We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairview to your Saves list
The Fairview
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Romantic weekend away, arrived to be proposed the penthouse upgrade for a discount, was given a preview and gladly accepted. After entering the room, spent 20% of my vacation in the jacuzzi with built in TV. Service was phenomenal, room was amazing with four poster bed, couches, balcony, electric fire, beautiful decor. The Fairview is on a quiet corner, fifty steps from the center of town. Price was extremely reasonable in comparison to the prices I have paid in the past for three star hotels in the vicinity. Car parking available up the road two minutes away (you do have to pay/not expensive/except changing the tickets can be a hassle if you want a lie in) - Disregard or overlook this gem in the heart of killarney at your peril!

Room Tip: Penthouse, or suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi TravelIreland87

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.I am delighted
that you got to experience our most luxurious room the penthouse suite.You highlighted
every thing this room has to offer.It is ideal for a tranquil retreat as it is the only room on
the third floor.This is our most popular room.I hope that you will have the opportunity to
stay in the penthouse suite in the future.

Thanks again
Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    227
    49
    38
    39
See reviews for
213
537
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent two nights here to give us time to explore The Ring of Kerry before we headed north. The Fairview is like a cross between a B & B and a boutique hotel: a friendly welcome when we arrived, but very hotel-like in its accommodations. Our budget-priced room was large enough for a small table and two chairs -- so much nicer than having to catch up on email propped up in bed! We slept well, the renovated bathroom had all the necessities, and we were particularly grateful for the elevator. Breakfast choices were varied, ample, served with a smile, and delicious! We highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
HI Patinatl

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.The fairview is the ideal base for exploring the beauty of the ring of Kerry.All tours can be pre booked at reception and a
courtesy pick up service at the hotel is provided.Thank you for your nice comments on your room,
and breakfast.
We would love have back as our guest should you decide to visit Killarney again.

Best Wishes
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay. It is convenient and right in the village near pubs, shops and restaurants. There is a very friendly staff, and an excellent breakfast provided. My room was exceptional. I loved it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Lisa O
Thank for choosing to stay at the Fairview and for posting such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are fortunate that we are located in the town centre so that our guests can explore
everything the town has to offer on foot.Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and
breakfast.It very important to us that our guests find there room comfortable and relaxing and
am glad that you found this to be the case.
I hope to welcome you back to The Fairview in the future

Kind Regards
Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tyrone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night we only chose the accommodation on arrival to Killarney. We were more than happy with everything,from the staff,rooms n the amazing breakfast. We will definitely be back.

Teresa & James Co.Tyrone

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Teresa & James

We greatly appreciate your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.We could not have got a nicer compliment than to read that “I would recommend to anyone!”.Glad also that you found
the breakfast to be amazing .We would love to have you stay with us the next time your
are in Killarney.

Kind Regards
Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here Saturday night.It is simply a dressed up B&B.One thing I would warn is to watch James as he tries to add extras.God help any poor being who is a wee bit low in intelligence.He will go to town own their pockets.happy enough with room and breakfast.I met friends in the Killarney Plaza and was amazed at how nice it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi martin861
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.All reviews are important to us.We are glad
that the room and breakfast met your expectations.However you raised a issue with extras.
You did not specify what the extras were,Occasionally we offer guests the choice to
upgrade to a higher spec room if it is available.This is totally optional.Please contact me
personally if you feel you were overcharged in error and i will have no hesitation in refunding
you if that was the case.I apologise if this tainted your experience of The Fair view..

Best Wishes
Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a great room, the bath was wonderful and included a tv beside the bath, large four poster bed, balcony just off the living room space, electric fire under the flatscreen tv, comfy sofa, and the opportunity to watch football, after work, while in the bath brilliant

Room Tip: If you can go for the penthouse suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi axel07
We are delighted that you got to experience The penthouse suite and shared your experience
on TripAdvisor.We are very proud of this room.Thanks for highlighting everything this room has to offer,4 poster bed,double jacuzzi bath with tv in the bathroom,fireplace,sitting area,balcony
with panoramic views,If you want to feel like royalty then this is the room for you.Ideal for
those special occasions like honeymoon,birthday,anniversary,ect.
Hope you will have the opportunity to stay in the penthouse suite again.

Thank again
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

i have stayed in the fairview hotel in killarney quite a few times and i have to say i love it. I stayed in the junior suite last weekend and it was fab. It is a beautiful room (207) and is my favorite by far (even has a jacuzzi). we were greeted by Jimmy (owner) and Les on arrival. Les was fantastic during our whole stay. More than helpful with any matter, proffessional, polite to the last and a real asset to the place. I could not praise him more. Breakfast was nice, a good choice. Rooms are fab, beds a super comfy and the whole place has a lovely relaxed feel about it. I personally love the fairview and will definatley be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Sarah01cork

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review on TripAdvisor.We are
delighted to read that you are a regular visitor to the fairview.This is a great compliment
considering the choice of accommodation visitors to Killarney have.We are delighted
that you enjoyed your stay in one of junior suites.These offer guests that extra bit
of luxury like jacuzzi bath,king size bed,sitting area,air conditioning,ect.I passed on your
kind comments to Les, he was delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to your next visit

Thanks Again
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.