We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Way to See Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Riding Stables

Killarney Riding Stables
Ballydowney, Killarney, Ireland
011 353 64 6631686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 65 Activities in Killarney
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Way to See Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The instructors and touring guides at Killarney Riding Stables were absolutely amazing. They were kind, conversational and gave amazing recommendations on where to go in town. We only did the one hour tour which was a nice jaunt around some flat land in the national park, but I would suggest doing a longer ride to see some of the other amazing features the park has to offer. All in all, it was such a great experience and a great way to really see the country.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went on an early ride through the national park and it was a wonderful experience. If you want to add something different to your trip to Ireland, try horseback riding, it's a different way to enjoy the views, the history and nature.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One ok trail ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I booked a two hour ride through the Killarney National Park. On arrival at the stables it was immediately obvious that this place is a business set up to make profit. The horses were nice and the staff friendly. There for unfortunately not much time to take pictures of the great scenery or of the animals I had the chance see. To me everything just seemed a little too organized and once we got back everyone disappeared w/o as much as a good bye.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok riding experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my boyfriend did a short 1h tour through the Killarney National Park. First of all, the horses were very nice! Since they are used to tourists, they are absolutly calm and trustworthy, which is very important when riding in the woods. Nevertheless there were a couple things I disliked about the Killarney riding stables.

2 of the stables girls came with us on our trip. On was rather unfriendly and was riding in front. The one riding in back was very friendly though and talked to us a lot. However, non of them felt the need to explain to my boyfriend, who has never been on a horse before, how to handle the horse correctly. On of the girl even seemed to be mad at him, for not being able to go faster, which I thought was kind of rude. Also we had no stops to really look at the park or to take pictures.

All in all the riding experience was okay. The hourses were great, but you can tell that they have a lot of tourists so it´s very unpersonal. When we came back to the stables they only said "bye" and left us, as if they were glad the tour was over.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Did the 5 day ride. Incredible views, nice horses, Super Staff, cool out of way places to see. Donny is the best Owner. Be in shape and prepared for fun and whisky.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killarney Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Killarney Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killarney Riding Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.