We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP CLASS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairview to your Saves list
The Fairview
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
“TOP CLASS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My girlfriend and i stayed 4 nights in early Oct
We were very impressed with the hotel Location, Comfort and staff all excellent
Breakfast was wonderful kept us going all day
The bed room was lovely and spacious The beds sooo comfortable
We look forward to going back to stay at the Fairview

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi TobyBear55

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us. We are always delighted to receive such positive comments about our property and you do seem to have enjoyed the comfort of the room and bed. Our breakfast menu was upgraded during the summer season and we increased our variety of dishes on offer. This has proved to be a hit with our guests and we are pleased you enjoyed it.

When next you are in Killarney we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairview.

kind regards

Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    218
    46
    37
    37
See reviews for
204
508
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this "guesthouse" at the weekend and have to say the accommodation was cramped to say the least, the view was a dingy alley and we had to park in a nearby carpark and pay for it , the rates were higher than i was quoted and the staff rude and of the very mature kind!!!

The atmosphere in this establishment was very stilted and we were actually told before we went out for dinner to make sure we were quiet when we came in !!!!! We are in our forties and well past wild nights !!!!!!

I stay in Killarney several times a year and have never had a complaint, but really this was disgraceful - mis-advertised and nothing like the bedrooms shown on the website - shame on you !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Mom04186600

We have received your review of your stay at the Fairview last weekend.

We cannot understand how you can classify our rooms as being cramped. Each room in the Fairview has been individually designed and decorated and all have the capacity to sleep a double and a single bed. Every room has a 5star classification which refers to size, furnishings and cleanliness. On making the initial reservation you were quoted for a superior room and on arrival we offered you the possibility to upgrade to an executive for a nominal charge. On our website we show a selection of our rooms under different categories and this accurately reflects the rooms on offer.

There is one issue to which we take extreme exception. We truly abhor the reference to 'mature' staff made with exclamation marks. This discrimination is not appreciated and we value highly staff with experience who have a proven track record in the hospitality industry for over 40 years. Their old world charm and gracious service is nearly a thing of the past and something most of our discerning guests appreciate.

As the comfort of our guests is paramount we do operate a quiet time from 8pm until 8am and we remind guests of this as a matter of course. There is no implication of wild nights or anything else just a courtesy to fellow guests.

We understand that every guest has certain expectations and we are sorry that yours were not met.

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in room 111 for our last night of our 10 day trip to Ireland for our 25th wedding anniversary. This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in! We were up all night long with noise from the lobby with people screaming and doors slamming! Our bathroom sink drain was plugged and almost overflowed and the hotel manager told us that we didn't know to use the drain plug???? When I wrote and complained to management, they wrote us back and told us that they would be happy to give us an upgrade to a "junior suite" if we return to their hotel??? Are you kidding? Hardly a 5 star hotel! So far from it...............no one offered to carry our bags to our room............Don't even think about staying here. Just an awful last night experience to a first class trip!

Room Tip: don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Budsybearsy,

We are in receipt of your email and now your review.

What is really disappointing about this review is the fact that you yourself chose your room and spent some time looking at options. On departure from our property all seemed to be in order, you were pleased and had no negative comment to offer. This would have been the time to tell us so we could have discussed the situation with you. Yet, a few hours later you are sending an email.!! We have a quiet policy in our property from 8pm - 8am and this is applied. We have asked you for clarification on what kind of noise you are talking about - we didn't have any noise in-house nor was there late noise on the street outside. If there is another type of noise we would appreciate knowing about it as we would take steps to ensure that other guests do not hear it. Our guests comfort is of paramount importance to us and we strive to attend to their needs in whatever way we can.

The plughole in our sink was checked by myself and I noticed that the lever for the stopper was not fully opened and this led to the slow water released.

The Fairview is a 5 star property and we work hard to ensure that we offer a 5 star product.

However, we thank you for bringing these details to our attention,

regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here over the summer on a last minute booking. On arrival we were given the option of an upgrade and we were delighted we took it. The bed was huge, so was the jacuzzi as was the bathroom, as was the tv...you get my point. Despite the luxury of the room, the hotel has a family atmosphere to it and this helps you relax in your surroundings. The breakfast was fantastic and very tasty, the restaurant room is a little cramped but the efficiancy of the servers overcame this and i loved how classically they were dressed, complete with bow tie. All in all lovely hotel run by lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Desrever,

Thank you for your delightful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Killarney and enjoyed the upgraded room. Every room in the Fairview is individually designed and decorated so its wonderful when you find the perfect fit. Our restaurant staff are very professional and take excellent care of our guests. Tommy, the gentleman in the bow tie is always a great hit with his old world charm. Over the summer we upgraded our menu and are so pleased it found favour with you.

