We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn House Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlawn House Killarney to your Saves list
Woodlawn House Killarney
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Faultless service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Woodlawn house and from the initial welcome, Wayne was fantastic. Giving us advice on good places to eat, drink and listen to some music. Also a few tips on driving the Ring of Kerry which meant we enjoyed it that much more.

The room was massive and had plenty of room to spread out! The rooms were clean and tidy and the newly installed bed was perfect, we slept like logs! The breakfast was one of the best we had in Ireland and Wayne's freshly homemade brown bread was just devine. The whole building is really nice and a very homely feel.

The location is great and so very close to the centre of town but just off the main drag just enough to be peaceful and quiet. A short walk lands you right on the doorstep of the pubs and restaurants. The 5 minute walk back (or 10 minute stumble) is quite good to do after dinner or a few pints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    58
    28
    3
    0
See reviews for
89
172
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

five minutes walk from the busy Killarney town centre, close to the racecourse and National Park/Ross Castle and lake. We stayed for 3 nights over Easter weekend. Wayne and Cara are very warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, they're great hosts, professional and unobtrusive. Rooms nicely furnished,clean and spacious with en-suite bathroom/shower, coffee and tea making facility and a hairdryer, extra blankets/pillows and ample clothes storage. The guest lounge is really comfortable, plenty of board games and a TV. The entrance hall has a great selection of tourist info and Wayne has oodles of local knowledge and advice to make the most of your time. Breakfast was a treat, there's plenty enough to eat, the service is friendly, lovely full Irish breakfast cooked to order and a central table with cereals, bread, fruit, yogurt etc. Good parking facility on-site, well maintained property and great value - highly recommend this little gem! Will certainly return on next visit to Kerry/Killarney. Wish all of them the very best for the future :)

Room Tip: Either book direct or booking.com - not through hotels/expedia.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from a great weekend in Killarney, we stayed in the Woodlawn House, we arrived on Friday and met Wayne. Wayne and his wife have just taken over the running of the guesthouse, His mother in law was the previous owner. We really enjoyed our stay, Wayne and his staff were so helpful and friendly, the rooms were lovely , spotlessly clean, we had a great mountain view from ours. The breakfast was really good, plenty of everything, Wayne makes his own brown bread, while we were there he had made a new variety and was very eager to hear our opinion, we were no help both were gorgeous, so our tip is, make both !!!!!
We would really recommend staying in Woodlawn House, it is a five minute walk into the town, and a fifteen minute walk to the National Park. You will be looked after really well and they will give you any information on thing to do and see in Killarney. \
Thanks for a great stay, best of luck in you new venture, but we know you will do well, and the best of luck to you and your wife for the new arrival due in two months. We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was to the front of the house, and we had a great view of the mountains, the road outside i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Delightful! The house was beautiful yet relaxed and welcoming. Wayne and Seavon were very helpful; picking us up, recommending things to do and see and even getting me a better price on my next stay. The food was excellent - the best of all the places we stayed. In fact, for the month we were touring Ireland, this was far and away our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed on 11th March. greeted by Wayne who showed us to our beautiful rooms. Only 5 mins walk into Killarney town. Siobhan was also lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was fabulous in the stunning dining room. Excellent value for money. We hope to come back. Only slight criticism is poor wi-fi but understand this is being addressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our room was very comfortable and the location was awesome. Just a short walk from town. The owner printed out directions for me and personally directed me where I was going.. Great place!! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is my first visit to Ireland, so I wasn't sure what to expect. The Woodlawn House was more than a pleasant surprise. Killarney was my first stop, so I was exhausted from traveling from the states. The owners treat you like family and make sure you feel as comfortable as possible. They have traditional Irish breakfasts every morning, which are to die for. The owner is young enough to know where to go out and where all the spots are, but also is very knowledgeable about outdoor and sight seeing places. They were a big help in finding stuff to do and tips in the area. Perfect stay all in all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlawn House Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn House Killarney

Address: Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlawn House Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management from March 2014. A 14 bedroom guesthouse in Killarney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodlawn House Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlawn House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlawn House Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.