We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marywexford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brehon

Save Saved
You added The Brehon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brehon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Killarney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“marywexford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in the for two nights in July. I had booked it as surprise for my husbands retirement. Really beautiful hotel,rooms were immaculate and spacious, staff were very friendly and service very good. My only regret was that we had only two nights to enjoy. We will have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends and will hopefully be back in the near future. Didn't avail of the spa facilities so can't comment on this aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Mary,
Congratulations to your Husband on his recent retirement. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely feedback and I will pass your comments on to all our staff.
We do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    204
    57
    23
    13
See reviews for
167
500
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the fabulous Etain suite with our 4.5 month baby. As our schedule revolved around our baby, we didn't get a chance to avail of the restaurant. however, we eat in the bar on a number of occasions. food was very good. service & hospitality very good from all staff we encountered.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Stevie,
Thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience with other trip advisor users. We are delighted to hear your comments on our food and in particular on our staff. We do hope to see you back again.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay, i booked it as a suprise for my boyfriends birthday i emailes them and they upgraded us and had a card and chocolates as a suprise for him in the room when we arrived. beautiful hotel, food and staff. and as a coeliac made it so easy to enjoy breakfast lunch & dinner. our favorite hotel in Killarney :) can't wait to go back xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
Wow what a way to start your review 'We love this place'.. We are delighted with your review and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you also for your feedback on our coeliac options, we work hard to ensure we meet everyone's needs and are delighted we did again on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Brehon last weekend for a quiet weekend away. I can without a doubt say it was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The rooms we clean, spacious and very well equipped, offering comfortable luxury bedding and toiletries. Pool area was impressive, included sun loungers, allowing guests to relax and unwind. Cannot commend the staff enough. Receptionists were pleasant and very helpful. Checked out in a hurry leaving some important belongings in the hotel room. Many thanks to Eileen O' Sullivan from the lost and found department who was ever so helpful in locating these and sending them to my home address, free of charge. All in all, fantastic hotel-10/10. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Orlaith,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. To be described as one of the nicest hotels you ever stayed in is wonderful and to give us a score of 10/10 makes all our hard work worth while. We are delighted you had such a nice stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A very impressive looking hotel both on the interior and exterior! our room was very clean, spacious and beautifully decorated! check in was a very pleasant experience, girl at the desk couldn't have been more helpful.The spa however was not as luxurious as I would have expected going by the rest of the hotel decor. Way too bright which made it seem almost grubby in places, also when i rang down to book in was told by the girl I'd have to walk through the hotel with my robe on over my swim suit to get there as all the lockers were reserved for guest having treatments. This was something I said I was unwilling to do, Especially since it would have involved me walking through a wedding drinks reception (When i got down as it happened there were loads of free lockers). Dinner extremely pricey - 3course meal for 2 with a with a bottle of wine (apx €23) came to €170!! The food was lovely but certainly didn't justify that price! Would stay again but would go somewhere else to eat and skip spa if looking for luxury. Staff at reception, at dinner, breakfast and the bar
were extremely helpful/friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I recently spent three incredible nights in the Brehon Hotel with my husband and 3 children. Our room was very spacious, with air conditioning and 2 televisions so everyone was happy in the mornings. The breakfast buffet was excellent and was replenished frequently.
Our children took part in the kids club in the Gleneagle Hotel next door. The children's activities were very well organised and offered a great choice for kids of all ages.
We used the Vitality Suite in the hotel which provided much needed relaxation.
We dined in the hotel on one evening and the food was spectacular.
From start to finish our experience at the Brehon was wonderful. All the staff are so professional and helpful, from the girls on reception, to the waiting staff (a special mention to Bearta whom my 2 year old really took a shine to) to the babysitter Clare the hotel organised for us.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 205 which was a very spacious family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Brehon is a great place to get away from things. The Spa is fantastic - so tranquil, with a great range of treatments - the weather wasn't great when we were there but were able to pass the time just fine between the Spa and Vitality Suite . The bedroom and bathrooms were very comfortable and spacious.The staff were helpful and friendly. It is within 15 min comfortable walk to the town. Overall this is a lovely hotel for a couples escape

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brehon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.