We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sara F” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolclogher House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolclogher House
Save
You added Coolclogher House to your Saves list
Coolclogher, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sara F”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our landlady, Mary, was warm and friendly and made us feel most welcome. Her suggestions of a guide and local restaurants were excellent. We had a very comfortable stay, with lashings of hot water. We had breakfast at a table in the bay window, looking across the parkland, with a roaring fire in the grate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I could sit and write a novel about our week long stay at Coolclogher House. The pages would number in the many hundreds and be filled with words like "exquisite", "breathtaking" and "surreal".

My wife and I were so fortunate to have our wedding at Coolclogher House this past September. Our immediate family and some friends joined us in what was the most amazing week of our lives.

Leading up to our vacation Mary, the matriarch of the property, and I had many detailed email exchanges. She informed me that I shouldn't worry about anything at all and that she'd have everything in order by the time our family had arrived. She's wasn't kidding. Every detail had been buttoned up from fireplaces being staged some peat heat to the bottle of Jameson's waiting eagerly on the kitchen table (as requested).

Mary masterfully runs the home, crossing all t's and dotting all i's, as her husband Morris tends to the extensive grounds. Together with the help of Lisa and their daughter Katie, the entire property seems to take on a life of it's own. It truly is a world class experience.

Then there is the property itself. Again, in lieu of drafting a novel, there are so many words that could be configured in brilliant assembly that would never do the place justice. It's just that good.

The home, each bedroom, the kitchen, the reading room, the dining room, the great hall, each fireplace, the old stable houses, the backyard, the backyard's backyard, each so unique and offering a place to create memories and realize dreams.

These people and this property have allowed my family, my wife and I to create irreplaceable memories that will be with us forever. We are truly grateful to Coolclogher House and we plan on visiting many times again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my husband John needed break and my son booked us in to this beautiful house as a get away.... It took us to another place and time.... We loved every minute .....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We consider our stay at Coolclogher to be one of the most special experiences of our pretty extensive travel life. Completely elegant yet completely relaxing. We have never stayed in a more beautiful house, or in more beautiful surroundings. Upon arriving, we immediately wished we could stay longer, as it was clear we would be wanting not only to see the local sights, but also to spend several days just around the house, enjoying each room and every conceivable view. Spring is a fantastic time of year to visit.
AND, it's literally a 25-minute walk to downtown Killarney, with its shopping, pubs, music and sights. Also, our several bike rides on the trails through Killarney National Park were the most gorgeous we've done. You can also bike from downtown to Muckross House and Lake, and the 12th Century Ross Castle. There is a good reason this is considered the most beautiful part of Ireland.
The owners are sweet and generous people who now feel like friends, and can arrange day tours to the Ring of Kerry, Great Blaskett Islands, the Gap of Dunloe, and other fabulous destinations, and the bus will come right to the house to pick you up and drop you off. Believe me, the other passengers will be impressed with you when they see where you're staying! A picture of the house is now my wife's screensaver!
In sum, a place to dream about long after you've left, and to dream about returning to.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our group included four families with six children and a nanny. The bedroom were most comfortable an the living area quite spacious. The fifteen of us ate in 3 nights with plenty of room. If you ask her, Mary will give you ideas to keep you busy. The huge property allows the children to run until they can no more. Hint: have Claude prepare some Irish stew for your first night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

My extended family of 11 just returned from an incredible experience at Coolclogher House in Killarny, IRE. Mary and her family welcomed us like old friends and we enjoyed every bit of our stay there. We highly recommend the eggs from the hens on the property, which my daughter got to hunt for and clean a few times while we were there. Also, Mary can recommend an outstanding Irish chef who will come to the house to cook a gourmet meal you won't ever forget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Approaching the wonderful restored house in an enchanted garden. Not to mention the tree in the house, two hundred years of age!

A very warm welcome, started with a tea in Mary’s kitchen. We stayed in the royal atmosphere of two spacious rooms facing the wonderful garden; in the distance we could see the highest mountains of Ireland. Our two little kids adopted Mary as a second granny; Maurice let them feed the chicken and the racing horses on the ground. We definitely will come back and recommend it to all our friends.

That’s how we always remember beautiful Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolclogher House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolclogher House

Address: Coolclogher, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coolclogher House is a striking, historic house situated on a secluded 68-acre walled estate on the outskirts of Killarney. It has been lovingly restored by Mary and Maurice Harnett. The house has spacious reception rooms and large, Large bedrooms all with own bathrooms with amazing views over the gardens and fields to the spectacular mountains of the Killarney National Park. The conservatory houses a huge 200 year-old camellia tree that is covered with beautiful pink flowers each spring. It is right on the Ring of Kerry, Ross Castle and Muckross House are within walking distance while the Gap of Dunloe, Dingle, Blarney Castle/Blarney stone, Cliffs of Mohar are ideal for day trips within easy reach. Irish Tourist Board approved under Historic Houses. The House is ideal for long stays or groups celebrating a special occasion. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolclogher House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.