We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porterhouse

Porterhouse
Plunket Street, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 667 1130
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We work hard and strive together to make our customers happy.Live music 7 Nights a week
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner in the porterhouse recently & was very impressed with the food, device & overall experience. I had the chicken fajitas & my friend had the lamb cutlets they were both to die for. A special mention to Damien behind the bar who looked after us so well. We will be back. Keep up the great work

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    48
    21
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Crab Claws to truly die for!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ate here for a friends bday at the weekend. Table of 6 of us and it was a really enjoyable meal. The staff are fantastic, really friendly and know the menu from back to front. Really warm and cosy atmosphere too. I have never tasted crab claws like it in my life. Fat and juicy and just so tasty. I had the cajum salmon for dessert and it too was truly enjoyable. Would have no problem recommending The Porterhouse to anyone going through Killarney.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“we will return.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we went to porterhouse last night with some friends, I loved the atmosphere, casual, cosy and comfortable. Old style inviting decor with character. I noticed the manager, Aidan(I think) spent alot of time visiting each table . to ensure everyone was happy. Our waitress, trish was efficient and friendly but more importantly the food arrived to alot of ohhhs and the presentation did as much to please us as the flavour.
The fillet steak is VERY large but worth it, I loved the tomatoes cooked in pesto, the whisky pepper sauce and crispy onion rings. but I did save room for the homemade banoffi pie, also worth the extra trip to the gym!
we will be back.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“FAB FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visited the Porterhouse at the weekend, we managed to get a table late in the day even though it was nearly fully booked. Staff were very friendly and the food was fab. The atmosphere was electric. Our waitress was great as I am little a fussy with food and this didnt seem to phase her at all, she checked on us throughout our meal to make sure everything was ok. The manager Aidan had a chat with us at the table and again when we were leaving . The Porterhouse is definitley on my list for the next time I visit Killarney.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Good food great service. Very busy and good atmosphere. Worth a visit - 25 euro for starter main dessert with a very large glass of wine

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porterhouse also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Porterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.