We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem of a restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rambla

La Rambla
Old Market Lane, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 663 9813
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 145 restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Specialise in Tapas,game dishes ,Seafood ,Pastas and Pizzas.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely little restaurant just off the Main Street in Killarney. We chanced it because we saw it got good reviews here on Trip Advisor :) After recent trip to Spain and having discovered how amazing the Spanish cuisine can be, I am always up for trying the Spanish restaurants, and this one really even excelled our expectations! We opted for the Early Bird menu which at the time of our visit was available for 22 euro pp (starter + main + dessert + coffee/tea) and were left very happy with it. Food was well presented and the taste even excelled the look, so we will both definitely go back.

Pros: very friendly service, food incredibly tasty and nicely presented (which is nice as most restaurants in Ireland do not bother too much with food presentation), cosy interior, convenient location.

Cons: did not expect to wait so long for the food so a warning would have been nice (we did however receive apologies for the wait) and as there are no complimentary snacks it can seem even longer. Music choices were also questionable (went from Bruno Mars to Christmas songs ha). Early bird menu could include more interesting deserts.

However, overall it is an absolute must to visit if you are looking for great quality food in a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    66
    38
    12
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I sat outside La Rambla with my wife and two dogs on a sunny September day. The Spanish waitress was very friendly and accommodating taking our order and bringing a bowl of water for the dogs. We had the early bird 3 course menu which was outstanding and great value for money. My wife ordered the deep fried manchego cheese, followed by hake. I had the chicken skewers followed by a seafood medley which was amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Only ok.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to try this place with a while but it was only ok. The starters were nice. My steak was under cooked. The price of the San Miguel was a different price on the menu than we were charged. ( not in our favour) ordered our desert but we found a garlic croûton in the end of the desert . If that was Spanish style I wont be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spanish Sunshine in Killarney.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I had a most authentic Spanish experience in this restaurant, which is located in Old Market Lane. The food is authentic, tasty and obviously cooked with love and passion. The staff are just amazing, interested and knowledgeable about all the food and wine presented. Do not leave Killarney without visiting this charming restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastics flavours, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a lovely meal here with great tapas especially the venison, the mussels catalan and the potatoes with black pudding.
Service was fast and friendly, and would also highly recommend the desserts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rambla also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to La Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rambla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.