We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B-highly recommend it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn House Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woodlawn House Killarney to your Saves list
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bethesda, MD, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B-highly recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Good staff, great location- wonderful breakfast- a great stay overall. Very happy with it - couldn't have asked for more! Everyone was very helpful. We met other guests and made friends and ended up doing things in Waterford and Dublin with them.
Very well run, with beautiful rooms and furniture and location, so close to the town center. The kids loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    60
    28
    3
    0
See reviews for
91
177
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We visiting Killarney this past August and we are so glad we chose Woodlawn house for our two night stay. We recieved a warm welcome (thanks Sinead) upon our arrival before setting out on the Ring of Kerry tour, which we had coordinated with Woodlawn house. Our room was very clean and tidy and we felt right at home. Ciara was so helpful in answering all of our questions, helped us with booking our train and also recommended riding bikes (which we rented from her) through the National Park (which turned out to be our favorite day!). We wish we lived closer so that we can go and stay again! Woodlawn house is conveniently located to the main part of town, takes only about 7 min. in a cab and is a short bike ride away. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty, came out piping hot and we enjoyed the best scrambles eggs we've ever had!! :) Our stay at Woodlawn was very special to us and it had everything to do with the service we recieved. Thanks Ciara! Julie & Matt from San Diego and Long Beach, CA.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a King bed, it was plenty spacious and very comfortable! The best sleep we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugrin, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very pleasant B&B, probably one of the best in where we stayed during our Ireland journey. Very kindful welcome, quiet and lovely room. Very tasty breakfast (continental or traditionnal). Perfect stay !

Room Tip: We had a room with a bow window in front of the house ! Perfect view to sit and have a relaxing mome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights there were 8 of us in our party and we had a total of 3 rooms. Location is great, close to town and still quiet. We were in the family suite with 5 of us in one room, one double and 3 twins, plenty of room for everyone. The beds were very comfortable. The furnishings are dated but that didn't bother me, it was spotless. There were 2 chairs and a coffee table and a fireplace, nice touch. Downside, TV had 3 channels, I found this odd. Breakfast was the best I had over my entire trip, they would make anything and it was fast and piping hot. The staff was always friendly and ready to answer any questions. We were taveling with our parents, so although close to town it is uphill so this may be something to consider if you have any mobility issues. Also we were on the 3rd floor as was my mother, not an issue for us, but if we were here longer it may have been for my mother. I thought the price was great for what we received and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Absolutely fantastic accomodation and at a fantastic price. Stayed here while on our trip to Killarney. Staff were amazing and were so helpful with everything such as directions, things to see and do, places to eat and drink etc. They made us feel welcome and at home from the moment we walked through the door. The room was like something you would find in a four star hotel and at a fraction of the price. The breakfast in the morning was exceptional and even catered for the pickiest of eaters. Throughout my stay I felt completely at home and being a family run business it felt a lot more personal and warming that a hotel. It is ideally located just a few minutes walk from Killarney Town Centre. I would not stay in any other hotel in Killarney having stayed at Woodlawn House and I will definately be staying here again. Highly Recommended. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night following a full day on the hills with a friend.

Good:
The location is ok, its only around the corner from the main road that brings you to either the town or sight seeing hot spots.
Staff were very friendly but we did engage much with them as we know the area and only wanted to rest up.
The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable.

Bad:
The room seemed a bit dated but nothing to cry over.
Parking is limited but I arrived back at different times throughout the day and never had a problem.


Ugly:
Some of the rooms are located at the back of the house which requires going up about 3 sets of stairs and down halls etc.


Overall: I would return as it was a great place to rest up. It was clean, comfortable and was good value for money.

Room Tip: A room close to the main reception as the rooms in the back require fitness and no bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

my husband and i only stayed one night but we really enjoyed our stay. we were met by a lovely friendly lady when we signed in. our room was beautiful and spotless clean. it was so peaceful there at night so we had a wonderful night sleep. it about a 10 min walk from town centre. there was a lovely menu for breakfast which we never see before in bed and breakfast and a table where we could pick our own cereal and juices and there was a lovely selection of bread and scones to choose from. staff were very friendly and service was very quick. i would recomend this place to any one looking for a quiet place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlawn House Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn House Killarney

Address: Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management from March 2014. A 14 bedroom guesthouse in Killarney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlawn House Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlawn House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlawn House Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.