We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, pity about the gent at the front desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairview to your Saves list
The Fairview
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
London
1 review
“Nice place, pity about the gent at the front desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Rooms top class.
Restaurant food excellent, but expensive.
Only downfall but a big one was the gentleman at the front desk who just seemed to want to grab your credit card and for you to go.
Would come back again and give the place top marks if that man could be fired!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    218
    46
    37
    37
See reviews for
204
508
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WALES u.k.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We were a late arrival and directed here by the Tourist Office. Lovely place to stay-we were quoted 45 Euros per person for a standard room but were talked into the Executive suite with jacuzzi for 50 Euros each. This also included the full Irish breakfast . The room was large with full tea and coffee making facilities and ice bucket. The bathroom with jacuzzi was a great experiece-it'll soon sort out any aches and pains. Location is fine -plenty of shops and pubs within a stone's throw. No parking but there is a public card park 2 minutes up the road wih low charges.
We did eat in the restaurant but their interpretation of a 4 course meal is not mine-the 4th course was tea or coffee !!! Still the food was fine.
I am mindful to say that Ireland is very expensive-we went last year and all B&Bs seemed to be 35 Euros a piece now everything is 45 Euros each and eating out is very expensive too.
Staff in the hotel were very pleasant and there was an abundance of tourist information-leaflets, brochures etc available.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We only stayed 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer. Beautiful hotel and beautiful room. Didn't have a view of any sort but the decor was lovely. It was quiet which was great for us. Also a fantastic location, right in the centre of town - close to everything. The dining room for breakfast was also lovely and the breakfast was more than adequate. Can't understand how anyone could complain about this place at all. We paid 80 euros per night for a family room which was a walk-in rate. Definitely good value at that price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

The place was very nice but as we did not feel welcome at all, we never got a friendly smile and felt we were being watch the entire time since we were under the age of 30!!!! The owner was specially rude he never smiled or asked us if we had enjoyed our stayed. The hotel is suitable for people over 40!! Parkind is NOT included!! Breakfast was burned!!! Pretty place but not worth it and DONT GET UP GRADE! JACUZZI NOT WORTH IT!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

My partner and I booked into this establishment for one night after a long early morning flight from Germany. All we were looking forward to was a nice shower and a cup of tea in a comfy room.
How dissapointed we were ! The room overlooked the roof of an annex and was bare in the extreme. There was a funny smell and the television didnt work and were greeted by a posse of blue flys .
I went downstairs to enquire as to loaning an extension power lead and the Maitre D offered me a fine selection of phone chargers obviously left behind by other guests.
She claimed not to know what an extension lead was, but also claimed that there were sockets beside the bed if needs be. There werent.
When I returned to the room my partner and I decided that the best course of action was to leave.
When we attempted to alight the establishment we were accosted by what can only be described as a hostile dragon who set about to condescend and verbally abuse my partner.
Basil Fawlty wouldnt get a look in !
To make matters worse she had the audacity to charge us despite our misgivings and her coarse behaviour.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in Ireland. The room was spotless and the staff was great. Room rate also included a great breakfast in the morning. James at the hotel even made sight seeing recommendations which were wonderful as well. Free parking was included as well about 100 meters from the hotel.

Ken
California

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The Fairview Guesthouse was recommended to us as having a boutique feel to the place and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in an Executive Room which cost €89 B&B, €10 more than a standard room. The room is very nicely decorated and had a jacuzzi bath. The whole guesthouse has a very modern feel and the decor is very tasteful. The location is also great being in the heart of the town. Overall, we had a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.