We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairview to your Saves list
The Fairview
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Located between the train station and the heart of Killarney town. I stayed in Room 110, a junior suite, the room was compact, lots of furniture in it for one person, it was clean, quiet and the jacuzzi bath was definitely a bonus at the end of a working day. I found getting channels on the TV awkward. Breakfast was good, although restaurant area feels very tight, again lots of tables and chairs fitted in. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, Room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Axel07

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, 110 our Junior Suite. This room has a sitting room attached and we also offer a bathroom with underfloor heating, heated towel rails and jacuzzi bath. As you rightly point out our location is excellent just a short stroll to bus and train stations, restaurants, shopping and pubs. Over the season we upgraded our breakfast menu and are pleased you enjoyed our offering. Our restaurant is large but as most guests opt for a late breakfast the room can appear full from time to time.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again and you can be assured of a warm welcome when next you are in Killarney.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    227
    49
    38
    39
See reviews for
213
537
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

just got back from my 2nd stay at the fairview, Loved it. Fabulous friendly staff, nothing too much trouble for them. Beautiful rooms & great breakfasts & perfect location. Cant fault it & cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi rosaleengriffin,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are always delighted to welcome our guests back and we so appreciate your positive comments on your return visit. We look forward to seeing you in Killarney again, and you can be sure of a warm welcome when you return.

kind regards

Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the fairview last week for 5 nights for our ruby wedding anniversary, weve visited killarney regurlarly over the years as its always a delightfull town to stay in, having said that its now become THE MOST DELIGHTFULL place to visit thanks to the management and staff at the fairview hotel.
i stumbled across this hotel while browsing the internet for somewhere different to stay, somewhere a bit special ,centrally located yet not crazy expensive with a personable touch if possible (not much then :) :) :) ) but thats exactly what we got, a beautiful suite to which we got a complimentary upgraded on arrival once they heard it was our ruby anniversary (thanks bart).
The breakfast selection and quality was faultless as was the service throughout our stay. theres a real team vibe between the staff in this hotel, anyone of them will help you with anything whatsoever without a hesitation or the usual "ill get someone to do that for you" pass the book line you get in so many places these days, this management and staff really cares about the guests being happy and for this reason we WILL WITHOUT A DOUBT BE BACK whenever we visit killarney in the future.
the location was amazing very easy to find and right beside shops, pubs and restaurants couldnt possibly be better park the car and forget about it.
to finish i want to thank the owner James the exceptional staff tommy,les,ciara and an extra little thanks to noreen, who hand delivered a beautiful bottle of wine, a box of truffles and a hand written message in an anniversary card to our suite on our 3rd nite absolutely ment the world to us as it wasnt just a standard left in the room on arrival gesture , it was a personal well wish from the hotel management and staff which we ve never experienced in a hotel anywhere before whatever the occasion, and so i cannot taking everything into account do anything but highly highly recommend this fantastic hotel with its charming staff ,you all really made our celebration so very special,
see you all next time were in town, kathleen and sean (tuam) xx

Room Tip: had no complaints all perfect in our suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi leface, (Kathleen and Sean)

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us in the Fairview. We were so pleased to learn that we added a little something extra to your experience and it was our pleasure to ensure your stay was enjoyable. Your good wishes have been extended to all the staff who met with you during your stay and your kind words about them are very much appreciated. We believe here that the guest is king and really do try to attend to their every need. Offering a personal service is something we pride ourselves on and it is an essential that all staff have a good knowledge of the area so that they can offer assistance to our guests in making their travel arrangements. The breakfast menu was upgraded during the season and we are delighted that you enjoyed our options. Our location is superb close to bus and rail, restaurants, shopping and pubs and just a few minutes from the National Park.

