We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Brehon to your Saves list
The Brehon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Valentines Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Brehon Feb 16th for a night. I have stayed before and was trying to get back for a long time! Absolutely love the Brehon. On arrival check in was very quick. We upgraded to a superior room and it was definitely worth it! We stayed in room 401. The views were brilliant. There were chocolates and wine in the room on arrival. Big comfortable bed and separate couch area to watch television. The bathroom was very spacious with a large bath and separate shower and big vanity area. The room was extremely clean, bright and airy. We had dinner downstairs in the bar which was lovely. Not much of a variety so I would recommended people choose the restaurant. After dinner we relaxed in our room. Good choice of channels on the television. We had breakfast delivered to the room the following morning and it was delicious. Plenty of food and variety. Would recommend the Brehon to anyone, it was a lovely relaxing night! Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Gemmie,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted here at The Brehon to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. I will ensure all our staff are aware of your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    233
    66
    23
    13
See reviews for
184
585
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently after winning a free 2 night bed & breakfast voucher in a Christmas Raffle in work. We drove down and eventually found the Hotel, would help with some sign-age in the town to give a clearer indication to incoming guests to the Hotel.

The hotel from the outset looks amazing and inside isn't so bad either :) Lovely features throughout the hotel especially the clock behind Reception, really top feature. Greeted nicely on check-in and given clear instructions about Breakfast, Spa etc. Elevator's in the Hotel are great, they posted the day's headline news each day along with Spa offers and Dinner times. Room was brilliant we got one overlooking the front entrance of the hotel, I would recommend asking for one of these types of rooms. Big bathroom with unfortunately a small walk-in shower and big bath. Wi-Fi in the room was good also, however non existent for the Iphone? TV was a great size and had all the channels needed except SkyOne :( which I wanted to watch a programme one of the nights.

We asked for advice on shopping areas in Killarney from Front Desk, they didn't inform us that most places weren't open due to the town not being Tourist Season. Went into Tralee instead for shopping. Would recommend the hotel completely, its absolutely fabulous and a real treat. Only wished they informed us on check in that everywhere is closed till March.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Brehon on 24th February and it was a really relaxing treat. All staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient but special mention to the Angsana Spa staff and "Teeda" in particular for a wonderful, relaxing afternoon. My room was spacious with all the usual facilities i.e. iron, ironing board, safe, fridge, hairdryer, air conditioning and tea making facilities. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower. The hotel is located approximately one mile from Killarney town centre and within easy walking distance of the national park. The INEC events centre is just next door. I look forward to returning to the Brehon and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed last weekend at the Brehon Hotel and everything about the facilities was as expected.
From the moment you step inside the front doors, Its high expansive lobby delights you. Doorman met us at the entrance and whisked our bags and suits away quickly. Smiling faces at the check in made it a breeze to go through the formalities.
It was my birthday present and my son had phoned ahead from Australia to let them know and i was pleasantly surpised to find that the Hotel had given us a complimentary upgraded to a junior suite. Surprised again to find a birthday card from the management and staff of the brehon and some chocolates.

Our room was big, bright and spacious. The best of natural furnishings, flat-screen tv and computer facilities installed. Great views out our windows (we were on a corner room). the bathroom was big and contained a bath and separate shower. Usual quality array of bathroom toiletries and shampoos etc on hand. Teas-made, iron, iron board, room safe, plenty of closet space. Very relaxing experience. The public areas are beautifully decorated with two lovely welcoming fires at each side of the lobby.

We dined one evening in the restaurant and it was sumptuous. Our waiting staff were excellent, pleasant, very efficient and always a smile.

The Angsana Spa facilities were super, top quality all throughout. Great pool (although not huge), steam room, sauna, forest showers etc. As the hotel Spa treatments were fully booked for the weekend, i did not get to experience it, but a fellow guest, assured me it was the best.

Killarney town centre is just a mile away and you could easily stroll it in 14 minutes. It is a typically Irish town with qurily little shops and cafe's and friendliness everywhere.

Just one complaint over the weekend. We booked a taxi to the town centre at about 7.430pm and were taken aback to be charged 9 euro for the trip. Later that evening, returning to the hotel we again were charged 8 euro. Now im not one for being stingy, but, the distance by taxi is exactly 0.88 of a mile, in a straight line on a single main road, no hold ups and taking about 5 minutes. The taxi company had a green oval badge on the sides of the cabs and so i think they took advantage.

I have been a regular holiday person to Killarney for over 30 years, visiting for weekends at least 3 to 4 times every year, as does many of my family, and always found Killarney business to have a general standard and prices are usually pretty standard year round. I love the place, but not the taxi's now!!!!!

But as for the Brehon, the staff, the quality of the hotel, the rooms. I would give it at least 4+ out of 5. excellent.

Room Tip: 410 or 412 are great rooms and have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room, service and spa. Would highly recommend to everyone :) stayed with 5 family members and they all enjoyed it as much as I did. The reins were immaculate and even down to room service, one of the most enjoyable experiences ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the brehon for the three nights bed and breakfast offer plus one evening meal deal and I have to say it was worth every penny.It was our anniversary and we were upgraded to a superior deluxe room on request. I would like to thank the brehon hotel for accomodating us with this request. The staff were very friendly and the room was spotless and cleaned every day .The breakfast buffet was also very nice with great variety to suit every taste.The only complaint I would have is that the dinners in Danu restaurant is a little expensive to buy if not included in your offer @ 80 euros for two people, other than this I would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with veiw of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 5 days travelling through Ireland and stayed in 3 well known hotels. The Brehon was by far the best for service, friendliness etc. the staff were very friendly and good at their job. Worth checking out (deals to be had at reception just arriving there!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#2 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brehon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.