We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Brehon to your Saves list
The Brehon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ardnacrusha, County Clare
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently went to the Brehon for our 10th Wedding anniversary. The hotel is impressive from the outside which promises so much and the experience did not disappoint. When we checked in we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite for our anniversary and when we got to the room there was an anniversary card from the hotel and some chocolates, we were absolutely thrilled. The room was gorgeous with a fabulous view of the mountains. The whole stay was fab, the breakfast was top class and the staff were very friendly. I think for the first time ever I did not have one complaint with the hotel. Also Killarney in general was lovely, we hadn't been in years and it is really nice. There is loads to do and see. The hotel is a short walk to the centre of town too which is a bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    252
    71
    23
    14
See reviews for
197
642
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the hotel in a standard room bed and breakfast. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff upon arrival which is always a good sign. Our room was clean and had everything we required with a very comfortable kingsized bed. We did eat at the bar on the first night and found the service and food to be very good. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk in to the centre of town which was not a problem for us as I could walk off the Guiness consumed whilst out. Overall we were very happy with the choice of hotel and could not fault the quality of service by the staff.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the National Park, the rear the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This fine hotel is just on the outskirts of the busy city centre, making for a nice walk to town and yet having a bit more peace and quiet when you want to relax in your spacious room. The spa is incredible! No better way sweat the Guiness out! This hotel is worth the extra money. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of an Ireland tour. The property was lovely as were the people. We had dinner both nights and everything was excellent. We only wish we had more time to use the spa but maybe next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Top quality hotel with very helpful and attentive staff. The rooms were as big as apartments with all the trappings. Our room had a nice view south to the mountains. One fault was the light switch three paces from the bathroom. The musical group in the bar on saturday night were very entertaining. We had dinner in the restaurant but the food was OK but not top quality although the breakfast was quite good. The hotel location is about a mile from Killarney town centre so a taxi ride of 7-9 euros is required.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you so much for take to time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do hope to see you back again soon to sample some new dishes we have recently introduced in our Danu Restaurant. We are also launching our new Bar Menu this Saturday.
Thank you again for your wonderful feedback.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Brehon for two nights as part of a trip through Ireland to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. What an incredible treat! Not only have we been upgraded to a suite, but the staff also placed chocolates and a hand-written anniversary card in our bedroom. I work in the services industry and can appreciate good service, but what The Brehon did was beyond that - the service was fantastic! We also booked a massage in the spa, which was one of the best massages we've ever had, so much so that we booked another one for the following morning! Food was excellent, service was outstanding and the hotel itself a treat. Go there, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted your enjoyed your Wedding Anniversary Celebrations with us here at The Brehon and we do hope to see you back again soon.
Thank you again for your kind words.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and this lovely hotel just felt like home away from home! The service we received from the staff was possibly the best I have ever encountered. You really did feel as if they went out of your way to make your stay the best possible.

The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The breakfast had a good selection, but even better when we realised we could request things such as salmon and poached eggs for no extra charge! The bar food was good quality, and although we did not have the chance to eat in the hotel restaurant, I imagine this would have been just as good.

The highlight of our stay was the spa. Authentic and genuine thai-inspired massage with skilled therapists - absolute heaven! The steam room was the most powerful I've ever seen - possibly too much for some people but I thought it was amazing! I would definitely return because the spa was so good!

It's located out of the main town of Killarney which is good to avoid the traffic which builds up around the complicated one-way system through the town. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted you got to experience our wonderful Angsana Spa and thank you for your feedback.
We do hope to see you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#2 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#21 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brehon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.