We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Candle Room

The Candle Room
College Street, Killarney, Ireland
064 6631853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 152 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A group of work colleagues chose The Candle Room as part of 'Dine in Killarney' offer before Christmas.
The hotel, as always, has a welcoming atmosphere, professional and friendly staff & an excellent menu!
All our party thoroughly enjoyed our Candle Room experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at The Candle Room, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Elaine C

Thank you so much for sharing your Candle Room experience here on Trip-Advisor. We really appreciate it!
I am very happy to hear that your and your colleagues enjoyed your meal and the service.
With our town-center location and spacious dining room, the Candle Room is an ideal place for festive get -togethers!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Candle Room in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

we ate here last Saturday evening at 28.90 for a three course meal(early bird) it was good value.
I am a difficult customer as lots of foods i cannot eat but the waitress went above and beyond and amended dishes gave me lots of options and alternatives and was so kind about it - this for me stood out more than the food which was also excellent.
the dining room itself is well decorated and has nice background music creating a great atmosphere. will definitely return and recommend this restaurant

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at The Candle Room, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Mary O

Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful review of the Candle Room.
Here at the Candle Room, we strive to insure that all guests dietary requirements are met. I am so glad to here that you were well looked after by the staff.

I will ensure to pass on your good remarks to the waiting staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Candle Room soon.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We happened to be staying at the Killarney Royal and didn't find another restaurant that received as high reviews as The Candle Room. It was a big (and expensive) mistake to eat here. My husband ordered the fish, which was overcooked and had been previously frozen. His potatoes were instant potatoes. I ordered the "prime" sirloin roast and it was like shoe leather (overcooked and dry). Asking for more gravy didn't help at all. Again, my potatoes were instant potatoes. What nonsense to pay over 200 Euros for dinner at this restaurant. Next time stick to pub grub. If you want a "fancy" meal, do not eat here. Very disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at The Candle Room, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear PamW,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Candle Room Restaurant here on Trip-Advisor.

We greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests, as it allows for continued improvement of our standard and service.

Here, at the Candle Room, We pride ourselves on our high levels of service and food preparation. I can assure you that we use the freshest ingredients available, which are delivered on a daily basis by local suppliers and all food is cooked to order. We also offer very competitive and affordable prices, with four course dinner menus starting from €25 per person.


This being said, I would like to sincerely apologise that you found your dining experience disappointing.

I hope that I have the chance to welcome you back to the Candle Room at the Killarney Royal.


Kindest Regards,
Bryan Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Favourite with locals and guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Candle Room in the Royal Hotel is a fine restaurant in the heart of Killarney town. It is family run and the staff are very friendly and professional. The menu is reasonably priced and has a nice mix of the best of Irish and international tastes. Overall the hotel offers a quiet and comfortable setting. As a local I always buy vouchers for the restaurant to give to friends and family. You'll enjoy your meal here and maybe a few quiet pints of Guinness as well!

Conor

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at The Candle Room, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Conor

Thank you once again for choosing The Candle room. We love seeing familiar faces come back through the doors & it gives me great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed the whole experience once again.

We are delighted that you referred to your dining experience as a "comfortable setting"
As we thrive on making our guest & customers feel comfortable & at home all the time

Thank you once again Conor & we will see you shortly

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good homely dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff at the Royal really know how to make you feel at home and the food and service is excellent and good value. Good wine list and great Guinness!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at The Candle Room, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JIM M and a million thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you.

We are delighted that you referred to your dining experience as "good homely dining"
As we thrive on making our guest & customers feel at home all the time

Thanks again, and we hope you all landed safely home with tons of happy memories from your trip to Ireland

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Candle Room also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Candle Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Candle Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.