We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating, friendly ,professional staff and will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairview to your Saves list
The Fairview
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Very accomodating, friendly ,professional staff and will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

First impressions were excellent , very clean , warm , welcoming entrance , owner was friendly and engaging. Offered upgrade on arrival . Room was spacious and good generous bathroom . I expect could be a bit noisy during peak season as very close to main road but we were lucky that things were quiet in town that night. Excellent breakfast - best Irish breakfast we have had in a long time and lovely relaxing dining room - intimate. Overall very enjoyable stay , great value for money and whenever in Killarney again it will be our no 1 choice to stay. Thanks Bart for letting us check in early to get ready for the wedding.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    227
    49
    38
    39
See reviews for
213
537
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed in the fairview Guesthouse in September this year with my husband for our 3rd wedding anniversary, we had stayed there previously on our honeymoon and just had to go back. The service is impeccable and on arrival we were offered the penthouse suite at a very reasonable price as it was unoccupied, we of course accepted and were not disappointed. The penthouse suite was amazing, luxurious yet comfortable with a 4 poster bed, seperate seating area, plasma screen tv, very large jacuzzi and shower, patio doors onto a balcony with beautiful views. The breakfast was very satisfying and being from ireland we of course had the irish breakfast. We could not fault it in anyway and this is why we returned and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hi, This place is a real find one of the nicest places I have stayed in. My self and my partner spent a really nice night there this weekend the hotel and rooms were spotless Staff friendly and was more than happy to reccomend places to eat and very friendly just two very small things 1. We arrived 20 mins early than when was agreed to check in on the phone at 3pm but was told to come back at 3:30 but was friendly and allowed us to store our bags. We went to a lovley little tea shop and was not really a problem. The only other thing was the bed it was a lovley big bed and quite comfortable but seemed to be 2 beds put togeather and one side was slightly higher than the other. These were only minor issues in what was a very nice stay and I would highly reccomend it and will to anyone who will listen. And breakfast was really really nice

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel is luxury, close to all amenities, staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Right in the middle of Killarney, everything within walking distance.
We had a nice room with jacuzzi, which was not very clean, but a pleasure anyhow.
The beds, especially the pillows, were really quite awful, not recommended for anyone with backache. If your back is fine, it might just start here.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and good.
Nice place to stay, but quite big. It misses the cosiness of most B&Bs in Killarney.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Arrived in Killarney with no reservation, saw The Fairview with it's well appointed black and gold painted sign, decided to check it out. Rooms were very nice, spacious, clean, beds were triple the size of other hotel beds we had previously stayed at. Bath was spotless and superb. Only issue was that someone vandalized our rental vehicle which was parked in front of the hotel in the handicapped space. I guess that will happen on a Sat night with pubs all around. Overall very nice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I found the Fairview Hotel when arriving in Killarney and ended up staying three nights at their lovely Guest House. It's centrally located within the town so it's convenient to walk to anywhere you might need to go. The rooms and everywhere around the hotel was spotless and the lobby had a lovely smell of fresh lillies that were in a vase at the reception desk.
The full breakfast was delicious, I even ordered something special off menu one morning, at the staff was happy to prepare it for me. The waitor remembered me each morning at breakfast and asked how my day was yesterday and what my plans were today.
All together I found this hotel charming with an exceptional staff who were eager to please and accommodate. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is searching for a comfortable, clean, and hospitable holiday in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.