We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the early bird before 7pm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porterhouse

Porterhouse
Plunket Street, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 667 1130
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We work hard and strive together to make our customers happy.Live music 7 Nights a week
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Have the early bird before 7pm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The early bird value here is amazing - 25 euro offers 3 courses with a diverse menu, large portions and a heavy wine pour. My niece and I were starving after hiking the Gap of Dunloe and went searching for an early dinner. We were very happy with the Porterhouse and wanted to go back but didn't have the appetite for such a large meal again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    48
    21
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A really wonderful meal had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I just want to say thanks to the staff and Chef of the Porterhouse in Killarney. We really had a lovely dinner. We had a lovely leak soup for starters. Followed by the special roast pork. my children had the Pannie sandwich with chips and the Tacos with chicken, which were both served in generous amounts. The service was great and we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful food,fantastic service, all ruined by unnecessary music”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a beautiful meal here recently with friends, the food was simply wonderful. The place was buzzing and the way the tables and seating was managed was 1st class.
Then it all went horribly wrong, a very talented guy started singing and playing at the top of the restaurant. end of lovely conversation end of night. Why would an establishment which was packed to capacity anyway spend silly money on music which destroyed a wonderful ambience.
Luckily we were coming to the end of our courses, we pitied those who were just arriving for their meal.
Will we be back,
Unlikely

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Excellent top range pub food. Served well and good service. Range of wines very good. It gets really busy and we were lucky to get in just in time. Told those who were waiting as we left that it was worth the wait.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Would eat here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had dinner here last Saturday night and really enjoyed it. They do not do the 3 course for €25 at the weekend.

I had the Chicken Wings to start and hubby had the Brie. Both were lovely.

I had the Chicken for Main Course and hubby had the chicken stir fry.

Service was very good and the waitresses were extremely helpful and friendly.

We really enjoyed our meal and will eat here again when in Killarney.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porterhouse also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Porterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.