We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under new management, working out a few kinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn House Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woodlawn House Killarney to your Saves list
Woodlawn House Killarney
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Under new management, working out a few kinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very conveniently located. Within walking distance of the town center but not so close that the nightlife will keep you awake all night. The B&B is under new management and the management lacks. Starting with the fact that we were in a room for three people and towels were only provided for two, as a previous reviewer mentions, there are only tiny bottles of a combined body wash/shampoo. We were allotted just three, so if we wanted to shower twice, as in before breakfast then after hiking, we'd have to ask for more. Hand-soap was also in a non-descript plastic dispenser, no real fragrance or any nicety. The beds were a bit uncomfortable but it wasn't the worst we've had and the simple room was clean. It had some nice touches like a standing mirror and a wardrobe.

Breakfast was simple, but the service really needs sorting out. With an open two hour window, diners can come at any time but are often challenged with incomplete place settings, tables that haven't yet been picked up. The diner initially helps himself to fruit, fruit juice, cereal, yogurt and can slice some fresh baked bread. You have to wait to ask for coffee and then wait to order a hot breakfast. In removing bowls for fruit, forks were also often removed and not replaced when the hot breakfast arrived, leaving the diner to scrounge from other place settings, lending insight into incomplete place settings upon your arrival. As a gluten free diner, it was obvious that the well-intended management had done little research into celiac disease, even though it was mentioned on the reservation made months ago. They had minimal insight into contamination issues and thought naively that they could serve gluten free bread on the same cutting board as gluten-containing bread. Still not clear whether they observed good gluten-free precautions in hot food preparation because I did feel ill during my stay in Killarney and had to pass on several outings the rest of the family took, and I skipped several meals. For diners with a regular diet, the place is just fine food-wise. The service just needs polish, better attention to detail, and better training. Given the size of this B&B, everyone would be better served by scheduling set breakfasts, say at 8 am, 9 am and so on, as many other successful B&Bs do in order to allow adequate time to prepare for their guests.

All of the foregoing is just due to lack of experience, and likely the high startup costs of mounting a new bed and breakfast. The new managers are very young and really tried to be engaging, informative and accommodating.

The building itself also seems to be having some issues, as our upper level room had a strong septic line odor that forced us to keep the bathroom closed as much as possible. We didn't hear anyone else mention problems so it may have been just a bad line in our bathroom.

The wifi in the hotel is rather sketchy, especially upstairs, WL1. It was frequently unavailable. The access was better downstairs. Common rooms were nice and comfortable, so working from them to gain better Internet access wasn't a big issue.

Room Tip: Based on our experience, I'd say avoid the triple room, until they've sourced the septic odo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    60
    28
    3
    0
See reviews for
91
178
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobram, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed and this charming B & B for two nights and could not fault the experience.From the moment we got inside we felt comfortable and welcome.Woodlawn house is a lovely old building and it's in a perfect location.You can comfortably walk into the town which is ideal and Wayne is only to happy to help you plan your days in the beautiful Killarney region.His advice led us to a sensational restaurant in the middle of town.The breakfasts are a treat and will set you up nicely for the busy day ahead.Our room was generous in size and looked out the front of the house.It offered a lovely view to the mountains.
Overall my wife and I can not find any fault with this B & B.Wayne is a charming host and his home baked bread is a taste sensation.do yourself a favor and come stay at Woodlawn House !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our experience at the Woodlawn House B&B was fantastic. The owner Wayne and his brother Allen made our stay very enjoyable, despite the fact that Wayne and his wife had a new baby just one day before our stay there, so I know they were busy! The food was great in the morning, and the service was excellent. The rooms were spacious, with plenty of space to hang clothes, etc. The walk to town is quick, maybe 5-6 minutes. We will definitely stay there again on a future trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wayne, the owner, greeted us and gave recommendations about restaurants and places to visit. He could not have been more helpful. The hotel is large and spacious and 30 seconds from the road that is the Ring of Kerry and less than 10 minutes walk into the centre of town. Our room was at the front facing towards the mountains. There was traffic noise during the day but we were not disturbed at night despite the fact that all the windows were open as it was 27 degrees on the day we arrived. The room is very smart and clean, the shower very powerful and towels plus flannels were provided. The breakfast service is slick and professional with Wayne, and the others serving, doing so efficiently and cheerfully. Breakfast can be as big and filling as you want and there is even homemade soda bread fresh out of the oven. This is a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: I think rooms at the front because, although there is some traffic noise, the view to the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel made our trip much more relaxing, cozy and memorable! The first thing in the hotel Wayne greeted us and told us an array of places to go, things to see and recommended several restaurants, a big big help for first timers! We went to most the places he recommended and were very happy with them! This is the perfect trip for a family. We went for a family of 4 and it made our trip very pleasant to be led toward the best parts of Killarney. Very nicely decorated and terrific full Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Right in town, literally an easy 10 minute walk into town. Very plain, like it was built for a guest house vs a typical B & B. It was functional and owner Wayne very friendly. It just wasn't as homey a place as others we've stayed at this trip.

Rooms do not hold any noise, you can hear people in the hall from room 106. Bed very soft, as are pillows. One of the worst night's sleep I've had. Slept on floor for a while to try getting some sleep. While there is plenty of room, it's not laid out very well, and there weren't many places to put luggage without unpacking and using the closet, which for 1 night was a waste of time.

In place of bars of soap, they have small 3 ounce containers that they refill and you squeeze for bath gel or hand soap. I don't mind saving the environment, but these small bottles made it appear cheap. Even those pump containers would make a better impression.

Breakfast started at 8:00 and was an excellent assortment of cold cereal, yogurt, juices, etc. A hot entree of whatever you wanted, was served as you ordered. All the food was delicious.

How do you rate this overall? It's surely not a 5 with the terrible bed, but does a horrible night's sleep make it a 1? I opted for an overall of 3 since the breakfast was good, the room was spacious and Wayne was helpful. I doubt I would stay here again traveling through the area with the whole street being made of up B & B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had only one night here, but as we arrived at5 pm and it was cold and drizzly, Wayen the young host brought us a cup of tea and biscuit into the spacious lounge room which is available at all times for guests. The house was so cosy and warm. After helping us with things to do and go to, and taking time to chat, we were shown our room which was spacious, brand new bed, lovely fresh white linen, it all felt right. It is a lovely old house purpose built a B+B, one flight of stairs, very spacious dining room. Wayne even encouraged us to bring a drink back if we wanted and sit in the lounge room in the comfy sofas. Here is a young man trying to make his mark in business, his first baby is due in 2 weeks. Nothing is too much trouble for him to do. Breakfast was plentiful , he makes his own brown bread each day. Outstanding attitude. We would highly recommend staying here. Location is fantastic, so quiet nod yet so close to walk to town.

Room Tip: Location was fantastic, very quiet off the main road but easy walk to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Woodlawn House Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn House Killarney

Address: Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlawn House Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management from March 2014. A 14 bedroom guesthouse in Killarney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlawn House Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlawn House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlawn House Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.