Once again, our best wishes to both of you and you can rest assured that a warm welcome await you when next you are in Killarney.

kind regards

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at The Fairview for nine consecutive days as we explored all of the interesting and fun opportunities in the Killarney area.
Some friends had recommended it as a result of a good experience a few years ago. We loved it.
All of the staff people were very warm, welcoming and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The breakfasts, which are primarily served at your table, were very good with a wide selection. This is a perfect location with respect to public transportation- train, bus, taxi, rental bike, and guided tours. You can be walking in the beauty of the National park within a few blocks. (We chose not to take on the challenge of driving on the left side of the road.) They have an elevator/lift. Very good restaurants, pubs and shopping are close by. The ONLY very mild disappointment was the view out the window in our room. You could check the weather, but was
primarily a close up view of the adjacent building. This was minor, and we were given the opportunity to upgrade for minimal charge if we wished. All in all, we would love to go back if it was not so far from where we live.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi OmmienPayps

How wonderful to hear from you. We remember your stay very well and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. You certainly made the most of your visit to the region and got to see all the sights. As a five star property we spend a lot of time and effort ensuring the highest standards are maintained and thank you for recognising this. Your endorsement of our breakfast menu is most welcome. We extended our menu options during the season and are so pleased you enjoyed the variety. The Fairview has the prime location in Killarney, close to bus and rail, restaurants, pubs and shopping. As you say, a few minutes from town and you are in the National Park. Our staff are the backbone of the business and we are so pleased you found them friendly and helpful.

It is a pity that you live so far away but you can be sure of a warm welcome if you come back to Killarney in the future.

kind regards

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here during our visit to Ireland in Sept/Oct this year. Didn't have a reservation, but Anne was very gracious and welcoming and accommodated us with a beautiful room that was clean and well maintained. The B&B itself is beautifully decorated, and has a very warm and welcoming ambiance. A "stones throw" to the downtown area with lots of shops and pubs to enjoy. In addition, our breakfast the following morning was a wonderful start to our day! Would stay here again and would highly recommend the Fairview to anyone staying in Killarney!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Becky W,

We are delighted by your very positive review of you stay at the Fairview in Killarney. We do indeed have the best location in Killarney, just a 'stone's throw' from the restaurants, pubs and shopping. We are a five star property and spend a lot of time and effort on maintaining our standards and are delighted that you commented on this. During the season we upgraded our breakfast menu and your comments on the breakfast being a great start to the day are most welcome.

We thank you for your recommendation and if you are in Killarney again you can be sure that a warm welcome awaits you here at the Fairview.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is well situated and just a brisk walk from the town centre, although you could still get closer to town staying at other hotels. The rooms are clean and the service efficient.

Parking is a bit of a problem, especially trying to offload luggage as the hotel only has 3 parking spots available. Their is a carpark nearby that offers safe overnight parking.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Marilize R,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairview. As you mention the Fairview is in the centre of town yet on the side street just far enough away from the night time noise to ensure a good nights sleep. At the Fairview we offer a set down for guests to unload their luggage and then there is complimentary overnight parking at the Lewis Car Park just 70 meters from the front door of the Fairview. We thank you for your positive comments on the cleanliness of the property and the efficiency of the staff.

we hope you returned home safetly

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at The Fairview for 2 nights in September, 2012. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our room was furnished with antique furnishings (except for the bed!), which lent a very nice ambience. We upgraded to a junior suite for a nominal fee which gave us more sitting room so we could visit with the rest of our family. The bathroom was luxurious compared to other B&B's we've stayed in. Breakfast was delicious and more than enough to carry you through a morning of sightseeing. Staff was very professional and pleasant. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Jackie11BRH

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay at the Fairview in Killarney. You can be assured that a warm welcome await you on your return. As a five star property we put a lot of time and effort into maintaining our standards of cleanliness and are so pleased you noticed. Our Junior Suites are very comfortable and the extra seating area is a welcome addition. The bathrooms all have heated towel rails, underfloor heating and a jacuzzi bath. During the season we upgraded our breakfast menu and are so pleased you it to your liking. We believe that our staff are a most important part of your experience at the Fairview and are delighted that you found them both courteous and helpful.

Once again, many thanks for your kind comments.

kind regards

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.