We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Brehon to your Saves list
The Brehon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
GreenLeadersBronze level
cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“spa break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

spa break with daughter and sister.the spa is fab .loved every minute of it,we had a lovely room on the fourth floor.great food in bar .the breakfast was fab .my compliments too christine in the spa.will be back in jan with hubby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    252
    71
    23
    14
See reviews for
197
641
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Third time staying here. 3 nights. This time with a small baby. They just understand the needs of a family. Very courteous staff and personable. Lovely room and great food. Will be staying again. They just offer more than an average hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel at the end of November/early December. The hotel was beautifully laid out with all its Christmas decorations and is really cosy, with all the comfy seats and the numerous fires. Had dinner on two nights in the hotel and the food was absolutely delicious. The hotel was buzzing when we were there, there was a wedding taking place on two of the days and there was a rally on in Killarney on the Saturday. The rooms were nice and spacious, the staff were lovely and the leisure/spa area is great to switch off. Both my wife and I had a back massage on one of the days and they were absolutely fabulous, I would highly recommend. All in all a great place to go for a few days and even if the weather isn't too good it is a perfect spot to chill out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Co. Wicklow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staying at the brehon hotel was a real treat, Everything about this hotel is great, the highlight for us was the spa, it is fantastic the thermal area is large and its never crowded. The food in the Danu resteraunt is excellent. cant wait to return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Brehon and we really enjoyed it. It is a really lovely hotel, spacious rooms, beautiful lobby, and lovely food.
We got a fantastic surpise when we were upgraded on arrival. Thank you!
The bar is also really nice, we had our meals there and they were very good.
The only area I think the hotel could improve on is breakfast. It was nice but I don't think a buffet breakfast can ever be that great.
I think what really made our stay was how friendly all the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were all brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere over the Rainbow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at The Brehon for three nights as part of one of there christmas offers. 3nights bnb and 2 evening meals for € 275 which was very good considering the hotel is normally expensive to stay in.
The reception area of the hotel is stunning with plenty of couches and lovely fireplaces. We ate in the bar prior to check in was lovely and the staff were excellent.
The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The evening meals were also gorgeous and once again staff were very good. Breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of choices available.
The only little downside was we did not recieve the bottle of wine on arrival or the spa voucher included in the package, I actuallly forgot about it being included until I was home. All in all will be returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in November 2012, only one night but a memorable experience, Lovely hotel and excellent facilities. Breakfast was an experience with the largest selection of food I have seen in any hotel.Room was spacious and comfortable. Excellent venue if attending concerts in the nearby INEC. Impressive foyer with open fires

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear John,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#2 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#21 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brehon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.