to our special needs - I loved the tasty eggs from the farm most! Strolling into town does not take very long as Rathmore House is located close to the centre -but don´t worry, it is still a quiet place to stay! All in all, we really enjoyed our four-night stay very much :-)

  • Liked — rooms and hosts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, BC Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

We felt immediately at home with our hosts, Pat and Mary. Nowhere did we find anyone more welcoming, warm and helpful. The location of the Rathmore House was not only just a 5 minute walk from Killarney but was also great for our week of exploring and golfing the Southwest (good parking for our car). Our room was comfortable and our shower excellent by Irish standards....continuous warm water!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at Rathmore House, it was so convenient for everything,they were so friendly and obliging, we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

My wife and I just came back from Ireland where we stayed 3 nights in the Rathmore House B&B in Killarney.

In the past we both lived in Killarney and found that the place and people were brilliant. So now every chance we have we head to Killarney for holidays.

On this occasion we went to Rathmore House B&B, which has a fantastic location and the rooms are spacious, though a little bit dusty, but for 35 euros per person per night we though it was a good deal. Our first impression of the couple running the house, Pat and Mary, was very good as they were warm and friendly, but to our surprise, the last day, when we were leaving and were in a rush, something suspicious happened: They didn’t accept any card payment as the machine to process the payment was broken and had been for a week or so (I work in retail and know that faulty machines are always replaced the next day!) He suggested us to go to town to get money from the cash point. This situation caused us a big inconvenience mainly, because Pat waited until the last minute to inform us about the machine.
After expressing our distress we were shocked to hear a different reason from him, and this was that he had to pay a high commission to the Bank for accepting cards. We didn’t find this very fair as when we originally booked the room he told us that they accepted card payment. Naturally we would have to pay extra charges to remove more cash from the bank cash point. This situation was very distressing for us as we suspected that he had lied about the machine being broken, so we refused to pay the full amount by cash (10euro discount), and from there more lies started to come up: if we booked a single room instead of double, etc…but they hadn’t realised that we had all the emails with the booking details printed, and anyway if they allowed us to stay in a single room how could we be charged for a double one??? The situation was very uncomfortable.

Anyway, we will be returning to Ireland because we believe not everybody is like this couple, but would like to say that it is a pity that these two people get away misleading and deceiving tourists, as that is one of the main income sources of the country and should be well look after.

We have to say despite of this black spot we enjoyed Killarney and its people as usual.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rathmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmore House

Address: Rock Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathmore House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.