We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay at the Brehon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Brehon to your Saves list
The Brehon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay at the Brehon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spent a week at the Brehon in February, after trying other hotels in Killarney. This is definitely my favored hotel in the area. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are spacy, clean and well furnished. The food is good (As good as food in Ireland can be.). Internet connections are available in the room, as well as in the public areas.
Overall a very enjoyable experience and I will be back there next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    232
    66
    23
    13
See reviews for
182
585
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very modern new clean hotel with fantastic spa , 5 mins from Killarney Town centre and next door to Gleneagle Venue. The breakfast was very good overall rooms well above 4 star always enjoy our stay there.

Room Tip: if a wedding on ask for room on 3rd floor no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Denis,
To be described as Excellent and Top Class is fantastic. We will ensure all our staff are aware of your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Myself and my partner have been coming to the brehon for years now. We love it... the spa is the best spa I have been to, the staff in the spa are so friendly and nice and yhe treatments are AMAZING! the staff in the hotel are so nice and friendly. On this particular visit I received my results from college so at breakfast we were celebrating and the staff congratulated me. After breakfast there was a letter under our door and it was a card from the staff saying congratulations. We had lunch in the brehon bar and the food was lovely as well as the service. We then had dinner in the danu and it was excellent food and again the service was impeccable. We had a lovely waitress named ursula I think and she was very attentive and friendly. For dessert the staff wrote congrats on your success in chocolate sauce on myplate. Overall this hotel is amazing. The staff are soo nice and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Danielle,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again and congratulation on your exam results!
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've been down to the spa several time and have been meaning to write this review for a while. Staff are excellent, very reasonable prices and great facilities. I would recommend everyone to visit here once and I guarantee you'll be back just like I was. Many thanks ladies.

Room Tip: Massages are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Brehon is either a newer hotel or updated and it was great! Our room was comfortable and the beds were great! The breakfast each morning was fresh and had very good food and many items to choose from on the buffet. We traveled around the area during the day and were not into a big meal and wanted to relax so we sat in The Brehon's cozy comfortable Bar. TVs to watch sports and had very good food both nights. Salads or sandwich. Fresh and very nice size portions. The staff was kind, helpful and friendly. They also had great tips on places to see. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Brehon. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience with others. We do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My family went to my cousin wedding at the Brehon and stayed at the hotel a few days before the big day. Our first stop was the pub and we met Ciara. Not only is she beautiful she was friendly and informative. Her attention to detail made our stay so much better. We looked forward to seeing her smiling face and witty personality everyday. The food at the wedding was superb. I loved the duck. I look forward to going back as soon as possible. Thank you to all the staff. The Americans from Massachusetts had a spectacular time. Cheers!!!!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Kate,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted here at The Brehon that you enjoyed your stay and we will ensure Ciara is aware of your lovely comments. We do hope to see you back again some time.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a midweek break in The Brehon last week, the hotel is lovely, great bedrooms and bathrooms, spotless clean and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The food in the bar and restaurant is very good and the breakfast is great. We loved the Vitality Suite and Spa, spent a very relaxing morning there :) All in all we we really enjoyed our stay there :))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#2 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brehon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.