We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porterhouse

Porterhouse
Plunket Street, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 667 1130
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 152 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family run business, with live local musicians 7 nights a week. We opened "The Porterhouse" in December 2011, Our mantra is locally produced good food at a good price.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited Porterhouse on a friday evening. It wasn't very busy. We ordered fish & chips and it was delicious. The fish was fresh and perfectly cooked. The portions were generous. Prices are reasonable as well. Staff was friendly. Only negative was the loud music, our table was close to the speaker and it was driving us mad but staff turned it down after we complained. Would def. go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    60
    27
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Smallville
1 review
“Nice and easy great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife son of 5 months andiwhere looking for a place to eat on our first day and came across this lovely pub they found us. Table which we could keep the buggy there dinner was great massive portions nice staff and fresh clean bathrooms

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a real find in Killarney. Excellent food, excellent service and the biggest portions I have seen in a while. Set- menu is exceptional value. The nachos and burger rock and the glasses of wine are very generous! Lovely setting too - they have done a great job on the interior.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, Co. Kerry
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food & friendliest staff in Killarney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Porterhouse has a wonderful ambiance to it. We were greeted with enthusiastic warm smiles and made to feel welcome from the second we arrived. Drinks were ordered and were served promptly accompanied by genuine interest in our party resulting in a lively banter which remained for the entire evening. Food choice was great and covered all our needs. We all ordered from the 3 course €25 menu. The food arrived quickly and all 10 of us were served virtually simultaneously with no-one left watching as others started. Quality and quantity was excellent there was much passing of samples of food around the table. We went expecting a couple of drinks and a dinner what we received was an experience. The evening was full of good food and drink served by 3 amazingly friendly ladies. Highly recommended, a must for anyone visiting or living in the Killarney area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have been to Porterhouse Bar & Restaurant on numerous occasions and cannot understand the review by Foodfrolics of the 10.03.2013 - have always has a fab meal with great service in this premises and did these people really sit for 2 hours without complaining or asking to speak to the manager at the very least - perhaps the wine was too good!!!!!
was there last friday night with family group of 18 persons and they could not have done any more for us!
Am highly recommending this place enough to anyone coming to Killarney!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porterhouse also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Porterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.