We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairview to your Saves list
The Fairview
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Smart boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

As mentioned in previous review The Fairview Guesthouse is very well located to the town centre and very accessible to the numerous bars, shops and restaurants that Killarney can offer. Boutique in style it is well appointed thoughout with the some of the rooms having mountain views. Very attentive staff who were always willing to help to ensure your stay is memmorable. No bar as such though the night porter will serve drinks if requested.

We stayed the weekend when Killarney hosted 'The Rally of the Lakes'. Best avoid this - too noisy and a town full of petrol heads that cruise the town endlessl in their dream machines. The bars are packed and really is not the place. Do go to Killarney there is so much to do but avoid this weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    218
    46
    37
    37
See reviews for
205
508
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenzaal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a really nice, comfortable and luxureous *****-stay at the Fairview! The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The room was nice and clean. And in the morning we had a wonderful full Irish breakfast. Thank you Les for talking us (and our bikes) in!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

First I loved that this hotel was right in town made it so easy to get to and from anywhere! Room was very large, clean, and comfy! Staff was extremely friendly and accomadating. We felt very welcome and wanted. Breakfast was very nice and the staff again were wonderful. We would def stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We just finished a three day stay at the Fairview and found many good things about this hotel and two areas that could be improved. First the good: The hotel could not be in a better location. We arrived by bus, and easily walked to the hotel in a matter if a few minutes, and the walk to the train station when we left was even shorter. The hotel is on the edge of the business district, and everything is very accessible. Our room, an executive room was large and nicely decorated. The hallways and public rooms are lovely, and even though our room overlooked the street, it was quiet, especially at night when you want it to be so. They have an elevator although there is also a lovely stairway.

Breakfast was a treat with many good selections, high quality food and a charming breakfast room. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Les and a delightful woman whose name I didn't get. And their restaurant recommendations were excellent.

There were two areas that could be improved. The first has been mentioned in other reviews, the heating system. The in-room thermostats don't work, and there is no way to regulate the heat. But far more annoying to us was that the heated towel racks were hooked into the same centrally run heating system as were the radiators. They came on only once or twice a day and never at bath time! I wish the management would put switches on the towel racks so that they would warm the towels when needed rather than at 4 in the afternoon.

The second problem was the lack of drawer space and space in the bathroom to store toiletries. One tiny shelf in the bathroom isn't enough, but even worse, four really tiny drawers were insufficient for anything more than a one-night stay.

All in all, though, it was a delightful experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My children and i stayed at this beautiful hotel in the heart of killareny whilst attending a family wedding. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and well equipped. A very warm welcome , comfortable beds and fantastic breakfast. I would highly recommend the hotel and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed at the sight of this hotel, The owner/ manager was very helpful and accommodating. Car parking is at a public parking station 60 metres from the front entrance and very easy to walk to. The rooms are very clean with all amenities and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was very filling and to a very good standard with either continental or hot a La carte. Highly recommended. We will come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about the Fairview. We had a fantastic time over the St Patricks weekend there. Les, the hotel manager, was a legend and an absolute pleasure to deal with. He ensured we had the most comfortable and enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend staying here. We were in the Junior Suite and it was a beautiful room overlooking the main street of the town. We got to see the parade from the window which was an added bonus. The hotel is located a stones throw away from the many pubs and restaurants that Killarney has to offer. Overall, a great weekend and we will definitely be returning to the Fairview!

Padraig & Aoife :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.