We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dromhall Hotel to your Saves list
Dromhall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Short and direct review:
1.The receptionists were amazing. Very helpful,energetic and genuine group of people. They made my girlfriend and me feel at home through giving recommendations on everything we needed from places to eat to where to go for a drink in the evening. Really can not say how great they were!

2.The wine and chocolates that I had pre-ordered to be in our room upon arrival were not there so the effect was lost when I had to call down to remind them to bring it up. To make amends for this the hotel added in an additional bottle of wine on the house but still it was the effect I was after not the actual wine so the damage was done.

3.Clean and comfy room, nice shower and a good sized bed. Everything was on a good standard.

4.The Breakfast staff was horrible!!! The lady that served us was incredibly rude and unprofessional. The milk on our table was sour. That and the lack of service just made the entire experience a poor one.

5.Nice location being only a 5 minute stroll into the town center made it easy to get around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    142
    50
    17
    11
See reviews for
97
205
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. Location is excellent, 5 minutes stroll to killarney town centre and park nearby. Accommadation (room) was large and spacious. Bathroom excellent. Room service was excellent. Reception staff very helpful. Breakfast was very good and a great choice. We also found the library downstairs very private and relaxing. The pub and bistro were also nice and functional. Will be back and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was very disappointed with dromhall hotel even if it was on a special I was expecting a 4 star. The walls are so thin I could hear when the people next door turned on their light. Bathroom was dirty & dated. No hand soap in dispenser or bar of soap. I used my shower gel! Bath towels were torn & smelt of bleach. The side of the bath is wooden and old so it has expanded with dampness but has just been painted over & over. They have obviously got yellow paint cheap & they have used it every where - in the bedroom, bathroom & dining room. The bathroom has a yellow marble effect painted on the walls, the same in the restaurant on the pillars. Both wall effects must not be cleanable, they have splash marks & dirt across them. Bed was comfortable, tv in room was very small. Swimming pool is dimly lit (for a reason) filthy with missing grout. The walls have a mural of a beach scene from a ship, probably nice 20 years ago but dated & peeling now. Our swim wear stank of sewage after our swim & my little boy had an upset tummy after his swim. no one had swimming hats on. Food in bar & bistro are over priced, bland & the coffee tasted like an ash tray, so on our 2nd night we went up to muckross pk hotel to a traditional pub Molly darcys, there we had a beautiful meal & excellent service. We stayed New Year's Day for 2 nights, there were only 15 other rooms booked but for some reason they put all the guests on the same floor right next to each other! We had to turn the heating off in our room on arrival as it was uncomfortably hot & at 2am we had to open the window - no air con. Breakfast was average, my little boy was served a boiled egg in a chipped egg cup. Sausages in the full Irish breakfast were more like hot dogs. We had been to killarney twice before & stayed in 4* and 5* hotels so I booked Dromhall expecting the same standard as the previous 4*... I even checked the reviews on this website. I will never stay or recommend Dromhall. I'd like to know where they bought they're fourth star.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Name it Dublin

I was absolutely astonished and shocked when reading your review. It appears not one aspect of your stay with us, did you enjoy. It is unfortunate that you did not raise your issues when you were here and allowed us an opportunity to investigate and rectify the matters for you.

As a family run business we take great pride in delivering a good service to our guests and thankfully we do achieve this as other reviews demonstrate. On this occasion it is unfortunate we did not meet your expectations.

I can assure you that your comments are taken seriously, I do thank you for being honest and I apologize sincerely for your disappointment. I will investigate some of your comments with the relevant departmental heads.


For a point of reference it is The Failte Ireland Board, who is a professional body, awards the star rating for hotels in Ireland. We receive an annual inspection from Failte Ireland to ensure we met with the industry standard for a 4star rating. I am sorry your visit left you feeling we did not meet that standard.


Again I thank you for taking time to review the Dromhall Hotel and if some time in the future you choose to give us another opportunity to show you we care please contact me personally.

Kind Regards,

Bernadette Randles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very good hotel especially as it allows dogs. Would go there again. Nice location. The service during breakfast could be improved. The only thing was the fact that we had a room near the lift, which was at times noisy, but as we stayed during the week , the use of it stopped around midnight, so it was bearable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed one night here wilst traveling on vacation with our adult children. Hotel was very clean, modern, updated. We actually had a room with two bathrooms, one of them completely barrier free and handicap accessable - not necessary for our family, but potentially a must for some travelers.

The weather was rainy so we drove to the downtown area, not too far and very fun. After dinner we were back to the hotel to enjoy the pool and steam room. The pool area was available to hotel guests, but in a seperate building across the parking lot. A bit of a nuisance walking outside. There was also a sauna available, but it was out of service during our stay.

After a dip in the pool we tried the pub in the lower level of the hotel. It was very clean and roomy. There was a soccer match on TV and when one of the patrons requested the bartender turn down the background music playing in the pub and turn up the TV volume, he did. And we all enjoyed listening and watching the match.

We had breakfast at the hotel. Nice variety of food, good tasting. Hot and cold options and very friedly wait staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A very beautiful hotel, close to many sites. The staff were very helpful and kind. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The meals were fantastic.
The hotel is close to Dingle and the Blasket Islands. Also not far from Kenmare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton, Cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Ate lunch and went back for dinner. Great staff, great craic and food was super. Beer and wine were both excellent - specialty beer was good. We stayed next door in Randles, which was great. We enjoyed the place so much that we didn't even go into Killarney town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dromhall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.