You can be sure that there will be a warm welcome for you when next you return to Killarney,

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I completely lucked out by randomly booking my stay in Killarney at the Fairview. What a wonderful place in an excellent location (close to the train station and city center, but still very quiet), and honestly, the nicest staff one could ever hope to encounter. They were SO helpful with a very stressful "missing luggage" situation I was dealing with upon my arrival, and they also loaned me an electricity converter so I could charge my phone/computer (since mine was in my missing luggage).

My room had a balcony on which I could sit and watch the sunset over the rooftops, and the bathroom was utterly luxurious. The room was a good size with a seating area and a desk (I had a double), and the wood floors and decor made it nice and cozy.

The wifi was free and strong, and the breakfast (which was included in my price for the room) was quite good.

The only drawback--and it wasn't a big deal--was the fact that the mattress wasn't very comfortable. It was just kind of odd considering how comfortable the rest of the room was.

If I am ever lucky enough to go back to Killarney, I will most definitely stay at the Fairview again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Marla_KC,

Thank you for sending your review. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our help in finding your luggage and are so pleased everything worked out for you. Our Junior Suites are very spacious with seating area, large bathroom with heated floor, heated towel rail and jacuzzi bath. In the room you had there was a balcony which looks over the rooftops to the mountains and is very peaceful. The mattress on the bed is fully orthopedic which is excellent for back and posture. Sometimes it takes a little getting used to.
As many of our guests are touring we try to anticipate their need to keep in touch with their home and offer complimentary wifi in both the public areas and the bedrooms.

You can be sure Marla that if you have the possibility to return to Killarney we will be waiting with open arms,

kind regards

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOME
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We really can't say enough about how much we LOVED The Fairview. It was the perfect combination of stylish boutique hotel and warm and friendly guesthouse, with an UNBEATABLE city location, made even better by the warmth and friendliness of the owners and staff. The amazing stay we had there will be remembered with fondness forever. Killarney is by far our favorite mid sized town in Ireland, and there simply is not a better location for a hotel than the Fairview. If we could have picked the Fairview up and transported it from place to place as we traveled throughout Ireland, we would have been happy campers indeed. We stayed in Room 211 for three nights in September, and from the moment we walked in the door and met Anne, the owner's sister at reception, we felt so welcomed and happy to be there. Anne is the sweetest, nicest and most considerate woman we have ever met, and she was so concerned when she heard that my husband has cancer. The Fairview is actually the childhood home that Anne and her brother Jimmy, the owner, grew up in, and they have poured millions of euros into turning it into the charming and luxurious boutique hotel it is today. We loved our room, the view of the colorful old buildings out our window, the hard wood floors, the air conditioning, the huge bathroom with the Jacuzzi tub, and the wonderful cooked to order breakfasts each morning. All we had to do each evening was step out the door and turn the corner to find dozens of cute shops, wonderful restaurants (Fresk is highly recommended!) and pubs with music spilling out of every doorway. Dunloe Lodge had great traditional music every evening, and is located very close to the hotel. Killarney is a wonderful base for exploring The Ring of Kerry, Killarney National Park, Ross Castle and Muckross House and Gardens and the Gap of Dunloe. We look forward to returning again to the Fairview. Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay, and such a wonderful memory of our time in Ireland!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Pattilee9

What can I say about your review. We truly appreciate your glowing references about Anne. She is a real gem and she is genuinely interested in learning about our guests and ensuring that they have a wonderful experience during their stay. Anne plays a major role in ensuring that the Fairview remains focused on the needs of the guest and your acknowledgement of her efforts is very welcome.

As you rightly point out the Fairview is a family run business and over the past few years there has been very heavy investment in extending and renovating the property. Every bedroom is individually designed and decorated and our Executive Rooms and Junior Suites have large bathrooms with heated towel rail and jacuzzi bath, which can be very welcome after a tough day touring.

The location of the Fairview is second to none and it is just a short stroll to the shops, restaurants and pubs and close to all the local attractions which you have named in detail.

We can see how much you enjoyed your stay and are so pleased you chose to share your experiences with other readers. Indeed, you can be sure of a very warm welcome here in the Fairview if you have an opportunity to return.

many thanks

Bart
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macroom, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a wonderful night away in this guesthouse, was just what we were looking for in a night away for our anniversary. Stayed in the penthouse suite which was very reasonably priced for such a lovely room and amazing bathroom with jacuzzi which had tv on wall. Wow. Decor was really lovely. Near to restaurants and bars .

Room Tip: Lift to rooms. Penthouse has lovely balcony view of cathedral and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Lisa U,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairview in Killarney. We are delighted that your anniversary was boosted by your experience of our Penthouse. As you rightly say, this is a beautiful room with four poster and double jacuzzi bath. The room is quiet and the views from the balcony are lovely.

As you rightly point out the location of the Fairview is the best in Killarney close to shops, restaurants and pubs.

If you are coming back to Killarney you can be sure of a warm welcome here,

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.