We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lovely Brehon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Brehon to your Saves list
The Brehon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
GreenLeadersBronze level
ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The lovely Brehon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Lovely Hotel, Staff very friendly, great bar food and atmosphere in hotel. Lovely big bedrooms with cosy beds and nice big shower. Great hotel to stay in while in Killarney!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    233
    66
    23
    13
See reviews for
184
585
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed here for a 2-night Winter break with friends. The rooms, food etc were all good 4* standard as you would expect. However, the spa was out of this world and 5* in my opinion. I go on spa breaks reasonably frequently and I have never, ever had better treatments or a better overall spa experience than that provided by the Thai therapists at The Brehon. Fabulous - I feel relaxed just writing about it!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

It is a fantastic hotel !!! Myself and my boyfriend went for a night to killarney and decided we would stay somewhere nice and treat ourselves , this hotel was everything we could of asked for .
Il start with the bed , it was like a dream to sink into bed and the turn down at night and little story and choclate at night was a fantastic touch ! the room was spacious , the one down point on our room was its window was faceing across some kind of roof and straight into other rooms , its not really a complaint as the room more than made up for it !! the staff were very proffessionala and the service was quick efficant and pleasant and its not often that i would have dealt with such great staff .
We were on a B&B rate but as we lapped up the kilarney restraunts and night life we never made it down for breakfast , We planned to stay 1 night but as the 1st night was so pleasant we bookedin for the second and to my joy it was just as great as the 1st !!

  • Liked — Clean modern simple but detailed!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

This is a lovely hotel, modern in style and feels new. Rooms are a generous size and nicely decorated. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and it was delicious. The spa is also lovely and definitely worth a visit. The down side of this hotel is that it is based a bit out of town, to far to walk in high heels(!) and also depending on the events that are going on in the nearby INEC, there can be a lot of kids around the place. If you are going to the INEC for an event then it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My family and I stayed in The Brehon Hotel for 2 nights, 14th &15th of Jan. We had 2 fabulous rooms which were spacious, clean and most comfortable.
I found the staff very helpful and obliging and they went out of their way to make it an enjoyable experience for the whole family-kids included.
The breakfast was very nice and even managed to lift the spirits of the men whose golf was canceled due to woeful weather!
Although the leisure center was closed for essential maintenance we thoroughly enjoyed the facilities provided in The Gleneagle.

Overall none of us could fault The Brehon. In fact it was so nice next time we might leave the kids at home!!!

Thank You to all the Staff.

  • Liked — I loved the spacious rooms and common areas.
  • Disliked — If I had to pick someting...Tv's
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My mum and I stayed in the brehon on the 19th of december 2008 and would not stay there again. We arrived at the hotel 15 minutes before the hotels 3pm check in time and where told that they'd have to check did they have a room ready, which is excepetable at such a busy time of year. The first problem we encountered was the complimentry visit to the spa, the girl at reception asked quiet curtly was I over 18 its quiet visable that I am over 18, its the way I was asked. We had booked a double room which generaly you would think would mean 2 people, when we arrived up to the room, there was only one dressing gown and one pair of slippers for the spa, The bed wasnt a double it was two singles pushed together. The shower head wasnt working correctly in the bath. The general decor of the hotel is lovely, and clean. I found any of the staff that I met in the hotel where quiet curt, after paying such a price for 1 night you would expect the staff to be some what friendly. Wouldnt stay there again and wouldnt recommend it to any family or friends. Highly over priced for the service you recieve. Also the smoking area is freezing its like a wind tunnel. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which means that ever time you wish to have tea or coffee you have to order it room service at approx 3euros a cup. The night we stayed there was a wedding reciption, the noise from the smoking area and the hotel in general went on long into the night.

  • Liked — I Didnt was sorry that we booked the hotel in question
  • Disliked — The curt staff, high prices
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

This hotel is really lovely. From the moment you walk in the front door, the atmosphere is fantastic. The staff were very helpful and the food throughout my stay was gorgeous. The restaurant was beautiful and I will definitely be back for a romantic get away!

  • Liked — The staff and the food
  • Disliked — No tea and coffee making facilities in the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#2 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brehon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.