We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but don't eat dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but don't eat dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Full disclosure: I didn't book this hotel, I booked a nearby one that decided it didn't have enough guests to stay open and transferred my lady and I to the Riverside. So we went in a little jaded: it wasn't where we wanted to be.

First impressions: amazing lobby - spacious, light, comfortable and warm, and polite front desk staff.

Room: comfortable enough. Two small towels not really sufficient though. No facecloths either.

Bar: welcoming and very friendly service.

Dinner (we'd booked for a dinner at our original hotel - known for its food - and that was also transferred to our Riverside reservation): awful beyond words. Actually the service was lovely and friendly, but the food was staggeringly bad. Even the bread was a failure, served with a musty, ancient-tasting butter and some form of "pesto" sauce that was luminous green and tasted like mineral oil. We advised the staff and the butter was replaced with one that was edible, and the chef allegedly made us a fresh pesto sauce that was, if anything, slightly worse. I had the seafood chowder, which was almost entirely butter, and then a lamb shank which was dry and apparently drizzled with molasses. My companion very bravely had the fisherman's platter, which was full of mussels with smashed shells. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

Breakfast: nowhere near as bad, fortunately. The full Irish was perfectly decent (but the portion sizes were oddly variable - the first morning I had a very satisfactory, generous breakfast; the second morning saw parsimonious servings). The pancakes were, somehow, burned, though. Decent semi-buffet with mini-croissants and cheese and cereals.

So - for B&B, there's not much wrong with this hotel at all. Do not even think about the dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    215
    97
    31
    8
See reviews for
103
378
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Really enjoyed staying at the Riverside Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was lovely. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a lovely big room with shower and bath and lots of very hot water. Thank you everyone!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork2008
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed on a New Year package at this hotel and overall I was disappointed with it. Firstly alarm bells should have rung out when the package was for New Year’s Eve and the following night; most people head home on New Years day and this was going to limit the number of people attending this function........bourne out by people in the hotel on the 2nd Jan.

On arrival at the hotel around 15.00 our room was not made up which surprised me –I appreciate this can happen and the staff sorted this out immediately.

The advertised “New Year Eve in Killarney” package was to include

• 2 nights accommodation
• Sparkling wine reception on arrival
• Breakfast each morning
• Delicious 3 course New Year evening meal
• live entertainment
• late bar

So starting from the top the accommodation was average-the rooms are in need of a deep clean but otherwise fairly ok. The wine reception and food were very good but the restaurant area really looked and felt like an extension of the bar; wooded floor which is in need of re-varnishing as were the doors to the kitchen-certainly not 4 star. Live music was a disaster as I had expected “live” music during and after the meal-Christmas piped music was best on offer! The area for this music was created by moving furniture in the reception foyer and it was not set up at 22.00 when leaving after dining– no sign of any activity and people just waiting around for something to happen. The bar is again average décor but staff were excellent.

This hotel in my opinion is certainly not 4 star - the only way I can imagine them getting this rating is because staff are excellent; I would rate this hotel as a reasonably good 3 star. Ideal for couples who want a quiet break but the facilities overall are fairly basic.

Room Tip: Request room at the front of hotel as regular intermittent noise from fans/electrical units out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The room had a very old television and the remote had black tape around it. Obviously to keep it together. Think the tv needs a huge upgrade.

The facilities of the hotel are good. The bistro/bar is good with nice cold beer and bar food. All reasonably priced. I tried my first Irish coffee here and it was lovely.

Searched to try to find a place to have our clothes washed and dried. Didn't go through the hotel as it seemed expensive. Found a place at the end of High Street called Fine Line Dry Cleaners and they did our washing for €12 and we picked it up later on that day.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

my husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past twelve months for one night b&b on both occasions. we found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean as was everywhere else in the hotel. The breakfast was also good.We will stay in this hotel the next time we are in Killarney. Amanda & John.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have stayed in the riverside hotel on many occasions and this hotel has never left us down. The staff at the front desk are good at there job no messing about checking in. The room was very spacious with all we needed and the bathroom was very large. We had plenty of storage in the room with tea and coffee, a safe etc. I nearly lost my wife in the bed it was so big LoL.
The bar food is very reasonably priced and the breakfast in the morning is very satisfying. The only quible I would have is that the bar dosen't have any sports channels to show live sport and as I love to watch live sports I had to go across the road to another hotel to watch a live match.
This hotel is idealy located for touring Killarney or even attending a show or concert at the INEC.
We will be staying here again without a doubt as it is in walking distance from INEC.

Room Tip: Room 312 is a beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

From the moment me and my mum checked in we noticed the bad customer service. We had arrived early so could not check in yet which was completely understandable so they placed our luggage in a room behind reception. When we returned a few hours later we checked in and asked for our bags the receptionist told us that she could not get our bags but would bring them up as soon as she could go in the room as her manager was in a meeting in that room. We said we needed our bags and her response was ok but if he starts shouting its not my fault. We were shocked! It all just seemed liked we were the problem. The room was lovely no problems there but hours after checking out I realised I left 3 of my rings there which I had taken off for a shower. It was nearly 5pm which I found strange that they hadn't rang saying housekeeping had found them that morning. They posted them back to me which was fine but realised they had over charged me for the postage a significant amount. We decided to leave feedback of the customer service and the manager rang to talk to us and we explained the problems and everything had an excuse, it was all our problem there was no apology. I could'nt get over what he was saying. I would definitely not recommend this hotel and would advise any friends or family to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern contemporary interior with tasteful furnishings, giving a warm relaxed atmosphere; the perfect Business Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Riverside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.